We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and friendly folk”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cookhouse

The Cookhouse
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Haworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A beautifully presented tea room and dining destination offering a wide range of freshly prepared dishes using ingredients from suppliers all within a 5 mile radius. Family owned and operated delivering an excellent level of service. Breakfast, lunch, afternoon cream teas.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly folk”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

All we ordered were a couple of coffees and cake, but the staff were as kind and friendly as if we'd ordered a four-course meal for 12. Great attitude.

Let me put this simply.. That was THE best lemon cake I've ever had. Now I want to try the rest of the menu!

We don't frequent Haworth often, but we'll be back for a couple events later in the year, and we'll definitely be returning to The Cookhouse. It puts a few eateries higher up the hill to shame...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elf_Call
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, Owner at The Cookhouse, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Oh happy days...thank you very much indeed for your great review of your time with us at The Cookhouse. We try our best and are delighted that you have enjoyed your visit. As important to us is that you come back again. When you do, please make sure to say hello, we really enjoy meeting our reviewers. Thanks again, kind regards, Tania and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    52
    5
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We visited Haworth yesterday and called in at the Cookhouse for our lunch. The waitress was so friendly and efficient, really helpful and kind. We chose the warm chicken salad with some potato wedges. The food was delicious and served beautifully. We then had the Chocolate Brownie which was absolutely lovely. We will certainly eat at the Cookhouse next time we visit Haworth and we would recommend it to anyone who enjoys good food and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, Owner at The Cookhouse, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thankyou very much Janet for such a great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Tania and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Cookhouse Experience”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

On visiting this beautiful restaurant early February this year we were made very welcome not just by the owners there staff at well, which is a credit to them. The food is nothing but excellent with plenty to choose from and tastes fantastic as all the food is home cooked! They have created a fantastic atmosphere there and the restaurant overall is spotless and very well decorated. We are now regular customers and enjoy every visit! A must visit if your visiting Haworth & the surrounding areas.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jayMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, Owner at The Cookhouse, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
This review is all that we can ask for! New customers who turn into regular customers who turn into friends... it means a great deal to us that you have written such great comments and we thank you very much indeed!! We don't take anything for granted and will continue to try to deliver great food and service in a clean and welcoming environment for everyone who comes through our door. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind regards Tania and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for lunch today and could not have chosen better. The waitress was friendly and efficient and the food was great. Would highly recommend to every one to stop here and enjoy the food

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, Owner at The Cookhouse, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Many thanks for a great review. So pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we all hope that you come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My sister and I visited Haworth last week for the first time. We visited the cookhouse three times as it was amazing, and had breakfast, brunch and a lunch. Quality of food was fantastic, fresh ingredients and a wide selection. The service was first class and very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We would thoroughly recommend it, and look forward to coming back next year. Thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, Owner at The Cookhouse, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you ladies for your lovely review. 3 times is great and we very much appreciate you taking the time to publish your thoughts. Swindon's not too far so come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cookhouse also viewed

 
Haworth, Keighley
 

Been to The Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing