We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay with a child”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Leeds South
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weekend stay with a child”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here in a family room on a Saturday night in March in connection with a sports event in Leeds and were impressed with the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. In particular on Sunday morning the usual crowd, including us, arriving just in time for a late breakfast were handled with great charm by the serving staff including Ali in particular. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheerychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    629
    309
    131
    83
See reviews for
336
781
62
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Staff at reception very helpful , breakfast staff pleasant, was a little disappointed in the bar area where the staff seem to serve local people rather than residents. Entertainment in the bar was excellent they had a boy and girl singing , in the bedroom the TV didn't have sky news only sport and the fan in the bathroom didn't work.
As for the Vinny & Vito restaurant my advise is jump in a taxi to leeds you'll get better choice better presentation and it will be cheaper including the price of the taxi

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershireDianeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have eaten at the Victory pub many times over the last couple of years, simply because it is near to home, easy to park and the food is served fairly quick. We have noticed the prices creeping up and the value of the food creeping down, especially over the last couple of months. It is a shame, but there are many other places to go to nearby, so we shall give this place a miss in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed 4 nights and ate in the victory pub first night as the restaurant was expensive. whilst not being a picky eater i was not impressed with the food at all or the service. The food is mass produced poor quality stodge. I ordered a starter and main course which was served to me at the same time. When i complained the girl just shrugged her shoulders and said sorry before walking off leaving both on the table. My colleagues were then brought main courses before starters which eventually came but was poor quality again. Never ate there again. Rooms are ok but very dark. Suggest if you stay there go for room only and drive to places neaby for meals.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redrobin105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I Have stayed at different village hotels many times and haven't had any problems This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel. My husband wanted to treat me as it was my Birthday Monday. So we booked the Sunday night deal. Where you pay £15 for the room and £50 spend in the hotel. On arriving at the hotel I noticed the Hotel lobby area was very cold because the doors were opening and closing constantly and the inner doors were wide open. Which wasn't very nice if you wanted to sit in the lounge area. We were given a room on the fourth floor, which seemed nice until we tried putting the heating on. It didn't work. My Husband rang down to reception and they said someone from Housekeeping. She told us they often have guests complaining about the heating not working but nothing is done about it. She then offered us a small heater which I think is unacceptable or we could change rooms. We did this to find the same problem in the next room. so we were given yet another room.Luckily the heater worked but the blinds were broken. This wasn't our only problem. We went down for a meal in the evening to the bar after a few drinks we ordered chicken skewers off the menu and a portion of chips. when the meal came it they only brought one meal and the chips.I could not believe this was a main course. one small skewer on a tiny amount of rice.For nearly £10. We complained and told them they had only brought one meal. Which they offered to cook another one but after trying the chicken we said no. It was dried up and tasted of nothing. It was supposed to be marinated??? They refunded the meal so all we had was a plate of chips to share. Great birthday meal.. We then went and spoke to the hotel Manger and she gave us a bottle of wine to take to the room. Next day the receptionist didn't even know about the trouble we had had. Because we hadn't spent £50 we then had to get a coffee from Starbucks. Very Disappointed Thanks for nothing Village Hotel Leeds.. We will never stay here Again!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoolzandBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Ate here with children on a monday night about 5pm, not busy at all, but service was TERRIBLE. Ordered kids cheesy pasta x 2, they come with a tomato sauce so we sent it back. They had clearly rinsed the tomato sauce off the past and put the cheese sauce on, as it came back with red bits in the cheese sauce. I had to pick out all the bits for my daughter (she doesn't like tomato).

Adult food was ok (it is overpriced for what it is), but our tables weren't cleared despite them not being busy at all. They bought the kids desserts and couldn't put them down! Simple stuff really, that they got wrong. There were also lots of things on the menu that they had run out of. Bar often unmanned, waiting ages to be served. Good job I checked the bill as the "free kids meals" had been charged.

Overall, seriously unimpressed as the rest of the hotel is really nice. Will definitely not bother again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauladoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My fiancée and I had a meal deal booked through Living Social that included two courses with a drink for two. We took her ten year old daughter with us so just had to pay for the children's meal which was excellent value for money. The service could not have been better. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we all had a thoroughly good meal. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
7.0 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
7.7 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#15 of 87 in Leeds
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
4.7 mi away
Leeds Marriott Hotel
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
1,988 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Leeds
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#20 of 87 in Leeds
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Leeds South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Leeds South

Property: Village Hotel Leeds South
Address: Capitol Boulevard | Tingley, Leeds LS27 0TS, England (Formerly De Vere Village Leeds South)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#8 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Leeds South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Leeds South is located just off Junction 28 from the M62, 6 miles from Leeds Train Station and 12 miles from Leeds Bradford Airport. Nearby attractions include National Media Museum, Leeds City Centre and Leeds Armouries. Village Hotel Leeds South has 115 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Leeds South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Leeds South Hotel Leeds
Village Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing