We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vintage Carriages Trust Museum of Rail Travel
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A Real Delight - Not To Be Missed!

Now called Railway History at Ingrow. We found it by chance, and are glad we did. There are two... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
ACROTERION
,
Southport, United Kingdom
Fascinating, well worth a visit

I'm no train enthusiast myself, but found the visit here really interesting. There are lots of old... read more

Reviewed September 29, 2018
michael_b_2
,
Edgware, United Kingdom
Read all 106 reviews
  
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
88
17
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
17
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rover ticket keighley and worth valley railway old railway steam train railway children train driver engine shed railway history wooden seats well stocked shop great collection rail discoveries railway signs on display free entry great place to visit ingrow
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 105 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Now called Railway History at Ingrow. We found it by chance, and are glad we did. There are two sheds, the KWVR station at Ingrow, a shop, and an education coach.

Not big, but sometime museums are just too large! There are four locos and some carriages, also signs and posters, and info boards, as well as audio/video features. For the real enthusiast, there are also metal signs, books, and thousands of railway mags on sale.

The carriages are especially pleasing, since you can go in and sit inside, sampling the range between wooden benches and opulent first class seating with a private toilet!

A great attraction, whether or not you are an ardent railway enthusiast. Helpful, friendly staff too!

1  Thank ACROTERION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Public Relations Manager at Vintage Carriages Trust Museum of Rail Travel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Hello ACROTERION,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope you will visit is again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

I'm no train enthusiast myself, but found the visit here really interesting. There are lots of old train carriages that you can look at and get inside and sit down in. We had a gentleman who guided us round and gave us lots of information. Most interesting for me was to see what an old first class carriage was like, with sumptuous armchairs! There's also lots of railway memorabilia. It's run by a group of enthusiasts, and you can tell how dedicated they are. There's also a workshop at the back which trains and units that they are working on. It's a really interesting place to visit - much more interesting than the National Railway Museum in York by the way, where all you can do is look at the trains from the outside. Definitely recommended if you're in the area, or have an interest in trains, or both!

Thank michael_b_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Public Relations Manager at Vintage Carriages Trust Museum of Rail Travel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Hello michael_b_2,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our volunteer-managed museum. Thank you very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Visited mid week when it was quiet, found it very interesting and took back memories of travelling in years gone by on many of the carriages on display. Certainly worth a visit for the "older generations" to rekindle memories and for "younger" generations to enjoy a close up look at rail travel of the passed. The staff were extremely helpful which added to our enjoyment during the visit.

Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Public Relations Manager at Vintage Carriages Trust Museum of Rail Travel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Hello Bill W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our volunteer-managed museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

I came here because it was included in my day Rover ticket. It's a large railway shed filled with old railway carriages. You can enter some of the carriages and often hear a commentary about a bygone age. Some of these carriages have been used in films.

There is also an audio presentation showing old footage of the stations and trains.

Staff were helpful and friendly and I'm pleased I took time out to visit. No eating facilities nearby although the museum stocks small snacks. They also have a large collection of books.

Thank Tarah2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Public Relations Manager at Vintage Carriages Trust Museum of Rail Travel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Hello Tarah2325, We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

Went on amazing visit to this place a few days ago, saw many of the exciting loco’s including “tiny” & “Black Five” and all of the staff were exceptionally friendly, will 100% be visiting this wonderful place again with the grandkids

Thank nathanmM3120AH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

I am not a locomotive enthusiast but being a little older (51) I found it interesting to compare things here to what I remember from when I was little and my nana used to arrive by train in Sydney from Melbourne. I will make an effort to go back while I'm in the area and will be happy to pay the small entry fee again. I particularly loved the visual and audio recordings depicting early train travel.

Thank JoAnne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Public Relations Manager at Vintage Carriages Trust Museum of Rail Travel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Hello JoAnne L, Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you found the audio and video presentations enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Brilliant little museum with old railway carriages - many over 100 years old & beautifully restored. You can get inside & sit down and there are lots of interesting signs and displayed, plus a shop

Thank Davancar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Public Relations Manager at Vintage Carriages Trust Museum of Rail Travel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Hello Davancar, We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will visit us again. Thank you very much for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Amazing what volunteers can achieve restoring old coaches to pristine standard, great collection of historic artefacts lovingly kept, well worth a diversion to view.

Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Public Relations Manager at Vintage Carriages Trust Museum of Rail Travel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Hello Charles F, Many thanks for taking the time to review our volunteer-managed museum. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

The Vintage Carriages themselves are a good enough reason to visit, but along with the other railway memorabilia on display makes this a great place to visit, and the parking is free!!!

Thank menubuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Public Relations Manager at Vintage Carriages Trust Museum of Rail Travel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Hello menubuster, Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope that you will visit us again when you are next in the West Yorkshire area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

Great collection of coaches and lots of other railwayana, well laid out, accessible and visitor friendly. At the far end of the museum you can see into the carriage repair workshops and see work in progress.

Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Public Relations Manager at Vintage Carriages Trust Museum of Rail Travel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Hello Chris W, Thank you very much for your review, and your kind comments. We hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews