We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, but pricey..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Tree - Headingley

Olive Tree - Headingley
Ranked #267 of 1,790 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
554 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Good food, but pricey..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Easy to find roadside location ...Parking can be a bit of a problem, so be prepared to have to park up side streets when busy. We had dinner here with friends, the venue is on three floors, unfortunately we were sat at the bottom of the steps to the kitchen....certainly not conducive to a relaxed atmosphere, when all you here is shouting and clattering of plates etc and the staff passing all the time....A must for me, I will make sure I ask to be seated away in another area if we visit again....The toilets are on the upper floor, so not sure it is disabled or elderly friendly......The food was excellent, good sized portions without over facing you....can't fault the staff service and food, but it is expensive, especially when service charge is added onto the bill.....A real sting in the tale....be ware....We only had two courses and 7 glasses of wine between us and the bill was inexcess of £130......A positive note, we were not hurried to finish, so another party could sit down...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank babe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    81
    48
    36
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

whilst my wife and i could not fault the food and service having to pay £15 for a lamb shank and then have to pay extra for vegetables makes it a very expensive meal.In the UK at the moment we have excellent fresh vegetables at very good value so this does not make sense charging extra

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We had an early flight the next day and didn't fancy cooking. So went to the olive tree. The food was superb and service although quite busy was brilliant. We look forward to going again efharistoume xx

Helpful?
Thank DawnBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Yummy good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend came here on a Wowcher deal. The food was absolutely delicious. The staff were perfectly friendly but I feel they were paying more attention to the regulars than us. We didn't get asked how our food was till we had nearly finished it though. I do feel that the food could have been served slightly quicker as we waited over half an hour for it to come, but still a lovely evening all in all. One thing I object to is a service charge being added to the bill, especially when the service we received was the bare minimum. We still paid it though cos my boyfriend insisted :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joxlee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went on New Years Eve, booked last minute and sorted a table for us no problem. Service was great all night. Didn't know it was a set menu and a bit nervous to start but all (4!) courses were lovely - definitely worth the money, just a shame there was no plate smashing. Have been before and always enjoy the food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SamA_JoeyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Tree - Headingley also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Olive Tree - Headingley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing