We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,267)
Filter reviews
1,267 results
Traveler rating
984
181
56
26
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
984
181
56
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barhot tubafternoon teasanctuary spathe secret gardencomplimentary sherrythe main househoney potfour poster bedstrawberriesgreenwood roomprivate gardenspa roombreakfast in bedhoneypot roomon arrivalquiche
Filter
Updating list...
1,187 - 1,192 of 1,267 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2009

First the positives. The building itself is lovely. Just a short walk from the centre of Haworth and the room was clean and very pleasant.
However, I have to agree with the previous reviews regarding the attitude of the owners. Found both to be cold and unwelcoming, bordering on downright rude at times. Not a good attitude to have in their line of business.We got the impression that they wanted our money but didn't really want us there. We paid a lot for the room and wanted to be made to feel welcome-we didnt!
Would not recommend it to anyone for this reason.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank martha59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

The Ashmount is a lovely Hotel, Luxurious but homely. Ray & Gill seemed to think of every thing to make this place extra special. The room was tastefully decorated and furnished with a feast on the hospitality tray. Finishing touches like chocolates on the lavishly dressed king size bed, jar of home made cookies and lead crystal decanter of sherry on the side made us feel so welcome. The breakfast was to die for - first time we've not been able to finish breakfast due to the quantity and the quality was first class. The private garden exclusive to our room containing sundeck and hot tub was like a little piece of Heaven. This has to be one of the most romantic places we have ever stayed and situated in a beautiful little town where it seemed time had stood still, so much to see and take in but we were so enjoying the luxury of the Ashmount we will have to go back again soon to explore the the surroundings more. For that special occasion, romantic get away or even just tranquil short stay in pur comfort and luxury we would recommend the Ashmount Country House in Haworth as a must.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueyesno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Our short stay took place at the beginning of the month during a heatwave. Whilst any British hotel might struggle in such weather, it was far from satisfactory that the proprietors’ recommended solution was to leave the windows open and wedge the room door open, even in our absence (the room was not provided with a safe). Despite being one of the most expensive in the house (£145 per night), our room, The Honeypot, faced on to a busy main road whilst cheaper ones had pleasant views over the garden and countryside. Thus a hot stay was also a noisy one.

Judging by the fact that it was the first thing to which our attention was drawn on arrival, the gimmicky whirlpool bath was supposed to be a major attraction, although it was situated in a most unergonomic bathroom, with nowhere near the wash-basin to put shaving tackle, makeup etc.

The young girls serving were pleasant and polite, the proprietress less so: when my wife commented on the excessive price for such an indifferent room, she was told, without a hint of apology, that we “were paying for the whirlpool bath”.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedelec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I stumbled on this hotel whilst searching the internet for a place to take my wife for her 30th birthday. After reading the reviews and the hotels web site I opted for a 2 night stay in The Secret Garden room.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the service we received from Ray, Gill and all their staff was exceptional.
The room was fantastic. It was spottlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable.
The hotel is situated only a very short stroll from the village centre where you will find lots of lovely little shops and places to eat and drink.
The best part of our stay was the the hot tub, the breakfast and also the surprise ''just us'' party which was great value for money.
Our only regret was not booking more than a 2 night stay.
Without doubt we will be returning to the Ashmount in the not too distant future.
Mr & Mrs Bray.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

my husband and i choose this b@b from the website, expecting much more than we recieved. there was no friendly welcome, the room was not to 5 star standard. with mould in the bathroom , and cigarette burns in the furniture the list could go on . But the thing that upset us the most was that we were called away because a family member had been involved in a accident,. Rays reaction was cold and uncaring.. All that mattered to him was charging us full price for a room that we had spent less than an hour in, and used nothing but a tea cup ! As we rushed from the hotel, ray emerged from the dining room like "fagin " with payment already taken! We would not reccomend this greedy heartless man and his b@b to anybody .

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scarlett02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC1022, owner at Ashmount Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2009

When a room is booked it is a contract between the guest and the bed & breakfast. If the guest can not stay then payment has to be made holiday insurance is always recommended to all guests booking with us.
On this occasion the room had been used for far more than 1 hour - infact the bed & bathroom had all been used!!!
What a shame we can't please all our guests and give them free use of Ashmount for a couple oh hours!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews