We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, working hard to be good”
Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The New Ellington
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Very good, working hard to be good”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have been here, this time much better room on the top floor, mini suite, good value, nice style. Food was very good and service ok. Odd check in procedure but everyone has their own ways. Very comfortable bed BTW. I would return and even drop in for a lunch if I was in the area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Matt A,

Thank you for taking the time to share with the Trip Advisor community your experience with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our suite and that you found our bed comfortable. I am a not sure what you found odd about our check in procedure and if you can let me have further information I can look into this for you.

If you are in Leeds area again and wish to stay with us please let me know and can make the arrangements personally.

Warm Regards,

Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    238
    97
    39
    25
See reviews for
46
426
23
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I liked the location of this hotel, it's design package, the good materials and above the very good bed. Breakfast was simple but service was very good. Downsides are as described by others the room without outside window and the lack of water in the fridge. All together a good choice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lekker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear lekker001,

Thank you for choosing to stay with The New Ellington during your time in Leeds and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor Community.

I was delighted as always to read that you enjoyed our beds and that you found our service professional.

We do water on request, however as a result of your comments and customer feedback this is now in all our rooms as a standard.

Should you wish to stay with us again then please contact me personally and I would be delighted to make the arrangements of your stay.

Warm Regards,

Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband found The New Ellington on Tripadvisor and booked two double rooms for a future date. I completed their online contact form about booking a table for dinner the evening of our stay and asking about dietary requirements. I had no response so a few days later I completed the form again and still got no reply. I like to have a written correspondence trail so if anything goes wrong during our visit, I have something to refer back to. You have to ask why bother having an online contact form if no-one replies or indeed is it monitored. I decided to make contact via the website email address on the 10th March and finally received a response from the deputy manager, no apology just that the online forms usually go straight to him but he would have a word with chef and get back to me. Eight days later having heard nothing from him, I decided to cancel the rooms and book elsewhere. If they are unable to address a simple dietary request, what chance is there of them actually getting it right on the night. I emailed the deputy manager to inform him of my cancellation, but no reply once again, obviously customer service is not something The New Ellington aspires to.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veganolive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear oliveoyl1,

Thank you for taking the time to share with the Trip Advisor community your experience with us.
I have personally reviewed your reservation with us and cannot trace any online form being received from yourself.

I am aware of the correspondence between my Deputy and yourself, due to the fact we change our menu on a regular basis as we use locally sourced seasonal foods, my Deputy informed you that he would be in contact nearer the time on your stay to finalise arrangements.

Additionally I understand that our Guest Relations team have called you to ascertain if you have any other requirements during your stay, and we haven’t received anything back from that particular call.

I am of course disappointed that you will not be staying with us and should you change your mind then please contact me personally and I would be delighted to make the arrangements of your stay.

Warm Regards,

Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have been looking for a luxurious hotel to surprise my boyfriend with for his birthday this Friday and this one seems to tick all the boxes, I booked the hotel last week and today received a courtesy call from the hotel to ask if I have any special requirements,we are both unable to eat wheat so the lady suggested rye bread.I am really impressed with this touch, we usually just expect that our diets cannot be catered for,I am even more excited about our stay this Friday and hope I am able to leave a 5* review! Excited!!! Meg

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Meg W

Thank you sharing with the Trip Advisor Community your pre-arrival experience we do try and anticipate guests needs prior to their arrival and I am pleased that we will be now able to cater for your dietary requirements.

We look forward to welcoming you both this Friday.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

First of all I feel that I kind of feel quite harsh for rating the hotel 4 rather than 5, but it's kind of a challenge to them - you are very close to being excellent, and a few little touches would make it an excellent hotel.

I had asked in advance for a quiet room but had slight trepidation when advised at check in that I had an internal room. I was a bit more wary when I opened the door and saw the reality of no window, but ultimately I had a great night sleep, the only thing I heard from my room all night were the folk across the hall entering their room late evening. The room didn't feel at all claustrophobic once I got used to it.

My bed was enormous (two single bed bases joined together) but one thing I did notice - picked up from The Hotel Inspector! - was that there was no mattress protector/topper which I thought was pretty much standard in all hotels and b&bs these days. Pillows and bedding were great.

As has been mentioned before, the only thing in the minibar was a milk, whereas a water would have been much more welcome. One thing for the hotel to maybe note is that the hotel guide in the room said that the minibars are fully stocked - this is maybe needing to be updated.

I didn't quite get to grips with the heating, there was no display of the temperature at which the air con/heating was set at so I wasn't really sure what I had it set at. Not a problem though, fiddled with heating/aircon for a while til it reached optimium temperature then just switched it off for the night.

I'm being hyper-critical with this review as I would love to see it improve and get to where it should be. There were some splatters on both the inside and the outside of the bathroom door which looked like the aftermath of some vigorous toothbrushing, but may just have been cleaning products, plus there were a few marks on the upholstery, both on the chair and above the bed. Nothing bad, but a wee bit of a let down from the high standards to which the hotel is aiming.

After a great sleep, I went for breakfast. I can quite confidently say that this is the best hotel breakfast that I have had in a long time - sausages and bacon seemed to be of excellent quality and the freshly squeezed juices were wonderful. Sadly I couldn't make the most of it as I had gorged on muesli and a croissant beforehand...

Overall I have to say that this is potentially an excellent hotel and I would certainly consider visiting if ever in Leeds on a leisure trip, and would almost certainly stay here if in town again on business. Oh, one last thing - as someone in town on business, I always prefer a hotel to have a gym. Maybe this isn't the market that the hotel is aiming for, but if so, I would suggest considering sacrificing a small area (even a room) to stick some gym equipment in, even if only a treadmill and a couple of bikes and a cross trainer or something.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank quizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Quizzer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I was delighted to read that you had a good night sleep in our luxurious beds of which we are renowned for.

Please accept my apologies for the oversight with some aspects of your room this is not our normal standard our housekeeping staff are trained to a very high standard, and are made extra vigilant of the points you have raised can only put down the points you made down to human error, something that we do occasionally fall foul.

On a positive note, I was delighted to read that this was the best cooked breakfast that you have had when staying in a hotel. Next time you should try an evening meal!

If you would like to stay again, please contact me personally and I would be delighted to make the reservation personally.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

First off, the rooms in this hotel are very clean and comfortable. The bed is huge too - no problems sleeping here! The only downside is that my ground floor room faced an alley and a loading bay for the adjacent building which could get very noisy. Parking is in a local ncp but you do get a reduced rate.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Damien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Damien W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I was delighted to read that you had a good night sleep in our luxurious beds of which we are renowned for.

I have taken on-board your comments concerning the office building behind us and have spoken with our neighbours concerning their delivery times to reduce the impact of city centre noise.

I was pleased that you left fulfilled with our Yorkshire Breakfast and should you be in the Leeds area again please contact the hotel direct to arrange your reservation.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I really wanted to like this hotel arriving with high hopes and on the face of it this should have been possible for it to live up to these as it has a lot going for it; good central location for station, shops and restaurants, stylish public areas, bar with more gins that I knew existed, good rooms that are comfortable and quiet even when the hotel was full and a staff who are eager to try to please and help where they can. So what was wrong? The appearances are all of a weak management system so that when you scratch the surface all is not as it should be: weak housekeeping with lack of attention to detail (poor cleaning and restocking), an empty restaurant for dinner with no atmosphere & average food, an appalling breakfast service with a long wait to find that the breakfast that was served was missing most advertised ingredients with unacceptable and unannounced substitutions (this was not charged for following our complaint). The poor staff spent their time apologising for system errors at every turn and endeavouring to justify things that should not occur in a well run hotel. The alternatives in Leeds for a central boutique hotel are limited but if you stay there I would ensure your expectation are low and that you plan to eat all meals elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank X1LKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear X1LKP,

Thank you for taking the time to share with the Trip Advisor community your recent stay with us.
I was pleased to read that you found our location convenient for your stay in Leeds and that you enjoyed our unique offering of Gin which currently stands at 120 bottles.

I was sorry to see that you didn’t feel that we didn’t offer the level of service you were expecting despite your comments concerning the friendliness and eagerness of the team.

I understand that you raised your disappointment concerning breakfast and I did on Monday morning write to you personally concerning your comments on breakfast, I wasn’t however aware that you weren’t happy with other aspects of your stay.

I am disappointed that these weren’t brought to our attention during your stay as we wouldn’t wish for anyone staying with us to not be unhappy with any aspect of their stay.

I will of course investigate your comments with the team on duty and should you wish to stay with us the next time you are in Leeds please contact me personally and I can make the arrangements.

Warm Regards,

Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,212 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Property: The New Ellington
Address: 23-25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You'll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington - but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and fabulous breakfast. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 -inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing