We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere-as always !”

Gusto Restaurant & Bar - Cookridge
Ranked #174 of 1,982 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $67
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Style served in the heart of Yorkshire. In the leafy Leeds suburb of Cookridge sits a 200-year old Olive tree, providing the perfect backdrop to the timeless elegance of Gusto. Add to that a superb wine and cocktail list and you’ll get a real flavour of Italy combined with proper Yorkshire class.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here many times and will return again.
For a special occasion or birthday it's perfect,plenty of free parking and it's always busy creating a great atmosphere .
The food and drink are a little overpriced and extras eg. Veg or potatoes can bump the bill up BUT the food is always tasty and the service is first rate.
Try and book a table as near to the Olive tree as you can!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ricmarknic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustoC, Manager at Gusto Restaurant & Bar - Cookridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Ricmarknic,

So glad you enjoy visiting us here at Gusto and thanks so much for taking the time to put up this review. We are aware that the price for eating out can add up to be quite costly and so we offer membership to our Dining Club which gives substantial discounts on food when booking online. Please do get in touch for more details 0113 2672100.

Kind Regards,
Liam Clarke,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 450 of 573 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Called in here without a reservation on a busy Saturday evening and managed to get a table after only a very short wait. It was still fairly early and I suspect we might have struggled if we had been any later as the restaurant was filling up quickly. There was a nice atmosphere and it is obviously popular with people of all ages. The service was good with friendly, attentive staff and we didn't wait too long for the food to arrive. The flat bread and hummus was lovely and more than enough for two to share. Main courses come with an option of ordering small or large portions - wish more places did this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rosiedog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustoC, Manager at Gusto Restaurant & Bar - Cookridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Rosiedog99,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to Gusto. So glad you managed to get a table on a Saturday night and we look forward to your next visit. Are you aware of our Dining Club? Membership entitles you to substantial discounts on food when booking online. Please contact us for more details 0113 2672100.

Kind Regards,
Liam Clarke,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Wow! You can't even hear your self think. I sat a table of six and could not understand the guest across the table. Add the piped in music and its redickuless. I had the calamari. Boy, a rubber band would have been better. The service was okey at best. Not going back! This is my third time.

Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustoC, Manager at Gusto Restaurant & Bar - Cookridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear GaryC,
I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent meal and experience with us at Gusto.
I would be grateful if you could give me a call at the restaurant to discuss this further.
Kind Regards,
Liam Clarke
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our waiter for the evening (Jamie)was very attentive. All three courses we're very flavoursome and well presented. One of our desserts was mistakenly given to another table so they made another one and knocked 15% off the bill!

This was our first visit after a family recommendation and we definitely be returning. Thanks very much guys.

Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustoC, Manager at Gusto Restaurant & Bar - Cookridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Phil C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. I will make sure your server Jamie receives the praise you have given. We're glad you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Liam Clarke
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Eleven of us went yesterday to celebrate my Mum's birthday. Had a good table, lovely waitress, fabulous food, a good time was had by all. Nice new menu with some old favourites retained, thank goodness. Don't know what we'd do if the Tiger Prawn starter was ever axed. Gusto is still a firm favourite and maintains it's high standard. Join the dining club and benefit from great discounts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JWMW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustoC, Manager at Gusto Restaurant & Bar - Cookridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear JWMW101,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic erview. We're so glad your Mum and your friends enjoyed your celebrations with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Liam Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto Restaurant & Bar - Cookridge also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Gusto Restaurant & Bar - Cookridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing