We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good boutique hotel”
Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The New Ellington
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the New Ellington for two nights for our daughters graduation on her recommendation. Great location and a lovely hotel, a very helpful receptionist and we were delighted to be upgraded to a suite with a wonderfully comfortable bed albeit in the attic which due to the weather was hot to say the least. Unfortunately it is let down for what I can only describe as staff lacking an eye for detail. There is a service lift next to the guest lift however on 3 occasions we used the guest lift it was full of laundry bags or toilet rolls. We used the bar a couple of times, the second time was a painful experience with 3 people behind the bar and we were the only two guests at the bar but it still took about 5 minutes to get two soft drinks by the time the barman had found his bottle opener, ice etc and absolutely no sense of customer service. The small things slightly let down what could be a 5* boutique hotel, it would not take much to fix.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Flyer1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Flyer1960,

Firstly many congratulations on your daughters graduation, I was pleased you appreciated the complementary upgrade to our suite, all our suites are located on the third floor which takes in the quirkiness of the roof lines so I’m sorry you felt you were in an attic.

I have spoken with the team on duty concerning your service comments and corrective training as taken place.

Our service lift is next to the main lift although it’s clearly marked occasionally guest do use it which during the day which result in having to use the guest lift to take items to rooms.

Please contact the hotel directly when you wish to return or for future special offers, or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 853 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Having a weekend city break . Thought this hotel was lovely. Comfortable , huge beds, clean, stylish and although full of wedding guests and a hen party, slept soundly with no noisey corridors. The staff were super friendly and welcoming and breakfast wonderful. Nothing negTive to say at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clurre430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We didn't spend much time in the hotel as we were in Leeds visiting friends but for what we needed it for, it was perfect. Our room (studio room) was well equipped (though one of the shutters was broken which meant it was a tad darker than desired) with a Nespresso machine and the requisite toiletries, magazines etc. The view was on to a carpark but as mentioned, we weren't in the room for long so on this occasion the view was not a problem.

Breakfast was delicious though service could have been quicker. We had G&Ts in the Gin Bar before dining in Digby's restaurant which was buzzy with a good atmosphere and a fantastic, well executed menu.

We'd stay at the New Ellington again, perfect for a city break.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princessgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Princess Girl,

Thank you for taking the time to share with Trip Advisors users your positive experience with us during your recent stay in Leeds.

Please accept my apologies for the shutters coming off the rails maintenance have looked at this now and introduced a new system so it does not occur again.

We were pleased you like the buzz in our Gin Garden with over 100 bottles of Gin it’s a ginelicous experience!

As previously mentioned we are reviewing our breakfast experience on a weekend to ensure when everyone arrives at the same time service is prompt and efficient.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed one night on the recommendation of friends and really liked the hotel. We had a lovely room on the top floor with a balcony. However, the breakfast lets the hotel down. Half an hour before breakfast ended there was very little food left on the breakfast display such as no juice, no bowls, etc. and it wasn't being replenished. We got the impression that the staff, while all very friendly, were being spread very thin and had to multi task. It may jut have been one of those days but perhaps one or two more members of staff may have done the trick. Otherwise, it's a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go for rooms 22-24 as they are just off the bar area. Rooms 302-304 have balconies. Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deekiboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

was pleased that you enjoyed our executive room on the third floor with its own private balcony and that you found our rooms relaxing.

I’m sure you felt let down with breakfast we did experience a high amount of guest coming down just before breakfast finished which as I’m sure you will appreciate dose cause slight delays in refreshing the buffet and as all our food is freshly cooked they would be a longer wait than usual.

We are looking at different way how we can resolve this on a weekend.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The New Ellington and should this be the case please contact me personally so I can make the arrangements for you.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband booked the trip as a birthday surprise.. we travelled by train from Bolton and the hotel was within easy walking distance from the station it took approx 5 mins. We arrived early and left our luggage as the man receptionist explained check -in was only at 2. The decor was was stylish & fashionable.We went out for the evening (again everwhere was easy walking distance).. The young lady receptionist was very friendly/professional and attentive.The bed was massive,the shower was complicated,the blackout wooden blinds were amazing...slept until 10 thought it was still the middle of the night!slept fabulous! Fridge and drink making facilities were fab too..Ps the goldfish was very cute.... recommend to anyone :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

It was a pleasure to read and share with the team your positive experience with us during your recent stay in Leeds.

I was particularly delighted that you found the reception team helpful and friendly on check in and was sorry to read that you found the shower a little complicated I will be reviewing the instructions with the team.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for one night in June and can't fault this hotel. Excellent location for shops, restaurants and night life. They are about a 10 minute walk away.

The reception staff were very helpful and all staff were friendly and courteous.

Got a free upgrade to a larger room which was lovely and included coffee maker with fresh milk, luxury toiletries in bathroom and plenty of wardrobe space.

Breakfast was cooked fresh to order and we can definitely recommend the omelettes.

There is a secure car park across the road from the hotel which you can park in for £14.00 per night if there's space. We arrived around 1pm and got a space.

We will be booking another stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Claire

Thank you for taking the time to share with Trip Advisors users your positive experience with us during your recent stay in Leeds.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your complementary upgrade and that you thought our breakfast was first class.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a short break at this lovely hotel which is in a fantastic location in the centre of Leeds. We left the car on their car park (£14/day) and strolled round to the Victoria Quarters and Leeds Art Gallery. The staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful and the rooms are very nice as are the bar area and lounge. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: we had room 302. no views as such but it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

The team and I appreciated you taking the time to share with Trip Advisor users the positive and relaxing stay you had with us.

I was particular delighted that you enjoyed the friendly and vibrant city of Leeds and that you thought that The New Ellington was the perfect base to explore our wonderful city.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
350 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#16 of 87 in Leeds
1,460 reviews
Ibis Leeds Centre
#33 of 87 in Leeds
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Address: 23-25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#15 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $71 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You'll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington - but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and fabulous breakfast. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 -inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing