We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely End To A Lovely Day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Silent Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Silent Inn
Ranked #11 of 21 Haworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
2 reviews
“A Lovely End To A Lovely Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

After driving from Leeds out to Southport then aiming the car at toward Preston, then Colne we started looking for something to eat. It was Sunday 26th and Manchester United were playing, we called in a few pubs which we thought would be quiet but they all had large screen TV with cheering fans so we decided to head back home via Haworth and Keighley.

After driving over Scar Top we happened on this venue by totally by accident. We both needed to strecth our legs so we thought we would have a nosey.

We decided to stay for a quick bite to eat.

The food we had took a little while, not ages, but when it arrived it was immediately apparent that it had been cooked fresh and was worth the wait.

I had the gammon and my partner had good old sausage and mash. The sausage was amazing (free range pork with garlic and guiness) and the gammon and eggs were cooked as I asked for them.

The price was OK, but the portion control could have been more consistent. My portion with the gammon, egs chips, peas mushrooms and tomatoes was really very large whilst my partners sausage/mash and seasonal veg was just about right and left you wanting more.

All in all a lovely lunch with pleasant staff and a relaxing calming atmosphere and no children.

Keep up the good work, we will be back with reinforcements!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neiluk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    47
    18
    7
    10
See reviews for
37
112
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton,lancs
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

Myself and my other half visited this pub near to xmas and had a lovely meal.The fire in the hearth in the bar was very welcoming and the mulled wine.
We had a really nice meal in a cosy and romantic setting.I would recommend this pub/restaurant to other people.The staff were very helpful and attentive.

The only downside which I suppose could be petty was the size of the cheesecake in the dessert was quite small at nearly a fiver each just thought it could be a bit larger.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggypig4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed here for two nights, having previously called in for a drink, to eat, or to bring a school group for lunch when visiting Brontë country. Lovely location (in Stanbury, just outside Haworth). The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful, from start to finish (without being over-fussy); the food is very good (including decent, if not extensive, vegetarian options). The key thing is that I had two very comfortable and quiet nights sleep: sheets and towels spotlessly clean; although it is a pub, and my room was alongside the road, the ‘Silent’ in the name was true through the night—and when guests were on the move, no slamming of doors. The WiFi worked perfectly in the bar area. The room itself was a bit shabby: bathroom door couldn’t close; toilet seat wouldn’t stay up unaided; not enough room for wardrobe door to open fully; would have liked a comfortable chair (rather than the wooden chairs) to sit in; carpet a bit grubby. So the room I was in needs some tlc. If staying in a country pub, cooking smells inevitable and city 5* expectations inappropriate. Would I stay here gain? Certainly. Location and hospitality are everything you could ask for here--and very much better than similar experiences in Haworth itself.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bartimaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

We spent a night here while doing some walking on the Pennine Way and found the food surprisingly good. The landlord and his staff were without fail very helpful. Our room was fine although as it was one of the smaller ones the en suite was a bit cramped. Bonus points for providing free wifi access in the bar area.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackcat2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Wonderful location, superb food and ales, exceptional service, friendly staff (and locals). Will be staying again, and would recommend the Old Silent Inn to anybody looking for a quiet and friendly place to stay in the Yorkshire countryside.
Frank & Wendy

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASRGunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

We had travelled from Lancashire and passed The Old Silent on numerous occasions, but had never sampled the food. Being Mothers Day we were surprised that tables were still available, having read some previous poor reviews were were a little nervous.
On arrival we were shown to our table near to a beautiful open fire. The menu for Mothers Day was varied, but not too extensive. After a short time a young waitress arrived and took our order. Three of us ordered the meat pie cooked in ale, my mother ordered a chicken dish stuffed with asparagus.
We had a lengthy wait for our food but when it arrived it was obvious that it had all been cooked fresh, unlike some pub food. The pie was cooked in a short crust pastry with tender meat and lovely thick gravy, finished off with homemade chips and fresh peas. There was too much chicken for my mum, but she enjoyed it and she is fussy?
We had no room for a sweet, but all the food that we saw looked excellent. One slight issue is that I do not like to see young female waitresses with long hair not tied up that could finish up in a plated meal? That said we will return soon.
Top marks to the owner and to the chef for producing to food at reasonable prices in a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdie2boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldstaple, Owner at Old Silent Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2009
Thanks for your comments we are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves here and look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2009

I'm very suprised about the bad reviews on this hotel. Quite shocked actually. I went to stay in Sept 2008 with my brother, his partner and my partner. We had a great time, very welcoming food was fantastic, service very friendly & rooms clean and warm. We're going to stay again this weekend Friday 13th so I hope we experience the strange goings on again!!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Rachel722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haworth hotels
1.7 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
1.8 mi away
Ashmount Country House
1.7 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 21 in Haworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Haworth Old Hall Inn
Haworth Old Hall Inn
#10 of 21 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
1.7 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#6 of 21 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Silent Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Silent Inn

Property: Old Silent Inn
Address: Hob Lane | Hob Lane, Haworth, Keighley BD22 0HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Silent Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Old Silent Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Silent Hotel Haworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing