We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May be just visited on the wrong day!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #11 of 36 Restaurants in Haworth
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“May be just visited on the wrong day!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was looking for an ATM machine in Haworth and was subsequently directed to the Kings Arms. Arrived to find the ATM was 'Out of Action' but decided to stay for a pint and a chat to get the feel of Haworth. Had some good banter with the bar staff and a couple of locals but, sadly, the place lacks atmosphere.

That evening there was an Elton John tribute act booked, so we decided to pop along and hopefully enjoy a bit of easy listening music. Couldn't believe out eyes, it was about 20:30' ish and there was 2 people in the bar, so we gave it a miss.

The place looks to have so much potential, but it seems to be locals 'early doors' pub where tourists are tolerated.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    70
    18
    22
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ok :just”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Visited on a groupon voucher despite the Groupon voucher stating the prawn starter was included we were told it was not. Food ok ,beer disappointing :bar advertises Taylors landlord but not available . Chicken and Gammon were tasty but carrots were really overcooked .
Cant complain for what we paid but would not be happy to pay full price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We also went to the Kings Arms on a Groupon voucher. We found the staff VERY friendly and concerned that we had a good time. I ordered the garlic mushrooms and they were lovely. Loads of mushrooms in a thick creamy sauce, not too much garlic. Lovely hot roll with it. Hubby went for the bruschetta. Again very tasty - but four slices? I opted for the special for mains 'chicken St Pierre' turned out to be a simple chicken breast with cheese on but it was very tender and came with a very good salad and not so good chips. Hubby opted for the baked haddock. It was enormous, far more than he could eat. It was slightly over-cooked and therefore a wee bit dry but had a nice sauce with it. A mountain of veg (not fresh but either tinned or frozen) and the not so good chips. All in all we enjoyed our lunch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank UKMaryanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Lunchtime:- Tuesday 15th July 2014

Lets start at the top as we did when we arrived on Mill Hey,Haworth on a beautiful, busy Yorkshire day ...as it went downhill just as steeply.

Assumption 1-We decided to eat here as there were plenty of customers inside, hungry bus trippers outside and it was lunchtime.
The staff seemed to "mill" about.

Assumption 2-Busy,means a popular venue with staff trying to keep up with demand.

Order drink at bar for our table of four- 10mins to attract staff,order and place on table.
Went back and ordered and paid upfront for food -5 mins.

1 Soup, 2 Cheeseburger meals and 1 roast dinner.

Staff advised then apologised twice that there would be a wait. Ok, freshly cooked food does take time.

40 mins later "food" arrived.

Veg soup-unfinished, may have been going "off".
Roast beef-Yorkshire pud overflowing in gravy hiding tatties harder than Jason Statham's razor.

Cheeseburgers...where to start?...these were £6 each. Definitely not homemade -out of packet, in a bun, dollop of melted cheese on pattie.
No sliced tomato, onion or lettuce in bun. In fact no salad at all on plate just 9 fat soaked pallid chips looking as if they gave up the ghost.
We were too shocked to fully detail when asked by the waitress the
perfunctory pleasantry "was everything ok with your meal?"
Replied "Very poor... burger dry ...would benefit from addition of salad." And with that exited into Haworth's buzz.
We had experienced something unforgettable.

Absolutely agree with other unfortunate reviewers.
Worse burgers than a greasy van outside at closing time or indeed at a fairground.Chips? Yes, possibly from Chippy around corner.
Chef where were you?... day off?
Landlord where were you?
Serving up "food" like this from the bad old days of UK pubgrub 1970's in such a beautiful busy location.
The waitress was fine.Ale was fine.
Food awful.
Business suicide.
We feel we wasted not only our money but more importantly an hour more we could have had in beautiful Haworth and had I checked tripadvisor,eaten in one of the many better reviewed eateries nearby.

Lesson-never assume -check tripadvisor!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An Enjoyable Evening & Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

what a nice little traditional pub. friendly landlady & great staff, the food was traditional pub grub at a reasonable cost. meat and potato pie was superb.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrea c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

Haworth, Keighley
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing