We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just returned from a weeks stay at the white lion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old White Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haworth
Certificate of Excellence
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just returned from a weeks stay at the white lion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel the room was excellent (room 9) overlooking the Worth Valley. Staff very friendly and helpful breakfast cannot fault. We had several enjoyable meals in the bar areas and seating very comfortable. We did not eat in the restaurant due to the fact that we were quite happy with the meals offered on the bar menu,steak night excellent. The residence lounge is very welcoming with comfortable leather armchairs we spent most evenings watching tv with our drinks. No problem parking. This hotel offers comfort friendless good food and value for money. We will definately return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    113
    22
    7
    10
See reviews for
67
215
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here for the night recently at the last minute. My room was inexpensive and clean, with a comfortable bed and a corner kidney-shaped bath. It was perfect for my one night stay.

I had a pleasant dinner in the hotel restaurant at a very reasonable price, and the breakfast was very good with an excellent full English.

The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. They were all so friendly and it was a pleasure to meet them all.

There is a car park at the rear of the hotel and I had no trouble in finding a space.

The only downside was the noise from a pub close by which plays live music until midnight. I use earplugs so I was OK, but if you don't have them you are possibly going to be disturbed.

Room Tip: If you are able to, book a room which does not look out over the main street. I believe there are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaShoreham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This Hotel has the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. (Room 10) I am 65 and speak from experience. Besides that, the staff are all extremely friendly, the food excellent and its position almost next door to the Bronte's church and rectory (musuem) in Haworth makes it most recommendable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guaudotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

had a 3 course sunday lunch here aug 26th. 3 courses for 12 pounds 60! you cant go wrong. good food good service.food serverd on piping hot plates. had the pate. roast turkey. and bilberry pie. all homecooked food. so impressed im taking my mum next sunday. great value lunch very well priced. try it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairedove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Old White Lion is an ancient hotel right in the middle of Haworth, within spitting distance of the Bronte Parsonage. The rooms are clean,comfortable and modern. My room had a breathtaking view across the countryside. Rebecca, Dorie and Rachel provided service above and beyond to make sure I enjoyed a comfortable stay. Good food in both the bar and the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 189Christine_B_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and i arrived at `The Old White Lion` to a warm welcome from the staff at check-in.
As we had rode up to Haworth by motorcycle, my concerns were of its security, ( its a motorcyclists thing ) and of being blocked in due to the parking spaces available. my concerns were unfounded and i was quickly assured by the staff on reception of its safety,,, i`d like to say a thank-you for it.
Anyway......
We found the room to be large, spotlessly clean, spacious and with lovely views ( from room 8 )
All staff we met were polite helpful and welcoming.
We cant comment regarding the restaurant although, it did have a great variety of meals on offer, we didn't eat there,
what we will say is that if, the meals were anything like the breakfast we had before leaving they must have been fantastic,
Shame we missed the opportunity to have an evening meal ! ! !
The breakfast is the best we have ever had `HUGE,` is an understatement, it must have been what the locals describe as a `Yorkshiremans` breakfast.
It was freshly cooked `large`and very tasty. ( not forgetting the cereals, toast, fruit etc on offer as well, ) I`d say its worth the overnight stay just for the breakfast ! ! !
Thank-you to all the hard working staff at `The Old White Lion`
It was a pleasure staying with you and we would thoroughly recommend your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMW1150GS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south tyneside england
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at a near by guest house but wished we had stayed here.
We were given the option to eat in the restaurant where they had a 3 course deal on early evening but we preferred the bar menu so opted for that.
The meal was lovely and the quiz was starting at 9 in the function room that we wanted to join so the waitress brought our desert in there which was kind.
If we visit Haworth again which I'm sure we will as its s lovely place I wouldn't hesitate about coming here again .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Milller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haworth
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford North (Bingley) Hotel
5.4 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashmount Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haworth Old Hall Inn
Haworth Old Hall Inn
#9 of 20 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#6 of 20 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old White Lion Hotel

Property: The Old White Lion Hotel
Address: 6-10 West Lane, Haworth, Keighley BD22 8DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old White Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 300 year old facade of this former coaching inn hides the fact this family run hotel combines charming olde world features with thoroughly modern facilities. Situated at the top of the famous cobbled street, walked by the Revd. Patrick Bronte and his famous family. In more recent times as illustrated on TV in Hovis advertisements. This is very much an establishment where food and drink are taken seriously, and dispensed along with hospitality in good measure. Warmth, comfort and a relaxed atmosphere prevail throughout the 14 en-suite bedrooms, beamed bars, restaurant and oak paneled lounge.Freshly prepared food is provided by the highly qualified chefs. Keeping up with modern trends, without ignoring the popularity of old favourites. Featured in major food guides the Gimmerton restaurant is open every evening. An extensive range of reasonably priced bar meals being available in the cosy bars, where real ales are prominent. Exceptional value breaks available both mid-week as well as weekends throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old White Lion Haworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing