We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”
Review of Da Marios Pizzeria

Da Marios Pizzeria
Ranked #235 of 1,856 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

like the reviews before its city center food we got in here saterday night did not book all the other restaurants we tried were full really run of the mill food needs a face lift
wont go again

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    129
    63
    48
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cannot See this Surviving..”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

As other reviewers - we visited Da Marios on a Groupon deal.. The last Groupon "type" restaurant visited in Leeds subsequently and quickly closed down afterwards.

That restaurant was cleaner, had a better atmosphere and more customers - but still failed.

This place is so tired its fast asleep - desparately needs a full interior re-vamp and some passion in the kitchens.

Our starter was microwaved (ribs) - and I am fairly confident I have the same ones in my freezer at home - two packs for £5 from a Leeds based supermarket!

Pizzas were fresh, hot and visible throughout the process - but very very ordinary. My son very rarely fails to clean his plate - but gave up here.

Leeds has some tough competition when it comes to eating out - anywhere not upto the mark will not survive.

Only time will tell.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidAWooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very surprised”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend purchased a group on for £12 which included two glasses of wine and a pizza or a pasta dish. We then came to trip advisor and we noticed the reviews of da marios which are not the best.

We have eaten at many restaurants in Leeds and this is honest review of this restaurant. We went on a Saturday evening on the 2nd feb.

We went into da marios to be greeted by a friendly staff member who showed us to our table, ordered our drinks then our food. Menu ok with something for everyone.

We ordered two pizzas and two glasses of wine which was our deal for £12. As an extra I ordered a beer and a side salad.
Food arrived very hot in about 10 minutes. It was tasty and well worth the money that we paid although I would have no issue paying full price as the prices I think were quite reasonable.

All the staff were very efficient and friendly so no problems there.

Quite a few people talk about the decor as needed updating but I think it adds to the atmosphere of a traditional italian restaurant the same as the flying pizza used to be in round hay before the refurb.

One thing I noticed about this place is that the amount of business they were gaining, the place was always busy, as soon as someone left the table was cleaned and someone else seated. Customers in the restaurant were of all ages which was good to see.

Da marios are obviously doing something correct to be still in business after all this time.

Let yourself along for a cheap, good Italian meal with a great atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank Jamie27uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quick city centre food”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were given a Groupon voucher as a joint birthday treat. We arrived about 4.30 pm on a Tuesday afternoon, and were the only people in the restaurant. My husband had a pizza, and I ordered a pasta dish, and a side salad. The food was served quickly, and was very enjoyable. We had been seated near to the window, down the side, so it meant that we did not see anything of the rest of the restaurant, just people passing by outside. It seemed to get more people in as we were leaving about 5.30. It could do with a bit of a spruce up, from what we were able to see.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 114gilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent, but gone downhill”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Used to visit this place a few times 10 years ago or so, so tried again. The staff are nice enough but as soon as you walk in you think that it needs an urgent lick of paint, lampshades broken etc. If they just spent £200 it would look better. Pizza was nice though, but no Kids menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MorleyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Marios Pizzeria also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Da Marios Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing