We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashmount Country House
Ranked #2 of 20 Haworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
2 reviews
“Simply the best in town”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just back from another fabulous weekend at Ashmount, which makes this year the tenth Halloween visit. The new managers, Claire and Wayne head a great team who really do make every effort to make you feel special. Nothing is too much trouble and all the staff are exceptionally friendly and capable.
I have stayed in the same room (The Greenwood Room) for about the last seven years, so it feels like home to me, as soon as I lie on the gorgeous four poster bed and look out at the spectacular views of the gardens and beyond.
The house has a marvellous history which really adds to the atmosphere, and has beautiful features everywhere you look, columns, coving, an impressive tiled floor in the hallway and stained glass in abundance.
The breakfast is to die for, top notch local ingredients cooked to perfection. You really won't need to eat again til dinner time.
If you want to treat yourselves to the best hotel in Haworth, you must stay here, it really won't disappoint. (And if it does there must be something wrong with you!)

Room Tip: The hot tub rooms are impressive but the first floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedWitchWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC1022, General Manager at Ashmount Country House, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Wow! Thank you for your great review. We try to make everybody's stay that bit more special and to hear that we manage to achieve this is fantastic. We really look forward to welcoming you back here again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    168
    55
    25
    20
See reviews for
53
917
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was a birthday treat that I booked for my husband (but also a treat for myself for another half term of teaching) - we stayed in the Hideaway at No. 21 - the room was amazing - a whirlpool bath and a hot tub! What more could you need? The only issue I had was that they were both a little bit dirty - the filter on the hot tub was broken which when we mentioned this to the owner he was clearly going to get striaght on to fixing! Overall though - if you are a looking for a treat then go ahead and book yourself a room - we will be back to try out one of the other rooms!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic_H30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC1022, General Manager at Ashmount Country House, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and offer our apologies for you finding the hot tub and whirlpool bath a little dirty. We would like to assure you that both are cleaned daily with chemicals added where required in order to maintain them at their best. We have instructed our housekeeping staff to ensure there are no repeats of this in any case. Moreover we sincerely appreciate that fact that you could see beyond the small problems and relax into the experience we offer at Ashmount. In our minds this is what coming here is really about. We look forward to welcoming you back and letting you sample a little more of the things that make a break so special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great place, great room, great food breakfast and evening dinner, nothing was to much effort for the staff who were so friendly and helpful, cant really praise the place enough, thoroughly enjoyable. We booked a room with a hot tub and a conservatory as well as a sauna all of which were brilliant, the owners of the hotel were lovely and very helpful, and the minute you walked in the place you felt utterly relaxed it had a lovely warm feeling..

Room Tip: Go for one of the hot tuib rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a 2 night stay in The retreat at 21 for our 10th wedding anniversary and we couldn't have wish for better. Everything from arriving Friday afternoon to leaving Sunday was perfect. The rooms were immaculate and tastefully designed and the HOT TUB and WHIRLPOOL BATH were excellent. We had the candlelight dinner on the Saturday night and when we got back to the room the staff had made our room look even more lovely and romantic than it was already by arranging candles everywhere and champagne and chocolates in our room. Overall our stay at ashmount was outstanding, the staff were brilliant and always polite and nothing was to much trouble for them. We will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellemark2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed in the tranquilly suite room 21, room was warm and inviting in arrival. Tea and coffee, fresh water and milk. Very clean room, fresh smelling bed linen, warm fluffy towels and robes! Absolutely gorgeous, very romantic, candles in room. Can't wait to stay again!
Food beautiful, house us amazing and very very helpful staff!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avenue40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC1022, General Manager at Ashmount Country House, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the time to write a review. We appreciate all reviews that our guests have the courtesy to write and hearing that you found the room romantic and gorgeous is such a bonus for us. Hopefully we will see you again soon...

Thank you and akind regards
Wayne and Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I took my wife to the Ashmount as a birthday treat and upon discovering this, the owners provided her with a free (yup free) birthday gift of strawberries and chocolate to welcome us. This was the perfect start to the weekend and it continued like that throughout our stay. The quality of breakfast and dinner was perfect as was the accomodation. We had thought about eating out as there were a few nice places in Howarth but in the end we had dinner int he Ashmount and we are so pleased that we did. The chocolate delice was a dream as was everythng now that I come to think of it. Its not the cheapest place to stay but then again we dont like cheap, we prefer to pay for quality and that's precisley what we got. Thanks to Wayne & Claire. Hopefully Julie will book us in again on my birthday!

Room Tip: We stayed in the secret garden room which has an outside hot tub. Just the room for making waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC1022, General Manager at Ashmount Country House, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We strive to make our guests feel the way we did when we first came to Ashmount and judging by your review we think we managed to get it right.
We hope to be able to welcome you both back in the future.

All the very best
Wayne and Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Ashmount is a beautiful place with amazing views, we booked to have dinner the first evening and the food was so delicious that we ate in the next 3 evenings too. The service was good and nothing was too much trouble. Stayed in the Dispensary - beautiful view first thing inthe morning when the sun rose, cosy bed and lovely long bath which suited hubby 'cos he is 6' tall.
Recommend the walk up to Top Withens .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgarner545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC1022, General Manager at Ashmount Country House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We are really pleased that you both enjoyed your meals at Ashmount Country House.
The walk to Top Withens is pretty and worthwhile.
Maybe next time you should opt for a room with a whirlpool bath - definitely long enough for your 6' tall husband.
Hope to see you both again soon.
Best wishes
Claire and Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haworth
0.1 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
10.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
21.7 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashmount Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmount Country House

Property: Ashmount Country House
Address: Ashmount Mytholmes Lane, Keighley BD22 8EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashmount Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashmount manages to sympathetically combine modern day amenities (such as wi-fi, hot tub) with many of the original features that the Bronte Sisters would have much admired. Most of the furniture is antique and much of the interior of the house, including the beautiful stained glass windows, is original. It is this care & attention to detail - both modern and traditional - that leads us to believe Ashmount to be the most comfortable accommodation with the finest restaurant in Haworth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashmount Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashmount Country House Hotel Haworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing