We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute bliss”
Review of Ponden Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ponden Guest House
Ranked #16 of 20 Haworth B&B and Inns
Reading
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute bliss”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. Peaceful, home from home, completely relaxing. Ponden is perfectly located for walking the Pennine Way and the Bronte Way. We had a super five nights. Brenda's breakfasts are a great start to the day and the atmosphere is very relaxing - in fact we could have sat chatting to other guests for hours. We walked to Haworth and Top Withins - both are super walks and best of all we could leave the car behind at the b&b.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
13
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bosham sussex
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Lovely warm greeting when we arrived. Its a shame the weather could not behave as well. We ate a nice evening meal and cooked breakfast the next morning. Brenda had to leave before us as she was going away for the weekend. We could not believe she trusted us to lock up and put the key back through the letter box. A lovely hard working lady

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gps G, Public Relations Manager at Ponden Guest House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks for your review. Good to know that you had a nice time.
On behalf of Ponden House, thanks for your review. GPS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

It was perfect! originally planned with hope for spring weather at the end of March, but turned out to be a magical winter wonderland weekend, hiking the Pennine way in deep snow and ending the day with Brenda's exquisite hearty dinner. On the following day we had dinner in one of the nearby pubs. Dipping in the hot tub in the garden surrounded by snow was also a great experience. We came from London by train and the whole trip was just 3 hours from door to door, with a short taxi ride from Bradford. Brenda is so welcoming and we felt at home immediately. Any direction you choose to walk outside the front door is stunning, and the cozy 16th century house is always great to come back to. We were tempted to stay in instead of going hiking. Will be back 100%.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arrived at Ponden House run down from our lives in London - with long hours in an office and little time to relax. We left after three nights feeling completely rejuvenated thanks to Brenda's top-notch cooking, the relaxed ambiance, the beautiful surrounding countryside, and the revolutionary hot-tub experience!

Ponden House offers wonderful views of a reservoir below and the Yorkshire countryside. There are endless fantastic walks, including parts of the Penine Way and footpaths to the picturesque Howarth. Stanbury is a small hamlet, less than a mile away, with traditional Yorkshire pubs and roaring fires.

Brenda's cooking is something to behold! After a long day of walking, to come back to a spectacular home-cooked meal was a perfect way to end the day. However, each evening, things got better, as we spent the last hours of the day in the private, secluded hot-tub, drinking wine, relaxing and staring at the stars.

Brenda's hearty breakfasts set you up for the day. But it is her relaxing presence, offering tea and cakes just when you are starting to feel peckish, but also know when to leave you to your books in the main room, that really makes this the perfect place to stay.

I would recommend it to all my friends - and will be going back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Going to Ponden has become an annual winter ritual for our group of friends. I love everything about it. It's like going home - Brenda's calm company and her amazing cooking skills, cosy rooms, hearty walks, magical evenings under the stars in the hot tub. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. The views at the front over the reservoir are great to wake up to, but my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Our girls weekend is an annual event at Ponden House. Brenda is a fantastic host and brilliant cook. We book the place out and spend the weekend eating, drinking, walking and talking! Well worth it! Thanks Brenda

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabySpinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Ponden House is a wonderful place. It is calm, relaxed and full of colourful treasures.
Brenda Taylor has a flair for cooking and creativity, and her kind, calm presence is instantly reassuring for guests. This was my first visit. While eating a delicious breakfast and looking at the view of the reservoir, I thought how lovely it would be to stay longer. This place is a real find.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poetrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haworth hotels
2.4 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
2.5 mi away
Park Top House
Park Top House
#7 of 20 in Haworth
146 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ashmount Country House
4.1 mi away
Leeming Wells Guest Accomodation
2.6 mi away
Rosebud Cottage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponden Guest House

Property: Ponden Guest House
Address: Ponden House Ponden Lane | Stanbury, Haworth, Keighley BD22 0HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponden Guest House We offer Bed & Breakfast Guest House Accommodation and Camping Facilities for walkers, travelers and holiday makers. Prices for Bed & Breakfast Accommodation 2016 Prices shown below are per room.(Not per person) B&B Double en suite £80 B&B Twin (shared bathroom and wash basin) £75 Reductions for singles in double and twin B&B in Double - Single occupancy: £60.00 B&B Twin Single occupancy: £45.00 Please contact us for details. Ponden House is on the Pennine Way. Evening Meals by arrangement. Parking available. Wi-Fi internet access by request. There is NO TV at Ponden House In the heart of the beautiful Yorkshire countryside, and under 2 miles from Haworth and Bronte literary attractions. Hot Tub available all year round for groups - extra charge applies. Built on the site of the 16th Century 'old house and barn', Ponden House offers comfort and tranquility in a secluded setting steeped in the history of the Brontes. Local craftsmen and women have blended local materials with traditional skills and imaginative design: old and new come together to provide a unique atmosphere. Ponden House is where Brenda Taylor, family and friends offer hospitality to guests from near and far. With views down to the reservoir and across to the moors, Ponden House is the perfect base for long walks, gentle strolls or visiting local towns and villages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing