We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old White Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Dalesgate Hotel(Keighley)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Lion Hotel(Hebden Bridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
328
134
26
7
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
134
26
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar menugame pieexcellent hotelbronte parsonageroom was very clean and comfortableevening meal in the restaurantlovely foodhotel restaurantthe pubworth valleycobbled streetlovely viewpatecar parkcooked to perfectionlasagnafish and chips
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
347 - 352 of 507 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

A very warm welcome awaited us at the charming Old White Lion hotel. We were shown to our rooms, which were small doubles, but perfectly equipped and more than adequate. The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean, with a good hot shower and plenty of fresh white towels.
Next morning breakfast was served by a lovely friendly waitress. A good full English, with plenty of hot tea and coffee to hand.
We had a bar snack in the pub area of the hotel and the food was divine. Home made lasagne, followed by good old Yorkshire Bilberry pie and custard.
The hotel is very old ( 300 yrs old) and so has uneven floors and walls, and our only tiny gripe was how difficult the stairs to the rooms were for our elderly disabled mother. However, we appreciate there is not normally a need for a lift and we should have enquired on booking. But apart from that, it was a faultless stay and I would definitely recommend to others and return myself.

Room Tip: Apparently rooms on the front can be subject to noise from the pub opposite- we encountered no noise at all.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen_Kingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The other reviews of this hotel are spot on. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a genuine, charming old English ambience in the bar and restaurant; and is a great location in the middle of lovely Haworth only a short stroll from the fascinating Bronte residence. Our double bedroom was small but cosy and our one-night stay seemed good value. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Our small but well-appointed double room had a lovely view over valley and hills. We were assigned us a car park adjacent to the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I spend at least 1 week a year at the White Lion (Live in CA USA) due to the fact the food is great the staff are wonderful, the beer is always good and the owners always have time for you. If your looking for a quiet stay in the timeless village of Haworth I would highly recommend the White Lion

Room Tip: Just call and tell the staff what you are looking for and they always try to accomodate
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very last minute one night stay. Very welcoming on arrival. Relatively small single room but clean and tidy with a comfortable bed. Location is great but that means car parking is limited - but an alternative is close by. I would recommend.

Room Tip: For a solo traveller 5 was fine. On the main street - so possible noise at weekends.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robm2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel the room was excellent (room 9) overlooking the Worth Valley. Staff very friendly and helpful breakfast cannot fault. We had several enjoyable meals in the bar areas and seating very comfortable. We did not eat in the restaurant due to the fact that we were quite happy with the meals offered on the bar menu,steak night excellent. The residence lounge is very welcoming with comfortable leather armchairs we spent most evenings watching tv with our drinks. No problem parking. This hotel offers comfort friendless good food and value for money. We will definately return.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews