We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy city centre hotel”
Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The New Ellington
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel with two other couples. The hotels is centrally located and you can park right outside the front door. The parking is on a meter and it is then free after 6pm on Saturday and free on Sunday. The hotel is beautifully appointed based around a jazz theme. We had all booked executive doubles and as it was my husband's birthday we were upgraded at no extra charge to a suite. The room was lovely with an enormous bed. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. Breakfast is taken in the restaurant down stairs and it was delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel as it is without a doubt one of the best Leeds has to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryAnnSmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 853 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

My partner and i trave in the UK frequently and stay at a lot of hotels but the New Ellington in Leeds has been one of our favorites. Lovely hotel with Art deco style rooms and a private balcony. A treat in a busy city centre with the biggest most comfortable bed i have ever had the pleasure to sleep in. A delicious breakfast in a stylish restaurant made me want to post my first ever review.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Rude and exceptionaly mid 30s unprofesional receptionist male duty manager,
Broken glass walked in my foot
Coffee machine not worked n got promised replacement never came! Still waiting for a call or email of apology or some kind of acknowledgement that our weekend stay was poor!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the new ellington, pity we only stayed the 1 night, it was the perfect balance of feeling luxurious enough to be a contender to the big names and small enough to warrant the boutique title. The only thing I found slightly confusing was the hi tech tap and rainfall shower mixer, which in turn drenched me when I tried to turn the bath taps on! All in all was a lovely stay and I would recommend to anyone travelling to leeds for the weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicci34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments concerning your recent stay with us of which I have shared with the team.

We were all pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay, after your comments concerning the shower we have placed instructions in the bathroom to help our guests get the most from our luxurious and refreshing rain showers.

If you have the time please register on our facebook page so you can be the first to receive our future special offers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington in the near future.

Warm Regards

Stuart Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

From start to finish I was totally impressed with The New Ellington. Room was sumptuous! Lovely big comfortable bed that took all my might to prise myself from it was so soft and comfy. Surroundings as soon as you walk in are lovely and the welcome from the staff was top notch. Also loved the sound system in the bathroom along with the rainfall shower. Nice touch that you are given some proper milk in the little fridge instead of the usual UHT horrible stuff. Location was superb (unless youre into seaviews, etc), right in the heart of the financial district of Leeds and next to some of the best bars and restaurants. A 5 minute walk from the bustling city centre too.
Breakfast in the gorgeous dining area was superb and the service yet again, impeccable!
All in all, for my first ever trip to Leeds, this lovely hotel made it a great one and I'll definitely be coming back to The New Ellington on my next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shedgal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments concerning your recent stay with us of which I have shared with the team.

We were all pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay, and you liked our little touches of which we are known for.

If you have the time please register on our facebook page so you can be the first to receive our future special offers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Ellington in the near future.

Warm Regards

Stuart Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Room was large and well-presented, and bathroom looked brand new and was very clean. The location is very central, but my room was very quiet, which was great. A couple of minor details let it down - the mugs and teaspoons were filthy; the coffee machine was too complicated to use; and the bed hadn't been properly made.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times recently when visiting our son at Uni in Leeds. The first time in late November we booked a Juinior Suite which was very spacious and had all of the expected touches. A slight downer however, were some water stain marks caused by a previous leak above in one corner of the lounge area. When we mentioned this at reception, as we were a bit surprised that this hadnt been redecorated previously, we were all (to include son and girlfriend who were meeting us there) offered a complimentary drink in the bar that evening by way of an apology.
Undeterred by this slight niggle we booked again in February and they remembered us as previous guests, offering their King Suite at an extremely attractive rate. This was absolutely huge including both a bathroom and seperate shower room which was much appreciated, particularily when my wife and son's girfriend were both "adding the final touches" prior to going out for dinner!!

Breakfast in the restaurant was good although in the daylight the velvet style furnishings looked a little tired.

All in all this hotel is a pretty sound bet compared to the majority of other chain hotels in the City. They may not always get it 100% right first time and its boutique style may not be to everyone's taste but the staff are very pleasant and will do everything possible to rectify any issues and make your stay as pleasant as possible. No doubt we will return on future visits.

ps Secure parking across the street is very limited so you will need to get there early if its required

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANFIELDLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
353 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Malmaison Hotel
#16 of 87 in Leeds
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Address: 23-25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#15 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $72 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You'll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington - but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and fabulous breakfast. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 -inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing