We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yet another great night at a de vere hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Leeds South
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Fuerteventura, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yet another great night at a de vere hotel”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed at this hotel new years eve,also had the gala party.Everything was absolutly first rate from booking in to leaving the morning after . The facilities are first class especialy the the pool. the staff really put on a greatshow to make sure everything went well and the food was tops.
well done to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    646
    313
    135
    84
See reviews for
341
806
63
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I can only endorse chat54's Christmas experience.We stayed on 24th and 25th December,whilst visiting family.It is probably not a particularly good time to review a hotel - but here goes. When we arrived (3pm on the 24th) had great difficulty finding a parking space, the place was absolutely heaving as were many of the mainly young people milling around outside.Check in was OK and the room was a decent size and clean. But boy,was it cold.We fiddled around with the controls,although the light wasn't great in that area. When we returned later in the evening,it was no warmer,so my husband went down to reception.There is apparently a very sophisticated computerised system, and reception could see the situation in every room. Ours showed 28C,which was what we'd desperately turned it up to - but no hot air was coming out.Same thing happened Christmas night, but they brought us a heater,which improved things.

Could see no form of heating in the bathroom, which was like an icebox.No heated towel rails or anything (and it was an upper deck room)

Have to agree with a previous review re the siting of the kettle and tray,nowhere near a plug socket -how daft is that?

Can only say that the hotel was just about adequate - no more

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmokeysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Decor is modern and pool and gym facilities are 5*. Staff are very polite and friendly. Hotel is superb and very posh looking. The staff on reception are exceptional. Food is not the best, high price, small quantities. Rooms are modern and come with a plasma and walk in shower. Could do with some polish though. My only downfall would be that Pledge needs to come into the cleaning procedure.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BrookS97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a great hotel that is even better when you upgrade to an Upperdeck room, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. For an extra £20 you get so much more for your money worth it every time, a large comfortable room, free Sky Movies (yes really, imagine not having to pay extra for overpriced hotel movies, genius!!!), fabulously soft Egyptian cotton sheets, great coffee and brilliant Bose sound system, again so worth it. Stayed here after a conference and low and behold the conference area is great too, free soda, coffees & teas and muffins, were available throughout the day, a very good lunch was served which is oh so important when you are lagging after a few hours of listening. Love the casual atmosphere with what looks like designer touches especially in the general areas and the leisure facilities are great too. Excellent dinner, parking facilities and staff (I was allowed the use the reception phone for as long as I wanted) and that was the only downside to the hotel, the mobile reception is awful, they need some decent Wi-Fi had to borrow the reception phone or go outside to make any calls and as I was away on business I had quite a few calls to make during the course of the day. Overall I would certainly stay again; my colleagues and I were all impressed!

Room Tip: Upperdeck room every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed on a number of occasions at the De Vere Leeds South and found the service, quality of the standard rooms and breakfast to be excellent for the money.

We have paid far more for rooms in the Leeds area and they have not been to the standard if the De Vere Village.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Visitukhotels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My partner and I stopped in this hotel thinking that as it was DeVere venue then it would offer a certain standard of service. Hmm if you like to be in the middle of lots of people and masses of children and feel like you are in a shopping arcade when you leave your room then this is the place for you. We stopped in an upper deck room and it was ok, heating was pretty useless and we were told that none could really help and Maintenance had left, we paid well in advance for the room because it was on deal I was told. Staff were ok and once you got through the lift door it was acceptable. Breakfast was taken on both days we stopped and on both days the cutlery was pretty dirty, we even had an issue trying to find a clean plate the second morning, not sure that breakfast buffet would be the same quality if you had turned up later as it was just sat there under lights? Value for money, pretty poor in my opinion quite disappointed as it was a DeVere venue. However fulfilled our needs but it is fair to say that we will probably not stop there again unless we have to! However if you are 20-35 then this is place for you as the hotel buzzes quite literally.

Room Tip: Uless you need SkySports then the Upperdeck is not really worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batley
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went for the boxing day lunch, and it was average. Whilst the food was nice, it was not hot, and the plates were cold so that did not help either. Profit ruled here, so we felt very hurried, as we only had the table for 1.5 hours, all very well, but most people used this as a family gathering so this was just no long enough. Beware the drinks prices, we were charged over £10 for a single glass of prosecco.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BatleySrilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#20 of 87 in Leeds
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,021 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#15 of 87 in Leeds
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Leeds South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Leeds South

Property: Village Hotel Leeds South
Address: Capitol Boulevard | Tingley, Leeds LS27 0TS, England (Formerly De Vere Village Leeds South)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#8 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Leeds South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Leeds South is located just off Junction 28 from the M62, 6 miles from Leeds Train Station and 12 miles from Leeds Bradford Airport. Nearby attractions include National Media Museum, Leeds City Centre and Leeds Armouries. Village Hotel Leeds South has 115 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Village Hotel Leeds South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Leeds South Hotel Leeds
Village Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing