We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding reception”
Review of The Roast Cafe - CLOSED

The Roast Cafe
Price range: $3 - $9
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wedding reception”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Great atmosphere,lovely buffet and friendly staff.We also went here for a meal the night before the wedding, I had the best fish finger sandwich I have ever had.I would definetly recommend Roast Cafe to anyone wanting an intimate venue for a wedding, a nice lunch or an evening meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank chris1753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    16
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast for 150 people - done.”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I recently organised a large family wedding for my brother, where we provided breakfast for our 150 guests who were travelling on a coach from Leeds to London.
I asked for 150 fried egg rolls to be delivered for 1am in the morning. Unfortunately the delivery driver was away, so we had to collect the breakfasts. This wasn't a major problem though as we were told that our order wouldn't be delievered a month or so in advance and if we wanted to cancel the order because of this we could.
I called Gemma the day before the wedding to confirm the order, she was polite and professional over the phone. The breakfasts were ready to collect at 2am and all our guests were pleased with the delicious fried egg rolls.
Would definately recommend and use The Roast again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nish21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic UK Wedding Party!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We held a party at the Roast to celebrate our Wedding in the UK after getting married in Italy and it was Fantastic!
The location is great, only 5 mins walk from the Train station, with great outdoor area for BBQ's etc.

Matthew could not have done more to make it a special night, the food was amazing as well as the atmosphere. We would HIGHLY recommend the Roast for a party booking, it ticked all the boxes we were after and much more!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsTearne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wedding reception”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We decided to have our wedding reception (40 people) and evening reception (110 people) at The Roast after finding the venue online. We visited on several occasions to dine and speak with the manager Matthew who was very helpful. Just before our reception i had lots of questions and spoke to Matthew via email and he was always very prompt with his replies. On the day we opted for a 3 course meal and were able to choose from across the menu and we were told if we wanted anything different then to ask. We opted for soup, roast beef with vegetables and cheesecake which was presented in a wine glass,each course looked fantastic and tasted delicious (thank you to the kitchen staff).We asked if the staff could prepare the room before our arrival and it looked amazing. We also had our evening reception at The Roast but we had decided to have this 2 days later as we married on a week day and wanted our evening celebration on a weekend.The Roast booked the DJ for us,he played all the music we had requested and along with our guests we danced until the early hours.For food we decided on burgers,chips and coleslaw. The burgers were gorgeous as were the fat chips and coleslaw (thanks again to the kitchen staff). We all had a very enjoyable evening.
All in all both of our events were absolutley fantastic,we can't thank the staff at The Roast enough especially Matthew and Emma. The level of service and quality of food provided by The Roast is of top quality. Would highly recommend : )

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahlouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Catered for Wedding Reception”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Roast were asked to serve three courses for 95 people at a venue we had hired. Matthew and his team remained helpful, flexible and enthusiastic throughout. Each dish had a colourful, attractive presentation and was full of flavour. We started with Melon and Sorbet which was refreshing. The main course was Lamb with Rosemary [much admired!] and Roasted Vegetables. A vegetarian main of Wild Mushroom Risotto with Truffle oil and Parmesan was also served. The dessert was Eton Mess served in a wine glass.The overall service and attention to detail was excellent. We received many positive comments from guests about the caterers and the quality of the food was certainly appreciated.
In the evening we were joined by more guests and The Roast prepared delicious sandwiches for 150 people. These were a selection of fillings and tasted just as good as they looked.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrishD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roast Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing