We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit”
Review of Kendells Bistro

Kendells Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Kendells Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,856 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
W Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I visited the place in Leeds after reading Trip Advisor. All I can say it's well worth the visit.
We booked in last Wednesday night, on arrival we were quite surprised how busy it was. We both had the Fois Gras for starter which was lovely.
For main my wife had the lamb which she described as fantastic, I had the Cote de beef which was also toip notch.
For dessert my wife had the small chocolate pot which was lovely, I had the ill flotante which was nice, but not outstanding.
We had pre dinner drinks, my wife ordered the Tallisker which they were short on a full measure, so they gave my wife the drink for free which was nice. We ordered the red Sancerre which it took them 2 go's to get right but no big shakes really.
Overall, I would say lovely food, the service was attentive without being too intrusive, they clearly understand customer service with regards to the whiskey issue. My only minor gripe would be to say the dessert menu could be slightly better and it wa a little noisey for my tastes, but them little gripes aside; well worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZX6RRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,242
    314
    104
    49
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent little bistro!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just had to write a review after our meal at kendells last night. The food was great, the early bird menu is great value for money (the boudin noir was delicious). The staff were excellent and so friendly. Can't wait to go again :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique and Great Quality”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We went for the early bird dinner before the theatre. The hostess was really warm and friendly, the staff are fantastic and the food just as good. Can highly recommend this place!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank alex19812011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous as ever”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We've always had good experiences at Kendells, and they didn't let us down. The food was great (we ate off the prix fixe menu) and the wine was reasonable. But the most impressive thing was we were a table of eight, and they managed to get us all served 3 courses and out by 7.15, in time for the show we were going to see at the Playhouse. Service was attentive without being annoying, and the menu, at £25 for 3 courses and a half bottle of wine was excellent value. Je recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I visited before going to the theatre and they do a pre theatre menu to ensure you get out on time for the showing. The atmosphere was lovely and the choice of food was extensive. All the food we had was lovely and the service was good. Will be back to try more.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phillippa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kendells Bistro also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Kendells Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing