We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Henry's Bar & Cafe - Leeds - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Henry's Bar & Cafe - Leeds
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great atmosphere,great service,fab cocktails & excellent food.On the whole we had a fantastic night with our friends.Will definitely be heading back there very soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SUE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good choice of food, well cooked”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ate here twice on our trip to Leeds, bt times early evening (6ish). The whole bar was very quiet, partly because we were early but also Greek Street was closed due to building refurb opposite, which was affecting all the eating establishments in the road. As we were eating as a fmaily rather than on a night out this didn't bother us. We were seated at the back away from the "pubby" area.

The burgers were very nice - first time I had the regular burger, which was delicious. the second time I had chicken breast burget with brie and cranberry - slightly too much cranberry, which made it a messy eat. The chips were excellent. The rest mostly had burgers as well - I'm sure one of us had something different which was equally good, sorry I can't remember!

we all had desserts, ranging from apple crumble and ice cream, brownie and ice cream and a banana caramel sundae thingy. Again, all very nice. Service was good, and there is an excellent cocktail and wine list as well as usual drinks. We had a Gourmet Society card which gave us 25% off the total bill, making it excellent value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mazdauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“What a dump!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I went to Henry's bar for my leaving do. What a mistake. They charged me 4 pound a pint and even though I'd be drinking in their establishment for several hours randomly refused to serve me, then someone else served me, then refused to serve me again but allowed me to stay in the pub. The place is so pretentious it's untrue and thinks its something which it clearly isn't. The staff are rude and arrogant. I advise anyone to avoid like the plague.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WRleeds01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked for early supper but on arriving realised that whilst this has reviewed well, and I am sure the food is as people say, the atmosphere at 6:30 is booming music, a beery smell and loud groups of people (having a good time!) - so this review is poor not from the perspective of the food, or service (they understood the atmosphere wasn't for us), rather that this isn't a place for a gentle per-theatre supper in pleasant surroundings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Never lets you down!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Four of us spent a Saturday afternoon in Henry's celebrating two birthdays and what a great time we had. Reasonably priced cocktails to start with and they were fabulous. Decided to pass on the starters but for mains chose minted lamb burger, pulled pork burger, green Thai prawns/cod and belly pork. Not a morsel was left on all four plates and I can tell you that two of the party are the pickiest eaters ever to draw breath! Half of us declined dessert but it seems the apple and ginger pudding and vanilla cheesecake both hit the spot. After finishing off the wine there was no option but to have yet more delicious cocktails. All in all it was good food, served well and at a reasonable cost. If we lived nearer I think we'd be there every week. ;-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Addicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry's Bar & Cafe - Leeds also viewed

 
Horsforth, Leeds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing