We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting rellies weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Leeds South
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Visiting rellies weekend”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed last weekend and paid the extra for upper deck room. Very clean but some surfaces dusty (like a previous reviewer - wonder if it's static). Unfortunately the tea & coffee weren't refilled next day, had to ask and it was brought up straight away, 'glasses' (in inverts cos plastic) weren't replaced either and I'd thrown previous day's in the bin. I know that they plug the Starbucks thing - great cos you get good sized mugs for your brew but it would be really good to have some proper spoons too (rather than the wooden stirrers).

Check in very good and efficient (Kimberly), requested a quiet room - got 4th floor front, there was some noise from people having a good time in the outside bar area but didn't stop me from sleeping and I slept really well in the lovely comfy bed (must find out the manufacturer). It was very hot when I first got into the room (it had been a hot day - the windows had been closed) and struggled with aircon as no instructions nor a hotel guide for meal times, etc. - lucky Kimberley gave me to run down on times, etc. Pool was excellent - I really like a proper sized pool, only 3 of us in there at 9pm didn't use the gym though so can't comment.

Breakfast was busy both days, reasonable choice and constantly replenished, staff very friendly and they didn't rush you away. Really good pot of tea!

Unfortunately didn't have time to eat in the restaurant or bar but lots of people were, I did have a drink and thought £7 for a glass of red wine was a bit pricey, there were offers if you wanted more . . . but I didn't.

Would definitely recommend and it was an excellent location for the reason for my stay and will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cshore2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    629
    309
    131
    83
See reviews for
336
781
62
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel is situated on an industrial park just off the motorway. Arrived early ,room was ready. Check in was swift and courtious.
Our room was on floor 2 above the reception area . We were allocated a disabled room with a wet room it had a quite musty smell.However it was clean. Toiletries are dispensed from wall mounted units. We had a twin bedroom there was no space between the beds!There was a large wall mounted TV and a fully stocked hospitality tray. The room had plenty of storage and aircon too. A taxi ride into Leeds city centre is approx £10 and is easily booked through reception.
Unfortunately there was no space at the tribute night or we would have been tempted to join ,it seemed great value.However we decided to use the leisure facility for an early evening swim. The changing facilities were clean and spacious . The pool of a generous size with the sauna and steam room an added bonus. The cold and warm jacuzzi were great after a hard day shopping.
The bar was very busy but seemed well staffed. We chose the busiest time for breakfast but our names were dutifully written down ,we were shown to a table with tea and coffee and called for when a table was available. The breakfast whilst self service buffet style was plentiful and hot. My only gripe being the laid back toaster!
Check out was swift .
To summerise this hotel delivers comfortable accomodation at reasonable rates near to the city centre. I would come again but perhaps either upgrade the room or ask for a room away from the reception area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillielancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had my hen weekend at this hotel last weekend. We had 9 rooms in total over two nights. We didn't move out of the hotel, fantastic breakfast, excellent pool, cocktails in the afternoon and meal, abba tribute band and disco at night. All at an affordable price. Everyone of up had a fantastic time, some saying it was the best time they had had for a long time. Ten out of ten all in all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evilpixiejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I recently used this hotel for a large work event, the staff in particular Steven Bailey, were brilliant. They couldn't do enough for us and made us all feel very welcome. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel, it has a very relaxed feel and as well as excellent facilities the rooms are very clean and fitted to a high standard.

Room Tip: From what I heard from all the staff staying they are all good functional rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in an upper deck room which was lovely. The bed was very comfy and everything else was lovely. However there was a lot of dust on the surfaces, which was disappointing.

The breakfast was average but disappointing when there were no veggie options for hot breakfast.

Overall would stay again as good value for money and a good weekend get away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L-B2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had our annual family weekend away here and have to say the restaurant staff were absolutely brilliant, they dealt with all our requests and as we had pre ordered our meals arrived speedily and correct, friendly and made our time really relaxed and enjoyable
The hotel staff generally were helpful and friendly, some rooms better than others but overall a pleasant stay

Room Tip: we upgraded to a upper deck room which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann6154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
205 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed as a group of 4 travellers at the DeVere Leeds South for one night as part of a business trip - our supplier came to the hotel, met us there, and rather than organising to go anywhere else we opted to stay in the hotel bar/restaurant and get some food and drink, and ended up spending the entire evening there on the patio outside the hotel bar. Food was good although not exceptional, just a bit surprised that all food orders had to be in by 9.30pm.

All our rooms were very well appointed, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was trouble free. We didn't use the leisure facilities, but these were obviously popular with both guests and external patrons.

It's obviously not a city centre hotel but conveniently located on the SW fringe of Leeds which was close to where we needed to be.

The only minor gripe was that I had to queue for a couple of minutes for checkout. But other than that it was a very pleasant trip and stay.

Room Tip: I doubt there's much difference, you generally get a good view of a car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plunet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
7.0 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
7.7 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#15 of 87 in Leeds
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
4.7 mi away
Leeds Marriott Hotel
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
1,988 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Leeds
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#20 of 87 in Leeds
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Leeds South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Leeds South

Property: Village Hotel Leeds South
Address: Capitol Boulevard | Tingley, Leeds LS27 0TS, England (Formerly De Vere Village Leeds South)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#8 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Leeds South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Leeds South is located just off Junction 28 from the M62, 6 miles from Leeds Train Station and 12 miles from Leeds Bradford Airport. Nearby attractions include National Media Museum, Leeds City Centre and Leeds Armouries. Village Hotel Leeds South has 115 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Leeds South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Leeds South Hotel Leeds
Village Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing