We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5* quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The New Ellington
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5* quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

We check in on Friday 24 March, hotel is amazing, nice and quiet, beds extra large, attention to detail in every area. The lounge was very lively in the evening giving the place a great atmosphere. A good bonus is the free wi-fi, other hotels in Leeds charge for theirs, sometime £15 per hour!! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    228
    96
    39
    25
See reviews for
46
417
22
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

fabulous little find, this boutique hotel has thought of everything. the room was spacious and well appointed. staff were courtious and helpful. the bed was huge! the bar area was relaxing and chic. would definitely stay agan, will recommend

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1116joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Often stay in Leeds for weekends and have stayed in a number of hotels in the city centre, this is now my favourite. 5 minutes walk to City Square, very comfortable bed, beautifully decorated throughout, friendly staff, nice bar area, off street car parking available, good value booked on Late Rooms. Can't think of any negatives,
Will definitely stay here next time we are in Leeds.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blanshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

I was taken as a birthday/valentines treat to this hotel and I can honestly say it is the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. The room was intimate (but not small) and exceptionally well decorated, the bed was huge. A lovely bathroom with a big bath and rain shower, as well as little things that we'd forgotten to bring (chanpagne and wine glasses in the room).
We loved the lovely bathrobes that were left for us in the room and the whole feel of the hotel as a chic boutique hotel, that didnt feel too over the top. The only things that let it down-parking, £14 (I think) for 24 hours and they failed to arrange the welcome package my partner had paid for (champagne etc), however this was refunded straight away. Would highly recommend this hotel, and we will likely visit it again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littleun83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Our delux room was beautifully decorated but very small for an alleged 'suite'. The staff were very courteous and discrete. We booked 'room only' and asked to see the breakfast menu the night we arrived to assess whether we would eat in or check out and get breakfast elsewhere. The prices seemed reasonable - £11.50 for full English & £7.95 for poached eggs & muffin so we decided to have breakfast in the hotel. On check out, our breakfast bill came to £33, with separate charges for tea, coffee and the toast we had ordered. Toast consisted of 3 slices of bread, admittedly cut in half, but for a whopping £4.95?! Silly us for assuming these were included? Perhaps, but had they been value for money we'd feel much less aggrieved.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101KatieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

We cannot fault this hotel, the staff are courteous and friendly without being obsequious. The hotel has a relaxed feel but is finished to a high standard. Th attention to detail is wonderful. We found the hotelcomfortable and it had everything one would expect of a luxury boutique hotel. The only slight gripe was some minor problem with operating the coffee machine- but at least there was a coffee machine...it would have been helpful to know how to fill the water container!

will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeezerWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed at the New Ellington after recommendations from friends that live in Leeds. I arrived to find no towels in bathroom, the previous occupants rubbish on the bed room floor, and the tea/coffee point covered in a layer of dust. Not at all what I expect from a 4* hotel...
After 2 nights at the hotel, I discovered my credit card had been charged for the stay (as they do a precharge on check in) not the work account. Despite flagging this with them immediately, and them assuring me they have refunded the card, it still took them 5 days before they did this! Appalling service. I have since written to the Manager, who acknowledge receipt of the letter, and told me he would be responding...a month on, and still no word! Disgusting customer service in my opinion!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JojoJam2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Quebecs
#8 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Property: The New Ellington
Address: 23-25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You'll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington - but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and fabulous breakfast. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 -inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing