We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let themselves down....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The New Ellington
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Let themselves down....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Generally was very good, however it was spoilt by a very noisy air con unit (which other reviews have complained about).

Arrival: the staff were okay and friendly as much as they could be whilst retaining their cool and trendy stance. Reception and bar area was nice.
Room: Decent size for a city centre hotel and well decorated, we have booked a king size bed which was very comfortable. However...our air con unit started vibrating nosily after been on for about 30 minutes. As we only discovered this at 11pm did not try to change rooms, did try the unit several times but had the same result. It got worse because something else in the building then caused to vibrate in the middle of the night ruining sleep.

When I raised this with staff when checking out (the people ahead of me at checkout also had similar issues with their air con) the response was that they’d get it fixed. We had lost a night’s sleep and would have expected them to have tried a bit harder, maybe a discount next time or waiver the two drinks we had from the bar as a token gesture.

Other little things then become an issue, breakfast was set out without plates at the fruit counter and overhearing about hair gel of the staff talking too loudly, tea and coffee wasn’t restocked in the room etc. Small things but with the air con issue feel this place was trying to focus too hard on its boutique status and if they are not careful will lose sight of customer service.

Shame, could have been great – failed to deliver

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. I am sorry that your stay didn’t live up to the normal levels of service we are renowned for.

I have spoken with the team on duty concerning breakfast and corrective training has taken place to ensure that this does again.

We have carried out an additional service on our air conditioning units to resolve the issues we have been experiencing.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The New Ellington and should this be the case please contact me personally so I can make the arrangements for you.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    229
    96
    39
    25
See reviews for
46
416
22
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have been staying here on Business for a few months now. Every time I stay and I am made to feel very welcome by the Duty Manager, James and all the staff. It is nice as a customer to feel comfortable in a Hotel knowing you will be looked after during your stay.
From having stayed in most of the 3,4 and 5 Star hotels in Leeds and surrounding areas I always gravitate towards the New Ellington.
The rooms are very comfortable and peaceful with all the extras normally assocaited with a Boutique hotel. From the Bar there is a wide selction of Beers as well as numerous varieties of Gin and other spirits. I have tried most of the Bar Food and its all of a high standard. The restaurant downstairs is inviting and serves finely cooked food at reasonable prices. The location of the Hotel is convenient as its only a 5 minute walk from the Train Station and close to all the Shopping areas that Leeds has to offer. This is always my first choice to stay when on Business in Leeds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeezerChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. I am pleased to see that you enjoy staying with us on a numerous occasions and that you find our team friendly and approachable.

I delighted to see that you like our ranges of Gin which is now standing at 99 bottles!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent room, staff and location. Would definitely stay there again if visiting Leeds. If I had to make a Complaint it would be that couple of unexplained stains on carpet but bed and furniture all spotless.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience.

Please accept my apologies for some areas which were below our normal levels we have since carried out a deep clean programmes of our carpets.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We came here for a few days away as a birthday treat as a couple, on arrival we were met by a friendly lady who checked us in very quickly and shown to our room. We were given an executive room which was excellent, good size for the two of us with a nice bathroom, excellent shower and very comfortable bed. The location was great for shopping only a five minute walk to the town centre and two minutes from the train station. The staff at this hotel were excellent particularly the dark haired young lady on reception, nothing was too much trouble for her, she provided me with extra milk for my tea, ordered us a taxi and took the time to recommend good restaurants near by for dinner, she was excellent with her black house recommendation!
I would defiantly return to this hotel, it is excellently located, modern, very clean, comfortable and quiet with staff who are a credit to it. Thank you for a lovely break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay.

I was pleased to learn you had an enjoyable experience with us and that the team delivered the renowned experience were are known for.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and next time why not try our award winning restaurant?

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We checked in on a Saturday afternoon and was greeted by the manager Mr Ward who was extremely friendly and very helpful.
The room was excellent and very spacious. The evening meal and Sunday breakfast were at a very high standard. The staff were all very helpful throughout our stay.
Highly recommended and only a 5 minute walk from the town centre...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBenton_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay.

I was pleased to learn you had an enjoyable experience with us and that the team delivered the renowned experience were are known for.

It was a pleasure to meet you when you checked in and I do hope that you found our tips to explore the city beneficial?

I have past your comments on concerning your dinner to our Head Chef and he was delighted that you enjoyed his culinary creations!

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one Saturday with my husband. Our room's air conditioning system repeatedly woke us throughout the night by automatically switching on and then making an awful noise. We told the receptionist who explained how to turn it off but she failed to grasp that the problem was that because it was faulty, we had to keep getting up throughout the night to turn it off. Other guests were inconsiderate and noisy, although that is not the hotel's fault. Breakfast was not very impressive. Poor choice. We paid £12 each upon checking in but should have been told we could have paid less a la carte. Otherwise, the room was well decorated and comfortable. The location is good too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gezkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay.

Please accept my apologies concerning the air conditioning. We are carrying out an additional service on our air conditioning units to resolve the issues we have been experiencing.

I am sorry that the team didn’t explain our breakfast options more fully and we have carried out corrective training.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engaland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Been to The New Ellington before and this time stayed on Thursday night on the last week of April. The stay was again excellent with friendly staff at the reception desk. Parking across the street was available for a small fee. Breakfast was excellent and peaceful.
Nothing to complaint at all and a very pleasant stay. We are a regular visitor to Leeds and will stay here again.
Only slight short fall on hotel policy of charging for extra tea bags in the room which is a non sense as there is only one Earl Grey bag in the tea making tray and we are a couple who only drink earl grey. The extra charge was removed on settling the bill. This is only a small problem.
5 minutes walk to the shopping centre. Some commented about the gentlemen clubs near by. They are discretely placed and the areas look smart and not at all seedy as implied.
Pick the better room then the standard one for just a little extra.

Room Tip: Hotel on quiet street so any room should be quiet. I have an inner room over looking roof and office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLOBEVISITOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay I was extremely delighted to read that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Please accept my apologies concerning the over charge for extra tea bags in your room this isn’t our normal policy and there was some slight confusion thinking it was an actual pot of tea.

Thank you for sharing your opinion concerning our public areas and that you do not find them as other guest’s we are carrying out a full re-paint of all our rooms over the summer period.

For future special offers or to keep in touch please like us on Facebook so you can be the first know what’s happening at The New Ellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Quebecs
#8 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Property: The New Ellington
Address: 23-25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You'll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington - but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and fabulous breakfast. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 -inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing