We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent option - do not hesitate to book”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The "budget design" style of city hotel has become rather ubiquitous of late; here they do it with flair and little extra touches that set them apart (decent bathrobes, White Company products, Macs in all rooms with free wi-fi). There is nothing negative to say about this City Inn apart from the fact that, as a large hotel, you do have to wait for things occasionally but this is really not a hardship. The value for money ratio is spectacular and you really do not compromise the experience for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VB1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,004 - 4,010 of 4,283 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2010

I've stayed here on business 6 or 7 times over the last couple of months, overall its been a very positive experience.

The reception staff are professional and friendly, and there are normally enough staff there to avoid any queuing even though it's a busy hotel. The reception area is modern and sleek, there is a small bar area that is normally quiet on the ground floor, and a restaurant that gets good reviews but I have'nt eaten there.

There is a cool bar on the 13th floor that serves great cocktails and has panaramic views over leeds. There is also a pretty well equipped gym on the 12th floor.

The rooms have always been clean and are not large but use the space well. Bed is comfortable, good shower, and a Mac pc that doubles as a TV in every room. There is also free WiFi throughout the hotel.

My one gripe is the parking arrangements, they use a convoluted process of issueing you a numbered car space on your arrival, but it's generally given to someone else by the attendant (who's rarely there when you need him) by the time you get back in the evening, you then have to leave your car, walk to reception and ask for another. They do offer valet parking which is convinient but more expensive.

On a positive note, there breakfast set up is second to none and better than many 5 star hotels. You can order from a wide range of hot foods off the menu, or help yourself to the buffet which is also great.

The location is about a 5 minute walk under some arches and past the train station to the centre of leeds, there's a good bar opposite the hotel run by the Ossett brewery with some really good beers, there's also a japenese restarant next door.

Overall I've always had a good stay at this hotel and would recommend it for a business trip or a weekend away.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corkman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I stayed at the city inn for 2 nights as part of breakfast and summarise as follows

Positive
- Hotel itself was quite nice, colour scheme was comfortable and the macs were a good touch
- Generally very clean and new facilities
- Nice breakfast (once you get it)

Negatives
- LOTS of waiting - Check in and check out both took a long time. The queues werent long - the staff were just slow!
- Breakfast was extremely slow - make sure you have at least 40mins if you want anything "cooked" i.e even toast
- My iron leaked all over my shirt, and I was promised a new iron which never came.
- Walk from the station is a bit grim - having to go under the railway bridge and line... while safe, this may deter single female traverllers

Overall the hotel is satisfactory, but I believe there is better in Leeds

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7leafClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed here for one night for our anniversary. We thought it was excellent value for money, and the standards were very high. The lady who checked us in was exceptionally friendly and helpful, and gave us two maps and directions to our evening restaurant.
The room was very large, clean and had all the little extras that made the stay great. The iMac was fab, I loved the floor to ceiling window, and it was very quiet despite the fact it looked out onto the train tracks. There were loads of plugs and mirrors (always a bug bear for me in hotels), and the hairdrier wasn't the usual 'travel' type.
The Skybar was very busy, even at midnight when most hotel bars are shutting up, and had great views across the skyline. The location was nice, and we walked along the canal/river to the armoury museum.
The only downside to the stay was the wait for breakfast - there were about 50 of us waiting in the bar for a table, and this took approx. 40 mins (I guess influenced by it being Sunday AM and the hotel having a lot of hen do's etc). Luckily you could help yourself to water and OJ.
In summary, a great hotel at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidays78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We used the hotel as a base for our daughters wedding. The situation is ideal for the city centre/railway station etc. The rooms are very clean and well furnished. Apple TV.
Because this was a very special visit, we had several requests of the management - these were all fullfilled to a very high standard. Grant, the Manager was superb. We had an excellent stay and will use this hotel for all our future visits to Leeds.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Stayed a Saturday Night with friends on a Hen weekend. Check in efficent & Helpful. Room clean & quiet even though hotel was packed. Lucky to find a balcony table at 6-30pm in 13th floor bar. Very Busy but bar staff efficent & " Meet & Greeter" in this area very polite & helpful....offering a blanket!!!!! Breakfast very busy but well organised.... offered a glass of juice in bar while you waited for a free table. Good choice of food to cater for all but the most fussy!!
Fast-track check out & they even stored our luggage Sunday after check out as we wanted to walk by the canal as it was such a lovely sunny day.
We even went back to the 13th floor for a latte before heading home. Will definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestYorksMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

As said before on so many review...very nice hotel. Staff excellent and breakfast is well worth booking along with room resvtn... Nice spot next to train station (no noise) and very central to all the shopping and night life.
Took a trip to York while in leeds and must say it`s a gem... make it a must visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmymyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
475 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#11 of 87 in Leeds
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#25 of 87 in Leeds
2,205 reviews
Hilton Leeds City
#36 of 87 in Leeds
2,329 reviews
Quebecs
#7 of 87 in Leeds
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre

Address: Granary Wharf, 2 Wharf Approach, Leeds LS1 4GS, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Leeds)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#3 Business Hotel in Leeds
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $98 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Please note that Bridgewater Place is close until mid-May. Diversion signs are in place however if you would like further information on this please do contact the hotel directly *** Our Leeds hotel, built in 2009, is part of the revitalised Granary Wharf area, next to Leeds station and the Leeds to Liverpool canal. All 333 of our bedrooms are styled with absolute consideration for your comfort and feature a 42" flat screen television, complimentary wi-fi and bottled water in each room. Dine in the sophisticated surroundings of City Cafe restaurant or dine alfresco on our south facing, canal-side terrace. There are two bars, our Ground Floor Granary Lounge bar and the very popular 13th floor Sky Lounge offering fantastic cocktails and dining options day through the night with breathtaking view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing