We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the money it's fine !!!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalesgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dalesgate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keighley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“For the money it's fine !!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I won't put how much I payed as I don't think it's fair but on certain nights when quiet I think your able to negotiate a bit, the hotel as a whole is dated !!!! But for the money I thinks it's fine, for food u can walk left out of the hotel to a nice resturant or past that is a pub which is ok ish !!!! Defiantly ok if u need a b&b but its no destination hotel !!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livelife79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    14
    12
    4
See reviews for
14
34
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having read the reviews I was expecting the worst! However, it wasn't that bad. I chose this hotel as it was pet friendly.

I'll start with the positives: its cheap, nice helpful friendly staff, lovely cooked breakfast, nice comfy bed, room looked clean and fresh, ample parking at the rear. I stayed in a loft room at the front, it had a sloping ceiling but I didnt find this to be a problem. Everything in the room was in full working order. The furniture looked new and there was plenty of storage space.

Negatives: PILLOWS! They are made of some sort of rubber and are very uncomfortable, decor is dated- woodchip paper! creaky floorboards, shower is like a trickle.

Overall, it has everything you need and for the price I think its worthwhile. Very worthwhile if you have dogs as they stay free of charge. Its rated as a 2 star, if you want something better -pay more and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chick14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Having mucked up my calendar, I ended up booked for two nights here but was only able to stay for one. I got a very friendly, polite call asking me where I was when I forgot to turn up on the first night, and they bent over backwards to make sure I could get in on the second night when I didn't have time to check in.

Not only that, but they refused to charge me for the first, missed, night, even though it cost them the use of a room in the middle of summer.

Fantastic people, wonderful service.

Room Tip: If you are easily disturbed in your sleep, ask for a room on the side away from the road. It really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelc_nash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

First impressions were that it was a nice hotel with a clean room and comfortable beds. Bathroom was clean but old fashioned looking. First use of the toilet found that it didn't flush properly and the shower took a long time to produce hot water - no problem once the water heated up. It was raining heavily when we arrived and on taking the car to the rear car park we found deep ruts on the gravelled surface and therefore big puddles for my wife to pick her way through. Moving the twin beds together we found crisp packets on the floor so obviously the cleaning was not as thorough as first thought.

On the good side, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

As already stated the outside looks very tired and unkept. I realised things were not 100% when I had to ring the front door bell to get entrance. Inside was quite dated as well with my room on the top floor at the rear. If looking over what I think are council flats, with the hills in the background, is a view to die for then sorry I would rather not croak it just yet.
There are no evening meals so I had to drive towards Keighley to find somewhere to eat and breakfast in the morning certainly was alright with a cheery young lady waitress who was this hotels best point.
The room itself was clean and tidy, the bed comfortable but there was just no-one else to be seen in the building which made it feel like you were Billy-no-mates. You certainly would not want to drink at the small bar on your own, that is if you could find someone to serve you.
Sorry about being so negative but there is nothing about the Dalesgate that would make me want to return, credit where credit is due........see my other reviews.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Keighley hotels

South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was not sure what to expect when we booked to stay at this hotel as the reviews were not very favouable but I can say that we were very pleased with our stay, our room was spacious and well furnished, very clean and a lovely comfortable bed. the views out of the window over the hills was to die for.Breakfast was of a very good standard served by the most cheerful waitress that you could ever meet. this hotel is well situated for sightseeing as it is possible to get public transport from just outside of the hotel to Skipton, Haworth via keighley and even as far as Burnley. If looking for a good place to dine out try the Dog & Gun at Colne Road, Glusburn. very good food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stokesrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

stayed at this lovely hotel for one night.my husband and i had a double room and our teenage daughter had a single room. the owner was very friendly and welcoming.
rooms plenty big enough and spotlessly clean nice comfy beds with fresh bed linen BUT the pillows are hell! they are just lumps of hard foam with no 'give' whatsoever!. two pillows and you are too high, one and you are two low.they really need binning and replacing as they are SO uncomfortable!
breakfast was excellent! prompt, friendly and efficient service. plenty of choice and the cooked breakfast was beautifully cooked. fresh coffee and as much toast as you wanted. nothing was too much trouble.
there is a free large car park to the rear this was rather muddy as it had been raining but we managed fine.
i would definitely recommend this hotel and will visit again but i'll definitely bring my own pillows next time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cleoanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keighley
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford North (Bingley) Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
5.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
3.9 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalesgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalesgate Hotel

Property: Dalesgate Hotel
Address: 406 Skipton Road | Utley, Keighley BD20 6HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keighley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dalesgate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales, Bronte Country & only 10 minutes drive from the pretty market town of Skipton; The Dalesgate Hotel offers the ideal base for both business & Pleasure long or short term. The privately owned and independent Hotel was originally the residence of the minister to the chapel which stood on part of the site. It now has 20 en-suite bedrooms with all the usual amenities. It is easily accessible by road, rail & Leeds Bradford Airport is only a short distance away. In July 2014 the "Tour de France" will pass close by the Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Dalesgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalesgate Hotel Keighley, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing