We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dependable food from West Yorkshire's "hipster paradise"”

Nation of Shopkeepers
Ranked #361 of 1,856 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“dependable food from West Yorkshire's "hipster paradise"”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I used to live in Leeds so this place was a regular location whenever I fancied hangover food and casual drinks so the last few times I was in Leeds it was a no-brainer to make a pit stop here. The food is what I'd describe as trendy bar food in that it specialises mostly in burgers and nachos (casual food) done well in a variety of ways.

In March I got the goats cheese, caramelised chutney, jalapeño beefburger and in May I got the hippy deluxe burger which was a spiced lentil patty served with emmenthal and juicy mushrooms, both were served with Nation's inimitable fries. The condiment selection has to be hailed here as literally everything you could want is readily available on your table, and more such as the jalapeño Tabasco which makes a tangy alternative to vinegar for your fries.

Surroundings eclectic and intentionally bizarre and the staff are passing the hipster vetting test are relatively friendly and suitably knowledgeable about the drinks selection on hand. Overall, a good place to go if you're after some dependable pub grub.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamshep92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    93
    26
    21
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Went here today for lunch & had nachos & the pork flat bread.

Food was absolutely delicious!! Really really yummy, the pork fell apart, the chips were perfectly seasoned and the nachos were fully loaded.

The girl who served us behind the bar was v stroppy when I asked for guacamole with the nachos as she had already put the order through, I did get the guac but can understand why others have complained about the service!

Really recommend here for a yummy, easy going lunch, would go back tomorrow!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R and J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food and Drink ... Awful Staff”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The couple of times I've eaten here, the food has been great ... tasty, fresh and not too pricey.

However, each time has been let down by the consistently rude, obnoxious, and unpleasant staff who have no idea about customer service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJG92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hipster hangout”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

It's no secret that Nation of Shopkeepers is a bit of a hipster hangout, it's a quirky yet cool bar that hosts live music gigs & serves specialty beers. It's just recently undergone a refit & looks great! One of the bars main features is a large courtyard which is nice to sit it during the summer evenings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Harryjp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Extremely delicious burgers!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We were in Leeds for a trip and managed to go to Nation 3 times in 2 days.

In the afternoon it was packed and after we got a table we enjoyed a sharing meat platter and nachos. Very tasty and ok priced. Drinks not cheap but not insanely expensive.
That night we returned but it wasn't busy at all and shut early presumably because the students weren't in town. Staff a bit disinterested.
Next day we hit them up for belly-busting Weekender breakfasts (£7.5), a seriously gorgeous homemade burger (£8 ish) and a sandwich. The burger portion doesn't look generous but chips, toppings & bread are sooooo tasty and actually really filling!

Good place for a casual drink and food - better than your standard chain. Will be heading back next time we're in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rlhardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nation of Shopkeepers also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Nation of Shopkeepers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing