We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”
Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The New Ellington
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Kayakoy, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Just on our way home after three nights in this lovely hotel. Room was beautiful, breakfast was fantastic and it's location was superb - handy for station, shopping and nightlife!

We did have an issue on the first night but that was dealt with very quickly and satisfactorily.

One small complaint was the wifi in the room - or lack of - very disappointing.

Would definitely recommend for a couples weekend!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TNE123, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Adrian M

Thank you for taking the time to share with Trip Advisors users your positive experience with us during your recent stay in Leeds.

Please accept my apologies for problems with the Wi-Fi you suffered. This was due to a system upgrade which has been completed with the external phone lines.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed how beautiful our rooms are, and of course how fantastic our breakfast is.

Next time you visit Leeds please contact me personally and I would be delighted to make the arrangements of your stay.

Warm Regards



Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    241
    98
    40
    25
See reviews for
47
429
23
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean and in a good location. However, the internet did not work and the hotel staff were not able to help or explain when this would be working again. To make external phone calls you need to ask reception to do this ....this is very strange! Also no spare phone chargers at reception.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TNE123, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Linda K,

Thank you for taking the time to share with Trip Advisors users your positive experience with us during your recent stay in Leeds.

Please accept my apologies for there being no spare phone chargers by reception. We do stock them, however we only keep a limited about of charges and all I can assume is they were in use at the at the time of your request. To prevent this happening again we have purchased additional chargers.

Our Wi-Fi system does sometimes fail due to factors outside of our control with phone lines into the city, I can only apologise for this at the time of your stay this was dealt with and was back on within the hour.

We do offer the facility to call an external number from your room and this can be arranged through Guest Relations.

I was delighted to read that you found the hotel clean and in a good location.

If you would like to book again please let me know so I can arrange the details personally.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

lovely central hotel and was lucky enough to get a parking space right outside the door. Breakfast had a good selection although service was a bit hit n miss asked for toast but didnt get it had to ask for our breakfast order to be taken,but other than that the hotel was a great base for a short stay in leeds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank claire l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TNE123, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Claire I,

Thank you for taking the time to share with Trip Advisors users your positive experience with us during your recent stay in Leeds.

Please accept my apologies concerning breakfast, we have changed our breakfast service and offering since you stayed in October 2013.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are visiting Leeds and should this be the case please contact me and I can personally arrange the detail of your stay.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager

stuartward@thenewellington.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

In Leeds for a 1 night stay but was tempted to stay longer after a very comfortable nights sleep in this lovely small hotel. Located 10 mins from the city centre the area was quiet and discount parking £12.50 for 24hrs was available at a nearby NCP carpark aprox 5mins walk away.
The breakfast was good and the staff friendly and attentive. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Drop you luggage at the hotel and get discount voucher for car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank januarygirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TNE123, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear JanuaryGirl19,

Thank you for taking the time to share with Trip Advisors users your experience with us during your recent stay in Leeds.

The team and I will delighted that you had an enjoyable experience in-particularly our beds comfortable and you found the team friendly and helpful.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with 3 work colleagues for one night. Perfectly placed for where we were working and going out in Leeds for the evening. Room was lovely with fresh milk to go in my tea - a rarity these days in my experience. Bed really comfortable and slept really well. Breakfast superb and cooked to order from a menu - I had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - lovely. Great place to relax in between our work commitments. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ludo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TNE123, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Ludo48

I was pleased to read your positive comments concerning your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share this with the Trip Advisor Community.

I was delighted that you enjoyed the extra touches in the rooms and that you found our beds comfortable and relaxing.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the new Ellington hotel for one night in March 2014 and had a great stay. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and our room was excellent, really clean, modern and comfortable. The hotel was so close, easy walking distance, to everything Leeds has to offer. We ate in one of the restaurants in Leeds but after we had breakfast the next morning in the hotel we wished we had eaten in the hotel the night before. It was lovely. Would definitely stay here again and definitely recommend it to our friends.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TNE123, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Jan F,

It was delighted to read that we have had another satisfied customer who has enjoyed our breakfast and found the team accommodating and friendly.

Why not come back soon we have a new mouth-watering menu been launched in June at the request of regular customers!

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Lovely hotel very stylish and price not too high. All staff were friendly especially at breakfast, the gentleman serving us could not do enough and was very pleasant to talk to. The room was very clean and the bed was really comfortable, also liked having a balcony on the room as well. Would stay here again and would recommend to others. The only thing that was wrong was that my milk was off that was in the fridge so could not have a coffee in the morning. Everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TNE123, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Kelly P,

I was pleased to read your positive comments concerning your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share this with the Trip Advisor Community.

I was delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you found our beds comfortable and relaxing.

Please accept my apologies with the milk, we are in the process of having all our in room fridges serviced to ensure that this does not occur again.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,095 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
191 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Property: The New Ellington
Address: 23-25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#12 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You'll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington - but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and fabulous breakfast. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 -inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing