We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Ideally located a short five minute walk from the trainstation and about 8 mins to the main shopping areas in the city centre. Surrounded by a courtyard with a couple of restaurants and bars and the canal you really don't feel like you are in the centre of the city. The welcoming cookie is to die for... the rooms were spacious and clean and the bathroom was immaculate. We got an excellent deal booking well in advance and I would thoroughly recommend staying here

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20WorldTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,470 - 2,476 of 4,214 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on business trip for one night. The location was important for me. I chose this one as this hotel looks to be at walkable distance from the railway station on google map. However, we could not find a way at first instance when we tried to walk to the hotel from the station. One has to understand that you can reach the hotel walking through the archway that is used for parking underneath the rail tracks. Most of the walk is covered and no need to worry about rains, at the same time you are well protected from chilly winds. In short, location is perfect. we stayed in suite and ambiance was rich, bar well stocked and having awesome view from the upper floors. staff was cordial and friendly. We had breakfast and they have a well spread. bottom line, excellent choice to stay here.

Room Tip: Take higher floor rooms for awesome view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirish_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in March and had a good deal, the hotel is well positioned and the staff very helpful. The rooms are very well appointed, Apple Imac etc, and very clean. Theres a fantastic Sky Lounge which is a bar overlooking the city on the 13th floor. Overall very good position in Granary Wharf with bars and restaurants nearby

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We needed a hotel near the train station so picked the Leeds Hilton DoubleTree based on a majority of good reviews. Checking in was ok and we got the 'welcoming cookie', still not sure about this - you'd hardly use this as a reason to book this over another hotel brand.

Room was OK so we dropped our bags off and went out for a meal with friends. As it was a Saturday night Leeds was heaving so we decided to finish the night with a quiet drink at the hotel. We foolishly took the lift (after a 10 minute wait as one of the lifts wasn't functioning and the others both had alarm lights lit up on the control panel but worriedly were still in use) to the 13th floor SkyBar as we wanted to check out the views. As soon as the lift doors opened we were blasted by loud music and it became instantly apparent that on weekend nights this place functions as a night club. This also explained the big queues for the lifts as non hotels guests are allowed into the SkyBar. We retreated to the Granary bar where we could enjoy our expensive drinks and hear ourselves talk.

Back at our room on the 7th floor we fortunately couldn't hear the noise from the SkyBar but were awakened at 5.30am by loud music. Not sure where it was coming from but after calling reception it reduced in volume to a background level that was almost in audible. As this carried on up to the point that we departed our room I think it may be from the gym on the 12th floor, vibrating down through the walls. Also the room was too hot but the A/C was too loud to leave on.

When checking out I mentioned the noise situation and got an apology and got told that "we have a lot of young people stopping here".

Overall, I cannot recommend stopping at this hotel if you want a good nights sleep. From a security point I was unhappy with the amount of non guests constantly queuing for the lifts and being able to roam the corridors. I don't think I will be using the Double Tree brand again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elspeth N, PA to the General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for feeding back your comments from your recent stay.

I am sorry to hear you had issues during your visit and particularly found our 13th Floor cocktail bar too noisy. Our bar is extremely popular both with staying guests and local clientele due to the good selection of cocktails and the views over the city. We do have very a very strict dress policy and entrance policy, with no external guests allowed in after midnight.

I certainly appreciate that a lively bar is not always to everyone's taste and I am sorry that you were disappointed with the style of bar. As you mentioned we do have a quieter bar, the Granary Lounge, on the ground floor with a canal-side terrace.

Your comments have been taken on board and I am sorry to hear that you would not choose to return. If you do however have reason to come to Leeds in the future please feel free to contact myself direct and I will ensure you are looked after.

Kind regards

Elspeth
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel is in a pretty perfect location, right on a canal behind the train station. Upon arrival we received warm cookies which was a nice touch. Check-in was smooth and we were in our room within 5 minutes or so. We had a suite like room on the 9th floor with a lovely view of the city and the canal. The bed was so comfy that I ended up having a nap in it as soon as I got into it to relax! The lighting in the room is good and the bathroom was nice too, the shower is huge and pretty powerful. There was an Apple Mac computer at a desk and also an Apple Mac TV, along with a Bose speaker system but we never used that. The only downside was that when we were trying to change the TV channel, the computer was picking up the remote signal too and doing random stuff! Check-out was seamless too, we opted for the express check-out. We also visited the SkyLounge on the 13th floor for a cocktail each before going out for the night, the view was awesome and the cocktails delicious, definitely worth a visit even if only for 1 drink!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilbec29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elspeth N, PA to the General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Glad you had an excellent stay and enjoyed our comfy beds. I am sure your comments are helpful to other visitors and we appreciate your enthusiasm for our hotel!

Glad you liked our 13th Floor cocktail bar. It is a super place to start or finish the evening.

Hope you will be coming back again!

Kind regards

Elspeth
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The service in this hotel is excellent. From the receptionist who welcomed us with a warm cookie to the catering staff who worked so quickly to keep the breakfast buffet well-stocked at all times, all were friendly, smiling and couldn't do enough to help.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank beth1785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elspeth N, PA to the General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Delighted to hear you have received such excellent service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards

Elspeth
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. There was no noise from the train station, we were on the 5th floor facing the station. Very quiet in the hotel even though it was a busy Saturday night. We didn't stay for breakfast as 16.50 was a bit steep and you can get breakfast from Weatherspoons for under 3.50. Near to the station but wouldn't like to walk there in the night. Loads of taxi's who don't always know where to go.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 218wendya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,087 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
359 reviews
Hilton Leeds City
#38 of 87 in Leeds
2,282 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#16 of 87 in Leeds
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre

Address: Granary Wharf, 2 Wharf Approach, Leeds LS1 4GS, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Leeds)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#3 Business Hotel in Leeds
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $76 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Please note that Bridgewater Place is close until mid-May. Diversion signs are in place however if you would like further information on this please do contact the hotel directly *** Our Leeds hotel, built in 2009, is part of the revitalised Granary Wharf area, next to Leeds station and the Leeds to Liverpool canal. All 333 of our bedrooms are styled with absolute consideration for your comfort and feature a 42" flat screen television, complimentary wi-fi and bottled water in each room. Dine in the sophisticated surroundings of City Cafe restaurant or dine alfresco on our south facing, canal-side terrace. There are two bars, our Ground Floor Granary Lounge bar and the very popular 13th floor Sky Lounge offering fantastic cocktails and dining options day through the night with breathtaking view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing