We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time and so different”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashmount Country House
Ranked #2 of 20 Haworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at the Ashmount. We stayed there 2 years ago in the Retreat at No 21 and enjoyed it so much always said we would return one day. Unfortunately our long awaited return was very disappointing we stayed in the same room and found it was quite rundown from our last visit still the same facilities but all were very tired and in need of some tender loving care, however the main disappointment was the hot tub which we were so looking forward to. The chemicals that had been put into the hot tub were so severe that you could hardly open your eyes they stun so much which made it impossble to use. The floor had been tiled since our last visit but not finish off we found the floor so slippy when exiting the hot tub and thought this extremely dangerous. We only hope the owners take on board our comments as it can be such a lovely place and when people are paying such alot of money surely they do deserve the best facilities that Ashmount can offer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC1022, General Manager at Ashmount Country House, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Tracey,

We would firstly like to apologise for the problems you encountered. Your comments regarding the room have been duly noted.

We would like to point out that the hot tub is maintained daily which includes checking chemical levels and adjusting them as necessary. For health and safety we maintain a record of these chemical levels and when we checked your hot tub immediately after your departure the chlorine levels were within acceptable boundaries.

Ashmount Country House did offer compensation which you accepted when you made us aware of these problems upon check-out.

Once more we do apologise for the disappointment you experienced and shall do our upmost to ensure all relevant issues are dealt with.

Kind regards
Wayne and Claire Saud
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

very warm welcome by Claire,friendly staff ,room clean and comfy, afternoon coffee and cake a let down,evening meal (steak) first class but £4.50 each extra a bit mean,breakfast full english first class.the things that should be improved the old power shower leaked and meant you could only use it as an ordinary one and ran cold before my wife had finished( 4 more guests complained of no hot water) the warm welcome disappeared at 10.20 pm when Claire (hope s to be part owner soon) came into the lounge and switched the fire off saying she had to be up early but we (6 guests) were sat chatting ,but commenting we could stay as long as we liked but of course with no fire the atmosphere went very chilly and we all went to our rooms.next morning we never saw Claire but I mention the shower,the response I got guided me not to mention we never got the pre dinner champaign cocktail promised,would I stay again yes if the above where put right but in honesty I feel they wont be so NO

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC1022, General Manager at Ashmount Country House, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear A M,

We are very disappointed to hear of all these problems AFTER you've checked out.

The shower was mentioned to my husband upon check-out and my husband's response was "I'll have to get my screwdriver out and take a look at it". This was not meant as a flippant comment but a gesture to assure you that it would be looked into.

As you are aware there was an issue with the boiler late in the afternoon during your stay. All efforts were made to ensure that our guests had hot water. The issue was resolved within 4 hours. However we would like to point out that Tripadvisor is a tool for YOU to relay YOUR experiences and not to use hearsay as a tool against our business.

With regards to the fire in the lounge we have a responsibility to all of our guests in regards to health and safety. It is clearly a hazard to leave the fire on whilst there are no staff present. I asked you all if it was okay to switch the fire off and the response was "I wanted to get up to bed anyway" so to hear this post departure is somewhat surprising. I did advise you all that you could remain in the lounge for as long as you wanted. The radiator was also on and none of you were sat around the fire. The room is far from chilly!

We are very sorry that you did not receive your Champagne cocktail. A quick word to your waitress or when I came into the restaurant and checked satisfactory levels with every guest - would have resolved the issue immediately and you would have received your cocktail within minutes.

Regards
Claire Saud
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

stayed here for one night 19th feb had a very warm welcome Dr Mackrakens room some lovely touches ie sherry, tea lights, dressing gowns, homemade biscuits, hot chocolate. Had a lovely stay the food excellent could have eaten more, it was only made obvious we were on a special deal when the desserts arrived ours were alot smaller.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campanellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC1022, General Manager at Ashmount Country House, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Campanellis,

Thank you for your review.

We would like to point out that all our dishes are made to the same standard regardless of whether guests are paying full price or discounted voucher price.

Kind regards
Claire and Wayne Saud
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and myself had a 2 night stay 25th and 26th Feb to celebrate my wife's birthday and following trip advisor reviews and comments on how excellent the meals were I also booked the 25th in the Ashmount for evening meal. On booking in we were shown to our room by a very polite young lady and this was mirrored through our stay by the remainder of the young staff on duty.

The room we had booked was Tranquility in the converted terrace house arrangement over the road form the main hotel building. This turned out to be a nice spacious room with a double bath arrangement off the bedroom area and with a rear view overlooking the moors (however spolit my wifes looking at the views as you couldn't actually get to the window area unless you stood in one of the baths!).

Plenty of hot water and heating on what were a couple of chilly nights although couldn't help overhearing a number of guests staying in the main hotel building speaking to the hotel management about lack of hot water apparantly due to boiler issues or similar.

The evening meal was to be blunt a disappointment - first courses of scallops (3 very small scallops for £7.95 and very bland in taste at that) and goats cheese dish (minimual in content) set the scene. Main courses of sea bass fillet was nicely cooked however belly pork and black pudding were overcooked to the point of being burnt. On being presented with the dessert menu it was clear that 50% of the desserts were not available including the cheese board options so we decided against having a second / third choice option. When the young waitress asked if our meal had been ok we said not really (with an intention to speaking to the manager) as we had already seen another couple who had expressed their dissatisfaction to her earlier in the evening and we felt a little sorry for her.

Retiring to the lounge area we subsequently spoke to the manager and expressed our thoughts on the meal in general - met with comments that the usual chef was unavailable due to an accident and a replacement had been brought in. On our commenting that if the hotel couldn't provide the same quality and choice of courses then the hotel really shouldn't be charging the significant prices they were doing (or should at least inform guests so that they could make alternative arrangements should thay wish to) we were met with a half hearted apology and advised that the price of one of the main courses would be knocked off the bill.

Cooked breakfasts on both days were very average and disappointing in a lack of choice in regard to yogurts, croissants etc as an alternative to the cereal choice and a very lack lustre fresh fruit salad (can only assume that if you weren't first down to take advantage of kiwi fruit, strawberry, grapefruit etc then the hotel didn't refresh the fruit salad leaving basic apple, hard plum and pear as your choice).

Overall opinion is that for the prices the hotel is charging the meal arrangements sadly let down our experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weefy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked the Ashmount after finding it on google, it looked fantastic. We had not had a break from our own Catering/Hospitality business since the first Monday in December 2012 and were looking forward to something special. The "Hideaway Spa" room was our choice for the stay, looked good when we first entered and the young girl who showed us the room was very polite.
When we settled in we discovered the Jacuzzi had a large piece of plastic floating in it, cob webs on the ceiling above the bed, and for the cost, noise from the room above, there TV, conversation and every step over the floorboards.
We booked evening meal for 7:15pm, ordered our food and waited, our starters came, soup for myself presented in a small china tea cup with a teaspoon to eat it with, main course arrived but was only average in presentation, taste and speed of service. We ordered deserts, and waited, we actually waited over 40 mins before getting up and retiring to get our own drinks as know one had bothered, a brief discussion about the service was held with the owner who came across as uninterested.
At checkout we were presented with our bill, incorrect, we had been charged for drinks we had not been served. The Drinks Check presented to us also showed different drinks booked to our table which were not as written on our final bill.

All in all, after paying just short of £300 for a 1 night stay we are extremely disappointed, no effort was made appease us as we left, just a comment from the owner as he walked past whilst his Manager was taking our money "Its not that bad" from our point of view "Yes it was!!"

Room Tip: "Based on our experience, go somewhere else"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grahame N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked into the secret garden room as a present for my boyfriends 21st birthday. The room is lovely and comfortable, and the hot tub was beautifully warm. I booked to have afternoon tea, which on request was served in our room. This was lovely as we were able to relax and enjoy the room throughout the day. My boyfriend and I really enjoy eating out so I booked into the restaurant for the evening meal. The food is wonderful, well prepared with fresh ingredients to look and taste like a work of art. One final mention is the staff, who are attentive without being overbearing, which is perfect when you want privacy as well as good service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had booked using a one night deal and for the price (it was still quite costly) we had quite high expectations. We were shown to the room (spa room) and it were really disappointed. It was dark burgundy with a dark black roof and the light was above the canopy of the four poster bed. Also, there was damp on the wall near the window which is really not acceptable for a 5 star hotel. The hot tub area was in what can only be described as a back yard area and not picturesque at all as the pictures show. There was plaster peeling off the walls. The a-la carte evening meal was remotely average for the price. We were even charged supplements for ordering scallops and steak, even though the deal was 3 course a'la carte meal. The waitress was rushing plates away before you had even put your cutlery down and the couple next to us agreed it all felt rushed. I had the 3 cheese platter and biscuits and one piece of cheese had grey mold all down the side (it was a chedder or similiar). When I pointed this out to the young waitress, she just laughed and ran off. When she finally came back she took the plate away with no apology and said let's just pretend it has been next to the stilton. It's really not acceptable for a 5 star hotel. She then proceeded to say your coffee is in the lounge, leaving us to feel like we were being rushed away from the table. The room was hot and stuffy all night, with a super thick duvet which was way to heavy. Breakfast was ok, but not a huge choice. I have had better breakfasts at a Premier Inn. Overall, overpriced and not up to what I would expect from a 5 star establishment.

Room Tip: One without damp would be a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yorky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haworth
0.2 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
154 reviews
5.1 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bingley
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashmount Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmount Country House

Address: Ashmount Mytholmes Lane, Keighley BD22 8EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Price Range: $119 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashmount Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashmount manages to sympathetically combine modern day amenities (such as wi-fi, hot tub) with many of the original features that the Bronte Sisters would have much admired. Most of the furniture is antique and much of the interior of the house, including the beautiful stained glass windows, is original. It is this care & attention to detail - both modern and traditional - that leads us to believe Ashmount to be the most comfortable accommodation with the finest restaurant in Haworth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashmount Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashmount Country House Hotel Haworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing