We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Evening at Kendells”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kendells Bistro

Kendells Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Kendells Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 1,805 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening at Kendells”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Went to Kendells last night for the first time.

The building itself is misleading, from the outside the restaurant looks quite small but once you enter it is much larger. The candlelit restaurant was cosy, welcoming and buzzing with customers.

Kendells has such a great reputation you would be forgiven for thinking that it may fall on the side of pretentious, this is not the case at all.

The service, food and pricing were all excellent. I will certainly be returning.

The ONLY downside was only having the menu's on the board on the wall. I understand that it is not possible to have a set menu for a restaurant of this calibre which can change daily, however for those less able this can cause a problem getting round the restaurant like I did.

I can highly recommend a visit if you are in Leeds, if you are lucky enough to get a table.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fatboyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,218
    307
    99
    46
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Shabby-Chic French Gem”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Managing to turn an uninsipring space into a convincingly warm and inviting French Bistro is a great achievement. Adding quirks such as binoculars to read the blackboard-only menu on the wall steps it up another notch. Friendly service topped off with some really seriously good cooking and very reasonable prices elevates this place into a real gem. Cote de Boeuf as revelation. A hefty length to the menu and wine list mean I'll be back at the first opportunity.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited on Saturday night for the first time. There is somewhat of a magical ambience with fairy lights, candles in wine bottles on each table, and a wonderful French shabby chicness going on. It all made for such a cosy and romantic evening! Our table was booked for 7pm and at this time it was already full with a buzzing atmosphere. The menu is written up on blackboards, which is updated throughout the evening as dishes sell out etc; we were sat quite far away but a kind waitress took a photo of the boards on my boyfriend's smartphone so we could look at this at our table (I believe they also supply binoculars for people to view the menu with too). Now the food was excellent - absolutely devine from start to finish. We both ordered the 3 courses and half a bottle of wine for £26 - we seriously couldn't believe the value for money. There was just one slight complaint which was we were seated next to the kitchen which wasn't the best location but it really didn't dampen our experience at all. We will DEFINATELY be returning! Love love loved it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Quirky French bistro, great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Lovely restaurant, shabby chic style, no paper menus, everything is written on chalk boards, and crossed out as it sells out. Fantastic atmosphere, loud and yet relaxed. Unique place with delicious French food, quite pricy but worth it for a treat! Service is slow so I wouldn't eat here if I was in a rush to leave.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SARobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“On the verge of excellence”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Most importantly - this is seriously good food. The fish soup is as good as anything you might find on the Normany coast, and the game is cooked perfectly. Service is friendly, and the music is agreeably unusual, and French. In fact, Kendell's is on the verge of really going places; it must be worth an evening out soon, before they decide they should put their prices up! Only two criticisms: one is minor - our visit was at a busy time, and this seemed to produce a slight confusion in which of the waiting staff were attending where, and when. Consequently, when Waiter A was asked to come back to take our order in two minutes, he completely disappeared. Fortunately, Waiter B passed by the table and was happy to take the order. We had to remind Waiter A (or was it Waiter C...) to serve our red wine. It helps that the staff are so eager to please: none of these minor inconveniences became a major problem. More importantly, now that Kendell's has reached this standard, it's time to be grown-up and provide the table with a printed menu. An A4 sheet of paper would be fine. Having crowds of diners circulating around the enormous blackboard, getting in the way and spoiling the experience for the tables for two in front of the menu is not good enough at this level.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LFB-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kendells Bistro also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Kendells Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing