We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in the heart of the city”
Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The New Ellington
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked this hotel as we'd booked a gin tasting session at a bar nearby and thought this hotel fitted the bill as it has a bar with over 84 gins. Our biggest mistake was not enquiring if the hotel would have done this ( they would). Staff were super friendly and helpful, really went out of their way to help.... Homemade strawberry marshmallows on reception set the scene. Rooms are really nice and roomy with good facilities. Restaurant served great food and breakfast was to die for ... You must try the homemade pistachio and cherry muffins!
Set in a quiet side street it was the perfect venue for a week end break...... Really good value and good quality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlesheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

I was delighted to share your comments with the team and they were all particularly happy that you had an enjoyable time and that your found our team friendly and welcoming.

Chef was thrilled that you enjoyed his muffins at breakfast and our home made marshmallows when you checked in.

You are correct in that we do offer tailored as well as group Gin Tasting and with now over 100 bottles of Gin we have a lot of knowledge to share.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 854 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

I traveled with work and was pleased to be upgraded to the King suite which was enormous.

The suite was clean and the decor was faultless. The service was polite and professional and everywhere felt smart and modern. I hoped to be checked in early and the receptionist kindly stationed me the bar area while I waited for the room to be ready.

I suppose the problem with being the kind of establishment that has grand, high backed animal print chairs and effortlessly bold chunky wooden tables at an angle in reception, a healthy smattering of jazz influence and more baroquey style lamps that you can shake a stick at, is that you set yourself at a certain level.

And, at such a level, guests of your best room do not expect to have to call reception to request a drinks menu, find a coffer with nespresso coffee pods, yet the strange absence of any machine with which to use them or discover that the speaker in the bathroom is broken and there are no appropriate audio cables with which to use the in-room AV (a mere mention of iPhone connectivity in the room's handbook does not help the huge number of people who realise that android offers greater everything).

Overall I enjoyed my stay but feel that these simple things are a little embarrassing for a hotel which presents itself as higher end and particularly so for a stay in the King Suite!

Room Tip: if you have allergies, i read in the room handbook that they will change the feather bedding for hyp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milomolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your constructive comments concerning your recent stay and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your complementary upgrade to our King Suite.

Please accept my apologies for the missing coffee machine which was away for repair you should have been offered on check in coffee from our lounge during your time with us. I have spoken with the team on duty and they are extremely sorry for this oversight.

We do stock a range of cables at reception for various phones, tablets and computers to connect to our entertainment system.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed for one night with I booked through Secret Escapes. I've walked past this hotel a few times but never really took much notice - so I was surprised when I arrived to find out luxurious and stylish this hotel was.

The rooms were decent size and good quality furnishings - air con worked well and I have a nice nights sleep. The hotel is a good location to be central and also for peace and quiet, which is something that is hard to find in the Leeds area. There was also free WiFi in the rooms which was quick.

Enjoyed some lovely drinks in the bar which I felt were reasonably priced and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast the next day was good quality and in nice surrounding.

There were a few things, in my opinion that could improve:

Bar Service - We were advised that no cocktails could be served after 11pm as there is no one to make them which on a Saturday night in a hotel seemed poor to me. Most decent hotels keep a full bar service for hotel guests well up to midnight and beyond.

Lifts - In the morning the main customer lift had a duvet and pillows stuffed in it when it arrived and then it stopped at different floors and cleaners kept getting in with you rather than waiting (what is the point of the service lift if none of them are going to use it?) It just didn't look very professional.

All in All this is a great little hotel and I would return at the right price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank copleycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Saturday night’s stay with us I was pleased to read that you felt the majority of your stay was good.

Please accept my apologies for no cocktails on Saturday evening after 11.00pm this is not our normal standard of service and the team on duty have been dealt with.

Our service lift is located next to our main lift of which our guests can use and I can only assume that you used the service lift on Sunday morning.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in the New Ellington when we were in Leeds overnight. We were made to feel very welcome by the girl on reception. The guy in charge (James) was very helpful, nothing was too much trouble, infact ALL the staff were very professional. The room was delightful, spotlessly clean and had everything we could have wished for. In the morning we had the full English breakfast, the best I have had in a long time. If you are looking for a good Hotel in the Leeds area you won't go far wrong with this one. Thanks again to James and the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Leigh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

It was a pleasure to read and share with the team your positive experience with us during your recent stay in Leeds with us.

I was particularly delighted that you found my Guest Relations Supervisor James helpful and ensured you had a relaxing time.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here a couple of times as its in a good position for central Leeds. Quiet road, with free parking on road after 6pm on Saturday. Always friendly and a cracking gin menu a the bar. Not tried the restaurant but the rooms are a reasonable size with huge bed and comfy mattress. A nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the atrium tend to be a bit darker than those facing outwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay of which I have shared with the team they were all delighted that you have had enjoyable experiences with us.

You will be pleased to know that our Gin Menu is increasing and we are just over 100 bottles – next time why not try our award winning restaurant Digby’s we have a special offer for our guest who dine in our restaurant with 15% discount of your food bill

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and i have just had a wonderful Saturday night stay at the newellington hotel in Leeds.Everything from a personalised booking with James,very pleasant young lady on check into checkout could not have been better. The hotel is welcoming and classy.Our room was simply gorgeous-quiet and sheer luxury! My wife and i also agreed that the cooked English breakfast was probably the best we have had in any hotel and we have stayed in many so-called luxury hotels.The breakfast staff in the dining room were also really pleasant which also enhanced the meal.Great stay and already re-booked!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LianYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found the team in particularly James very helpful I have passed on your comments to him and he was delighted that you mentioned him.

Equally the breakfast team who we think do a sterling job were pleased you enjoyed your full English breakfast of which were renown for.

I know you are coming back to stay with us but in the meantime why not keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel is located about 5 minutes from the train station in the business district of Leeds making it a quiet spot at the weekend, with some shops closed. Not really a problem as the city centre is only 5 minutes walk away as well.

My partner and I arrived at this hotel shortly after 2pm (advertised check in time) but unfortunately our room wasn't ready. The lovely girl on reception apologised and told us it would not be more than an hour but that she would look after our bags if we wanted to go for a wander. Fine by us. When we did get to the room, we were very pleased to find it clean and well finished. The bathroom had a very nice rainfall shower which we both thought was fantastic. There are tea and coffee making facilities as you would expect including a capsule coffee machine. We opted for an executive room, however we don't think this had any benefits over a standard room.

The downside to this room was the temperature which even with the air con on its lowest setting, was far too warm. We both had a bit of a restless night because of this. However, the bed was very comfortable.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Our room was 203 - nice and quiet but VERY warm. It was directly opposite the lifts but we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AilsaTamsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post review about your recent stay I was delighted to read that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Please accept my apologies for the room been slightly warm we are carrying out a further service on our Air Conditioning Units.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
359 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,087 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#16 of 87 in Leeds
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Address: 23-25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#15 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $73 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You'll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington - but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and fabulous breakfast. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 -inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing