We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush Boutique Hotel!”
Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The New Ellington
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Leicester, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lush Boutique Hotel!”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on the evening of Friday 2/12/2011. From the moment I arrived the service was personal and attentive. I got a good price for the night (£92.50 for a double room including full breakfast) and it compared favourably to anything else on offer. The hotel itself has been designed to a very high standard with a boutique feel to it. My room was a fab size, with a bed that must have been 7ft wide! As another reviewer has said, the room had a Nespresso coffee maker which was a nice touch and the bathroom was fitted with a full sized bath and fantastic "rain shower" as well a hand held shower. We had a drink in the Gin Bar and the ambience was really lovely, the drinks were a good price (less than £5 for a gin and tonic) which I thought was surprising given the surroundings and usual hotel prices. I didn't hear any noice at all during the night; in fact I was worried about oversleeping as it was so quiet! I really cannot think of anything to criticise; if you are in Leeds and fancy something a little bit different, do try the New Ellington!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarysezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    238
    97
    39
    25
See reviews for
46
426
23
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Nice hotel, over priced and missing silly items such as biscuits in the rooms.

The staff say that they get so many complaints and management are looking into it! Just provide them and stop the inexpensive offer becoming a cause to write a negative review.

Minimal staff on duty.

Poor room allocation created an unnecessarily noisy night.


FANTASTIC BEDS, and linen

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123xxx321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed at this hotel 21and 22 November on a short break deal 2 nights bed & breakfast and evening meal on 1st night.The room was very nice but when we arrived the blind was half up and half down and when I went to pull it up the chain was not attached to the blind so the blind just fell down to the bottom and you couldnt then pull it back up which made the room very dark.I reported this to the reception and was assured it would be fixed for when we got back, it wasnt and the room remaind in semi darkness for the rest of our stay.The room was quiet and we had no road noise at all.The meal we had in the restaurant that was included could have had more choice as there where only 3 starters 3 mains and I think 3 desserts.We ended up having something from the A la Carte menu and paying the difference so did not use the Restaurant on our 2nd night.Breakfast was good on the 1st morning but on our 2nd morning the portion was only half that of the 1st which was not good.We went to make a coffee in the room using the coffee maker only to find that it wouldnt work either and as I had no luck with the blind decided against telling anyone about this and just used the kettle.The hotel is in a quiet location and only a short walk from the train station and the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is a fantastic hotel and a real oasis within the city. The service is friendly, efficienct and understated. The rooms are larger than you would expect for a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben16983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This hotel is tucked in a back street which was surprisingly noisey during the night. The check in staff was helpful and friendly and the rooms well equipped but i was disappointed that the blind in the room was broken and the hotel knew about it but still let the room. I had to climb up to pull it down, then it wouldn't go back up. The bed head was really quite grubby and stained and the room felt quite small. When i raised the issues i didnt really think they were taken on board seriously. It just seemed a bit expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Needmoreholdiays!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed at this hotel last weekend with my girlfriend - it is in a quiet location but only a very short walk to Leeds city centre. The hotel itself was excellent - great facilities, friendly, helpful staff, and a well stocked bar which served delicious cocktails. The hotel was very quiet - there was no disturbance on any of the nights we were there, this is something we have had a problem with in different hotels in Leeds city center over weekends previously, but there were no such problems here. A special mention to the little touches in the room such as the espresso maker and awesome shower - these helped make the stay all the more enjoyable, if we return to Leeds we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thegiscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kessingland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The hotel is a short walk from the train station, located in the financial area of the city. Its ideally located on a quiet street, so you dont need to worry about noise in the evening. You can be in in the main area of Leeds, Greek Street, Shopping areas in less than a 10 minute walk.
Upon arriving you see the beauty of the hotel as you check in, gorgeous furniture in a modern yet traditional style, with a huge bar in the middle of the seating area, a beautiful setting to relax and have a drink or enjoy the music on a friday or saturday evening. The staff on reception were really helpful and polite and offered us advise on where to visit and how to get to places.
The room itself was a decent size with a big double bed full of cushions and pillows. A beautiful room, clean comfortable, stylish. The tv in the room was fitted with a DVD player, where you could borrow a film from reception or even borrow a Wii console. The whole set up of the room was incredibly lush and top class. With a Nespresso coffee machine and a cocktail set. Every little detail in the room was pure excellence, a turn down service in the evening where they left fresh water in your room down to the complimentary toiletries they offered.
The breakfast was gorgeous a great way to start your day, with top quality food and served beautifully.
I would recomend this hotel to anyone wanting a luxury stay in Leeds, it would be a very romantic hotel for a couple or to treat a friend or family memeber. I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayem26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,212 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Property: The New Ellington
Address: 23-25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You'll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington - but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and fabulous breakfast. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 -inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing