We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled out city centre Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Chilled out city centre Hotel”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Had another great city break at this hotel. Well worth having Hilton Honors as we got a great deal, £5 got us a complimentary mini bar and breakfast. Lovely room, good views over canals and the hills to the south. Helpful staff, great location not far from the station, an easy dry walk through the arches, even at night didn't feel threatening. Handy for a range of bars and restaurants and very handy for city shops etc. Car parking reasonable at £12 per night, secure and dry. Hard to fault other than noisy guest with no regard for other hotel users, had to call reception who dealt with it promptly.

Room Tip: Join Hilton Honors and get an upgraded room or minibar for not a lot more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamj829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,976
    1,366
    351
    119
    80
See reviews for
336
1,672
193
993
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is in a good location in Granery Wharf with choices of places to eat and drink in the hotel and the square where it is situated next to the canal. It is also in walking distance from the rail station, shops and restaurants in the city centre. The hotel is pleasant, rooms clean, spacious and comfortable. Amenities in hotel good with friendly and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Really a very average hotel and certainly nothing special. I booked here because it was a convenient location, looked like it should be quiet (I needed to make sure I was well rested for the next day as this was a business trip) and for the reputation for quality. I was very disappointed.
Though the photographs indicate that this hotel overlooks the canals it is NOT in a quiet location. Possibly if you are lucky enough to have a room that views the canals then you might have a different experience, in which case I would try and request a high floor overlooking the waterways if you plan on staying here. Unfortunately, my room looked straight on to a train platform and the sound proofing was terrible. Not only did this mean I had a poor nights sleep because of the trains but there is also a couple of pubs right next door, where rowdy drinkers can be heard through the night. Inside isn't much quieter, as I could hear my neighbours very easily (whether they would want that or not!), including the amorous couple across the hall and a gentleman sneezing in the room below me.
The room itself was very standard. The bed is comfy with excellent pillows and you have the use of some technological features, such as an iMac tv. However, I didn't use the tv and the good bed didn't make up for everything else preventing me from sleeping. I was also disgusted by the many sticky stains on the carpet at the foot of the bed and around the desk, a hair that looked very much like a pubic hair that was on the bedding and mould that was in the shower gel dispenser. In addition to these hygiene problems, the air conditioning unit seemed faulty and was very loud (even managing to drown out the trains when it was on) and the tea and coffee facilities were atrocious (the kettle lid didn't close properly, which isn't great for something full of boiling water).
After a very poor nights sleep I hoped to get some work done before checking out. Unfortunately, a maintenance team decided that outside my door was an excellent place to start pulling down the ceiling (I assume to fix some faulty wiring that had affected the facilities in the room of the amorous couple across the hall) which was the loudest thing I had to contend with while staying as they made rather a lot of crashing sounds. This was not very helpful towards creating a quiet work environment and affected my concentration greatly.
When checking out I was asked if I had experienced any problems. I explained about the lack of sleep, the mould in the shower gel and the noise from the maintenance team. Though they said sorry and noted the mould problem, they were overall very dismissive of my terrible stay at their hotel, which didn't improve my opinion.
So, good points: convenient location, pleasant cookie on arrival, good bed and 2 free small bottles of water (though really complimentary water should be a given at hotels like this by now anyway).
Bad points: pretty much everything else. Sorry Doubletree but I won't be staying again, you have certainly put me off other hotels in your chain.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay, ask for a high floor overlooking the waterways NOT the train platforms or pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlwithsharpteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of the city centre located over a footbridge next to the canal. A very picturesque setting.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very warm and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble.

The rooms are great and we opted for a Junior Suite as a special offer through their own website.

The food was excellent with a great choice of fresh food and a menu at breakfast if you preferred not to have the self service option. Believe me you won't go hungry. The best choice of food in a long time.

The room had an Apple TV and Apple PC with mini bar and snacks. The rooms were spacious over looking the canal.
The bathroom had a walk in shower with plenty of room and thee were Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries.

The hotel should be proud of the service they offer and the extremely high standard of customer service. Well done and I look forward to staying with you again.

Believe me, the hotel should be a centre of excellence for others to follow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinner-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed 1 night in November in this Hotel as we were seeing a show.The location was excellent only 5 mins walk from the Train Station going under the old Arches,Hotel check in was good staff were very pleasant,our room overlooked the Train Station.Our room was clean and comfortable with Apple Mac PC,the shower was immaculate.We ate in the restaurant that night,service and food were excellent.The location was easy to get to the City either by walking or Taxi,there were also plenty of places to eat around the Hotel if needed,would definitely return.

Room Tip: Even rooms at the back of the Hotel were OK,no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianandSusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
160 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Excellent business choice close to trsin station (<10 minute walk). Clean and functional with everything the business travel needs. Free wifi with no fuss. On site bar with quality bar food. Good staff and service. Gym is a little basic and small. Quirky TV service based on Mac pc, which can be used for browsing. Overall a very good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Excellent service, friendly team, lovely room, comfy bed, clean, loved the shower, lovely breakfast. Can't fault it. Ideal location next to the train station. Great restaurants nearby. I loved the cookie on arrival, was too nice to resist!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Hilton Leeds City
#35 of 87 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#13 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Address: Granary Wharf, 2 Wharf Approach, Leeds LS1 4GS, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Leeds)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#3 Business Hotel in Leeds
#4 Family Hotel in Leeds
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Please note that Bridgewater Place is close until mid-May. Diversion signs are in place however if you would like further information on this please do contact the hotel directly *** Our Leeds hotel, built in 2009, is part of the revitalised Granary Wharf area, next to Leeds station and the Leeds to Liverpool canal. All 333 of our bedrooms are styled with absolute consideration for your comfort and feature a 42" flat screen television, complimentary wi-fi and bottled water in each room. Dine in the sophisticated surroundings of City Cafe restaurant or dine alfresco on our south facing, canal-side terrace. There are two bars, our Ground Floor Granary Lounge bar and the very popular 13th floor Sky Lounge offering fantastic cocktails and dining options day through the night with breathtaking view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing