We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The New Ellington
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights on business in mid July and I booked this hotel as I wanted a smaller and more personal hotel. It certainly lived up to expectations. Check-in was easy and efficient with a friendly and helpful receptionist. The room was excellent with the biggest, comfiest bed I have ever seen in a city centre hotel. The room was well appointed with lots of extra touches that made it home from home. It had a 'proper' hairdryer in a drawer rather than the small wired-in one in the bathroom, there was a decent kettle and lovely selection of teas/coffee and chocolate. There was a fridge with a small carton of fresh milk - a lovely touch when all I wanted was a cup tea after a 3 hour train journey. The fridge was marvellous as it ensured I had a plentiful supply of cold drinks throughout the week in the heat. There were also several sizes of wine glasses, a cocktail shaker, ice bucket and corkscrew - shame I was working and couldn't take advantage! Again a nice touch. There was also a trouser press, full size iron and ironing board, which was really helpful and meant I didn't have to bother house keeping for an ironing board, which is what usually happens. One of the main attractions was the room had air conditioning which was a godsend, although it did struggle at times and wasn't as cool as it said it was - but certainly better than not having it!. There was also free Wi-Fi which was a welcome bonus, as was the peace and quiet at night as the hotel is in a side road away from traffic noise..
The bathroom was lovely, clean and a good selection of quality toiletries and also things like cotton buds and pads etc. There was a bath with a shower where you could have a hand held shower head or a rain shower head above which was a bonus. Plenty of clean towels which were enormous and good quality. Unusually for a city hotel the toilet paper was plentiful and good quality! I appreciate little things like this.
The food was excellent. I ate in the restaurant each morning for breakfast and the choice and quality of food was excellent and the staff cheery and helpful. As I was working in my room late each night I used room service which was just as good with prompt efficient service, excellent food whether it be a sandwich or salad etc. and importantly great value for money.
A special mention to all the staff who were unfailingly polite, cheerful and helpful no matter what.
I wasn't going to write this review as I don't want to make this small hotel too popular as I fully intend to return when next in Leeds! Have to say I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel as I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this hidden gem

Room Tip: I had room 209 overlooking the entrance. Nice and quiet as no traffic noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Nicola L

It was great to read your glowing review about us and that the team are doing what they do best!

The team recall looking after you and are thankful for you taking the time to share your wonderful experience.

Please don’t worry, we only have 34 rooms and even when we are full we can still look after one individually.

Please contact the hotel direct when you wish to return or for future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    240
    98
    40
    25
See reviews for
47
428
23
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westmeath
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just the right location for a city break...in a quiet street so you can get a good nights sleep yet close enough to the action.
I have to say it's the staff that really bring this place to life. They all have a sunny attitude and nothing is too much trouble. Special mention to James for making all our requests happen. As a group of women of mixed ages on a hen weekend, everyone had a different agenda and the staff were extremely accomodating.
The rooms are very nice and the fixtures are of a high standard.
Overall, I WILL BE RETURNING without hesitation on my next trip to Leeds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacq1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Jacq1234

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff accommodating during your special weekend with us.

We wouldn’t have known that it was a Hen Weekend for you all as you were all very sophisticated and very behaved like all our guest’s!

I have shared your comments with James who was extremely delighted that you gave him a special mention.

Please contact the hotel directly when you wish to return or for future special offers, or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the New Ellington last Saturday for 1 night.

We had an all-round excellent trip.

On arrival we were greeted by James on reception who offered a warm welcome and some great advice on the area and where we could eat/ drink.

I believe we were in a standard city room ( room 108) which was a lovely room with a big bed, tv nice bathroom and some nice extras like a robe, slippers all different types of glasses ( champagne, wine etc if you brought your own drinks/ brought a bottle from bar)

Location of hotel is more in the business area but saying that there was 2/3 bars down the same road and only 5 mins into Leeds city centre.

The Gin Bar at the hotel was really good, best G&T I’ve had in a long timeand team behind bar where very friendly.

We ate at their restaurant next door, Diggbys which was excellent food and service, we had Emily as our waitress who was very friendly and professional.

Only downside to the hotel was that the room was very hot and the air-conditioning was very noisy so we ended up open up the window and as a result heard loads of noise from the nearby bars etc . Also the coffee machine was a bit naff but maybe we weren't doing it right!

Overall, great location, nice rooms, good food and excellent friendly service.

A great choice if your staying in Leeds!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Holidayhan

Thank you for your comments concerning you stay I pleased to read that another satisfied customer enjoyed our beds!

The bar team were delighted you enjoyed their knowledge on G & T with over 100 gins on offer we have something for everyone taste buds.

We are reviewing our coffee machine instructions to see if they can be more user friendly.


Please contact the hotel directly when you wish to return or for future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the New Ellington for two nights for our daughters graduation on her recommendation. Great location and a lovely hotel, a very helpful receptionist and we were delighted to be upgraded to a suite with a wonderfully comfortable bed albeit in the attic which due to the weather was hot to say the least. Unfortunately it is let down for what I can only describe as staff lacking an eye for detail. There is a service lift next to the guest lift however on 3 occasions we used the guest lift it was full of laundry bags or toilet rolls. We used the bar a couple of times, the second time was a painful experience with 3 people behind the bar and we were the only two guests at the bar but it still took about 5 minutes to get two soft drinks by the time the barman had found his bottle opener, ice etc and absolutely no sense of customer service. The small things slightly let down what could be a 5* boutique hotel, it would not take much to fix.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyer1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Flyer1960,

Firstly many congratulations on your daughters graduation, I was pleased you appreciated the complementary upgrade to our suite, all our suites are located on the third floor which takes in the quirkiness of the roof lines so I’m sorry you felt you were in an attic.

I have spoken with the team on duty concerning your service comments and corrective training as taken place.

Our service lift is next to the main lift although it’s clearly marked occasionally guest do use it which during the day which result in having to use the guest lift to take items to rooms.

Please contact the hotel directly when you wish to return or for future special offers, or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Having a weekend city break . Thought this hotel was lovely. Comfortable , huge beds, clean, stylish and although full of wedding guests and a hen party, slept soundly with no noisey corridors. The staff were super friendly and welcoming and breakfast wonderful. Nothing negTive to say at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clurre430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We didn't spend much time in the hotel as we were in Leeds visiting friends but for what we needed it for, it was perfect. Our room (studio room) was well equipped (though one of the shutters was broken which meant it was a tad darker than desired) with a Nespresso machine and the requisite toiletries, magazines etc. The view was on to a carpark but as mentioned, we weren't in the room for long so on this occasion the view was not a problem.

Breakfast was delicious though service could have been quicker. We had G&Ts in the Gin Bar before dining in Digby's restaurant which was buzzy with a good atmosphere and a fantastic, well executed menu.

We'd stay at the New Ellington again, perfect for a city break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princessgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Princess Girl,

Thank you for taking the time to share with Trip Advisors users your positive experience with us during your recent stay in Leeds.

Please accept my apologies for the shutters coming off the rails maintenance have looked at this now and introduced a new system so it does not occur again.

We were pleased you like the buzz in our Gin Garden with over 100 bottles of Gin it’s a ginelicous experience!

As previously mentioned we are reviewing our breakfast experience on a weekend to ensure when everyone arrives at the same time service is prompt and efficient.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed one night on the recommendation of friends and really liked the hotel. We had a lovely room on the top floor with a balcony. However, the breakfast lets the hotel down. Half an hour before breakfast ended there was very little food left on the breakfast display such as no juice, no bowls, etc. and it wasn't being replenished. We got the impression that the staff, while all very friendly, were being spread very thin and had to multi task. It may jut have been one of those days but perhaps one or two more members of staff may have done the trick. Otherwise, it's a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go for rooms 22-24 as they are just off the bar area. Rooms 302-304 have balconies. Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deekiboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
was pleased that you enjoyed our executive room on the third floor with its own private balcony and that you found our rooms relaxing.

I’m sure you felt let down with breakfast we did experience a high amount of guest coming down just before breakfast finished which as I’m sure you will appreciate dose cause slight delays in refreshing the buffet and as all our food is freshly cooked they would be a longer wait than usual.

We are looking at different way how we can resolve this on a weekend.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The New Ellington and should this be the case please contact me personally so I can make the arrangements for you.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,095 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,251 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Property: The New Ellington
Address: 23-25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#12 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You'll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington - but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and fabulous breakfast. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 -inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing