We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveler rating
351
142
27
8
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
142
27
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar menu game pie bronte parsonage lovely hotel evening meal in the restaurant the pub pate lasagna hotel restaurant lovely food worth valley cobbled street car park lovely view fish and chips cooked to perfection enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first visit to the Old White Lion and it may well not be our last! We stayed for one night while visiting the Brontë Parsonage, and it was obvious straightaway that we had made a really good choice. The Old White Lion is exactly what you would hope to find in a traditional English pub - comfortable bar, good food, good service, and an immaculately clean room.

There is a restaurant as well as bar food and it was hard to choose between the two. However, we eventually chose the restaurant and had a lovely relaxing meal with a drink in the bar afterwards. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, explaining everything on arrival and providing us with menus so that we could decide where to eat.

To add to the impeccable level of service, two phone chargers which I left in my room were returned by post within two days and my offer to reimburse postage was refused - need I say more! Do visit, I don't think you will be disappointed.

For those visiting the Parsonage, the Old White Lion is no more than 100 m away.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Conrad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the third time we have stayed here and each time the Old White Lion never ceases to deliver. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with magnificent views, the staff are friendly and helpful, the bar area is just how a village pub should be, with excellent Yorkshire beer, and the restaurant is simply magnificent. The prices are extremely competitive and we shall be back again soon.

Room Tip: On line booking allows you to choose a room
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a week long break in Yorkshire. I found the hotel through internet searching and relied heavily on reviews when making my booking.

This is an old style combined hotel, pub and restaurant that is making a straight forward offer of a warm welcome, good accommodation and good food. In all these aims it is in my opinion delivering exceptionally well.

First impressions were very positive. The hotel is located at the top of Haworth and as such you feel like you have arrived in prime spot as soon as you park up. The car park is small and is marked so that you double park - you leave your keys at reception so that they can shunt cars around if needs be. Check in is friendly and efficient. You are given a key (a real metal key, not a card!) and directed to your room. Our room was on the first floor with an excellent view to the East. The room and ensuite bathroom were immaculate. All of the expected provisions - tea, milk, towels and soap etc - were present and replenished on the second day.

We had three bar meals and all were good. The menu is imaginative without being pretentious and the quality is good. There is also a restaurant menu which looked good but we didn’t try on this visit.

Breakfast is included in the rate and this is exceptionally good. Top quality ingredients both from the cold buffet and the hot menu (cooked to order). This is served in the restaurant.

The hotel is well staffed, we never had to wait to be seen or served, and all of the staff were cheerful and friendly.

Haworth is a great place to stay and we spent a happy couple of days exploring. Having visited the other pubs and hotels in the main street I would be surprised if any could better The Old White Lion - certainly not for location, warmth of welcome and overall happy ambience.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lots of brass, a gruff landlord and Yorkshire puddings, what's not to love?
This place is huge, loads of different rooms to sit in. It offers a restaurant menu and a completely different bar menu. The pub is full of brass ornaments, it really is something. None of this corporate pub decoration that a lot of places go for. We couldn't get in the restaurant part so ate in the pub. Nothing wrong with the food, but it won't blow you away either. Portions are a really good size. I had the turkey roast dinner which came with all the trimmings. My hubby had the burger which he enjoyed. This pub doesn't allow dogs which was fine for us, but most of the others do if you want to take your furry friend out.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank jrpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely short stay in Haworth,great staff and great place.We would love to go back.Great value for money and very polite and helpful staff.Lots of history regarding the Bronte sister’s and cute coffee shop’s to choose from in the Main Street x

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews