We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashmount Country House
Nearby Hotels
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Keighley(Keighley)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Dalesgate Hotel(Keighley)
$78
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Lion Hotel(Hebden Bridge)
$145
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,243)
Filter reviews
1,243 results
Traveler rating
965
177
55
26
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
965
177
55
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barhot tubafternoon teasanctuary spathe secret gardencomplimentary sherrythe main househoney potfour poster bedgreenwood roomdouble whirlpool bathstrawberriesquicheprivate gardenspa roombreakfast in bedhoneypot room
Filter
Updating list...
818 - 823 of 1,243 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

the ambiance of the house & its relaxed atmosphere. The staff are very professional, curtious & helpful.

Thank virginia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My partner & I stayed in the gardeners cottage last weekend. We had a fabulous time, Ashmount is so beautiful, the staff are very professional & are so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We were so relaxed after our stay & the beautiful views from the jacuzzi was breath taking.
Ashmount was everything we expected & more besides. We will definately be returning.
Thankyou for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC1022, General Manager at Ashmount Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for review.
Good to know that you were relaxed and happy during your time at Ashmount Country House. I suppose the whirlpool bath helped with that!
We really hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Claire and Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My partner and i stayed in the Retreat for 2 nights for my birthday weekend 6th October 2012. In my experience over the years, particularly in hotel accommodation, I have come to learn that generally "you get what you pay for". Sadly in the case of Ashmount and No. 21 this is not the case. We paid £245 per night for well below average, tired and cramped facilities. In our opinion the advertising and photographs are not representative of the actual experience. Consider this before you make a choice:

The "woodburning" stove was not working on arrival. We complained the next day and was told the remote control had just been received that day and was now working. - Amazing!

There were no wardrobes. The space for hanging clothes was housed in the same room as the fridge and coffee making facilities and was merely a rail.

The taps on the spa bath were loose and difficult to turn off or on. My "luxury" towel was almost threadbare and ripped on the first use. No attention to detail here.

The separate loo was a small cold sparse room which housed the fuse box [uncovered]. It reminded me of my students days in cheap accommodation on the university campus.

The floor in the conservatory was a basic concrete screed. No tiles to add a touch of luxury as the advertising professes.

As it was my birthday we took a bottle of champagne in the room. The cleaner must be instructed to advise management of any "empties" found in the waste paper basket and Corkage of £10 was duly applied on checkout for this privilege.However, On complaining this was refunded.

We could hear residents occupying the room above walking around and talking.

There was a lot of ugly and un-boxed dubious looking wiring throughout the accommodation.

The "generous" hospitality tray consisted of 2 apples and four small biscuits - which were not replaced the next day. The small decanter of cheap sherry on arrival was welcoming - but of course not replaced the next day.

In summary, not a pleasant experience. Think carefully before you make your choice, part with your hard earned cash and stay at this establishment..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Had a sumptuous afternoon tea here with the best service!!!!! Beautiful place with amazing views. Had a look at all the rooms available and Wow !!! Such luxury 4 poster beds, jacuzzis, hot tubs, period furniture. The Brontes would be soooo proud if we could transport back. A fabulous place. We have booked to stay as we were so impressed.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzi 1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC1022, General Manager at Ashmount Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you and your family. Really happy that you all enjoyed afternoon tea. Looking forward to seeing you next year.
Best wishes
Claire and Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Decided to treat the girlfriend for a little mid week treat and picked Ashmount off the back of some good reviews from friends.

The hotel certainly lives up to its good reputation! The young man James who checked us in made us feel very welcome and was very kind and courteous, he is a credit to the hotel.

The room we stayed in was called 'The Retreat at number 21" and was immaculate, one of the very best i have stayed in. It contained its own private hot tub and whirlpool bath and i would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam_Kilcoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC1022, General Manager at Ashmount Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for your review.
It is great to know that you booked your special mid week treat based on the excellent reviews of Ashmount Country House.
We are really pleased that you had a wonderful time and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Best wishes
Claire and Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews