We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub, full of character”
Review of The Adelphi

The Adelphi
Ranked #145 of 1,828 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Walk through the big Victorian doors and prepare to be wooed by this popular Leeds local. Sumptuous period touches combined with contemporary flourishes and a diverse clientele create a friendly, alternative vibe that tempts people back again and again. As Tetley Brewery's original flagship pub, The Adelphi has impeccable cask ale credentials, with a great selection of three local and two guest ales that rotate weekly - and four individually decked out rooms in which to savour them. Plus we've always got something up our sleeve to keep you entertained.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely pub, full of character”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great local pub for afterwork drinks and meeting friends. Full of character and a good selection of drinks with a nice little beer garden tucked away out back. Highly recommended

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    116
    24
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Friendly staff gem of a Victrian pub”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Visited for a drink mainly because quite near Malmaison and had a food reservation there. This pub is a lovely type of local place with helpful friendly staff. The menu looked fabulous and food served really good I will definitey revisit to sample their impressive menu

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakirayork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“not really sure what to make of it”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

While visiting leeds with my family we we're told about this pub,so we booked in for sunday lunch.To be honest the food was amazing,i had roast beef and the others had roast chicken and there we're no complaints at all.We all really loved the food but the gentleman who was serving us,well it seemed to us that he just couldn't wait for us to finish our food and get out of the place.we hadn't even finished our meal when he came with the bill.he said there was no rush for us to finish the meal but that's not the impression we all got,still it has given us all a few laughs about the service since we came home.A good pub with good food but the staff need a bit of training in the hospitality side of things

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
“The Pub that 'doesn't do' beermats”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Beer is nice but what kind of a pub doesn't have beermats? When I asked for one was told 'we don't do them' so you end up with nothing to put your pint on and have to be very careful to avoid spillage - leads to tables being covered in spilt drinks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bewildering”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

As a result of the amazing reviews we decided to go for sunday lunch. It was very old fashioned from the outside. we walked in, it had a kind of working mens club feel to it. there was a dining room at the back. The whole place smelt of dettol. I'm sure the food is great but we decided that the place wasn't for us. We were put off by the smell and the whole look of the place. It certainly was not for me. I think this is somewhere for a very down to earth diner. I think to be fair I was looking for somewhere much more upmarket. This is not meant to be a direct criticism, however I don't want others to make the mistake we made in thinking this is a gastropub/bistro type place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank harrogatefoody-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Adelphi also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Adelphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing