We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, U.K.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean hotel and the Skybar is fantastic for after dark cocktails on the rooftop overlooking the city. Highly recommended for that special weekend break or a lovely place for a conference, wedding or other celebration

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlisle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,977
    1,366
    351
    119
    80
See reviews for
336
1,672
193
994
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Could not fault this hotel. Room was large, modern and clean. Great views of Wharf. Breakfast included in deal which was up to the usual Hilton breakfast standard.

Would recommend for business travel or leisure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

A decent, modern hotel conveniently located for the train station and town centre. It's a fairly typical Doubletree, but it is seriously let down by the staff.

I stayed there for 3 weeks in January and February. Rarely did the reception staff manage a smile, the restaurant staff were more than happy to ignore you; several breakfasts spent without coffee. The worst situation was when I ordered room service which was sent to the wrong room. When I phoned to tell them it was now 30mins late, they sent up the meal that they had tried to deliver previously. Shoddy to say the least.

Sorry Doubletree, but there are just too many other hotels around with decent service to risk coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyJockUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed in the Doubletree on business in October. I arrived at around 11pm, greeted by lovely staff handing me a warm cookie, very nice touch. The room was great, everything was clean, comfortable bed, iMac TV, fantastic room and bathroom over all. Unfortunately the only negative thing I have to say on the rooms is that when I arrived, looking around the room as you do, I found the toilet to have been used and not cleaned (nor flushed ....or wiped!). It was really quite disgusting and really brought the overwhelming feeling of the rest of the room down.

The Skybar is amazing, fantastic location and great place for a drink. The music was very loud however so not too great for conversationalists but the views are worth it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breadstick92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Finding the hotel proved a little tricky at first as we didn't see the sign from the train station so we went on a bit of a detour but eventually found the right way to go. Check-in was quick enough and we were handed a freshly made cookie with our room keys which was a nice little touch and an excellent first impression. There are plenty of convenience shops and restaurants nearby and the location to the city centre is excellent. We chose to eat at the hotel restaurant which was better than expected having read some of the reviews. I had the bacon cheeseburger and my parter had the steak and both were top quality and worth the money. We tried to go for a drink at the skybar but as soon as we stepped off the lift we could tell it wasn't for us as it was far too busy and noisy.
The room itself was nice enough, clean and all the basic necessities. We stayed in a king size room and we had a small fridge which came in handy and there was an ice machine just down the corridor. The Apple tv is ok. It lost its tv signal a few times but it was also connected to the internet which was handy as the WiFi didn't work for either of our phones. This being said, the internet worked fine for my Google Nexus when I tried connecting with that. The air con unit was pretty loud and seemed to work apart from not producing any cool air even when it was left on overnight. We ended up having to leave the window open as the room was so warm and this was in mid Feb when it was below freezing outside and this made it just tolerable but this meant we were woken by the noisy train station next door.
Overall the hotel was nice but I expected more from the Hilton brand for the cost and I won't be staying here on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Fantastic hotel and centrally located. The room was clean and well presented, the only gripe would be 2 single beds pushed together to make a double. However, didn't concern me on this occasion as I had requested a twin..... This is a travel tip for anyone booking as a couple!

Skybar is superb, slow service but worth the wait. Great ambience. The staff defintely need to control one of the lifts like they do at Cloud 23 bar at Hilton, Manchester.

Room Tip: Query whether the "double room" is actually 2 single beds pushed together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Capitan_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We last stayed hear about three years ago when it was the Mint Hotel. Had a nice room, everything was sparkling clean, huge bed, loved the IMac!!! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay over in Leeds and we'll be using it again soon too.

Room Tip: The higher the better, nice views over the city scape
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubadubHub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Hilton Leeds City
#35 of 87 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#13 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Address: Granary Wharf, 2 Wharf Approach, Leeds LS1 4GS, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Leeds)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#3 Business Hotel in Leeds
#4 Family Hotel in Leeds
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Please note that Bridgewater Place is close until mid-May. Diversion signs are in place however if you would like further information on this please do contact the hotel directly *** Our Leeds hotel, built in 2009, is part of the revitalised Granary Wharf area, next to Leeds station and the Leeds to Liverpool canal. All 333 of our bedrooms are styled with absolute consideration for your comfort and feature a 42" flat screen television, complimentary wi-fi and bottled water in each room. Dine in the sophisticated surroundings of City Cafe restaurant or dine alfresco on our south facing, canal-side terrace. There are two bars, our Ground Floor Granary Lounge bar and the very popular 13th floor Sky Lounge offering fantastic cocktails and dining options day through the night with breathtaking view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing