We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think I love... ”
Review of Kendells Bistro

Kendells Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Kendells Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 1,838 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
2 reviews
“I think I love... ”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

On first approach you are hit with delightful scent of rich french cuisine, we were shown to the table by a lovely maî·tre d' and accompanied by an even lovelier basket of bread (despite the previous review who must have caught an unfortunate day) that crackles with each bite!
The fillet steak and the duck with black currant sauce were mouth-wateringly wonderful but could only truly understood by a worth while visit, however you are likely to experience a different delight as they change the menu every other day; an idea that brought a tear to my eye!
All in all, the food wonderful, the service charming and my appetite entirely satisfied we left in love with Kendells bistro!

Helpful?
Thank WJQM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,232
    313
    103
    48
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire uk
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent - pity about the bread!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This restaurant came highly recommended to me. The food was excellent, service very good & the house red wine sublime. The only thing that let it down was the French baguette which frankly was passed its best.
I also had the opportunity to view the Xmas day menu, which at £60.00 per person looks fantastic. I now need to persuade my wife not to visit the in-laws this year!
Highly recommended for all types of wallet (theatre goers to excising the company credit card).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malbeck3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having almost gone on several occasions this was our first visit to Kendells bistro.
We certainly won't be leaving it long before we return.
The four of us arrived on Friday evening wet through from the rain and were promptly seating at a slightly drafty table next to the toilets. But thats where the negative elements of our evening started and finished. The atmosphere the food and the value for money were of the very highest order. I know it is not the cheapest resteraunt in Leeds but you pay for what you get. It felt equal or even superior to eating in a real high end establishment without the extortionate prices. There was no service charge and no extra hidden charges for bread, water etc. that you find in many places and the complimentary amuse bouche was a delight.
Finally I must mention the service - which was exceptional both the waitress and waiter that served us were friendly, knowledgeable and struck the perfect balance of being attentive without being imposing.
Thanks Kendells we will be back

Paul Wood
Pickering

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Almost perfect ... except for the noise!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Like all the other reviewers, I'd have to agree the food is fabulous - intelligently created and thoughtfully cooked - the service is faultless and the decor is stylish and memorable. However, I won't be going back. Surely I'm not the only person out there that sees a 'fine dining' experience as comprising great food, good wine, stylish surroundings AND stimulating conversation. I've now been twice and have to conclude it is impossible to hold a conversation across the table, and almost impossible to hold one with a person next to you. And it is pricey. If you are there early enough for the 3 courses for £25, fine. If not, 3 courses with be £40+ and for that price, there are plenty of alternatives. If your idea if a great night out involves having to shout in between mouthfulls or just eating in silence, then do try Kendell's; at least there is nothing to distract you from the food! But if you like your dining just a bit more civilized, I think Kendell's will disappoint.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 501Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning food!!!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved this restaurant, the food was stunning, the ambience was perfect and the wine was delicious! A fantastic dining experience. I will be visiting again in a couple of weeks and I cannot wait, very excited!!!

Helpful?
Thank zk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kendells Bistro also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Kendells Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing