We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bronte Central” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old White Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old White Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haworth
Certificate of Excellence
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bronte Central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Old White Lion is an ancient hotel right in the middle of Haworth, within spitting distance of the Bronte Parsonage. The rooms are clean,comfortable and modern. My room had a breathtaking view across the countryside. Rebecca, Dorie and Rachel provided service above and beyond to make sure I enjoyed a comfortable stay. Good food in both the bar and the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 189Christine_B_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    109
    19
    7
    10
See reviews for
66
202
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and i arrived at `The Old White Lion` to a warm welcome from the staff at check-in.
As we had rode up to Haworth by motorcycle, my concerns were of its security, ( its a motorcyclists thing ) and of being blocked in due to the parking spaces available. my concerns were unfounded and i was quickly assured by the staff on reception of its safety,,, i`d like to say a thank-you for it.
Anyway......
We found the room to be large, spotlessly clean, spacious and with lovely views ( from room 8 )
All staff we met were polite helpful and welcoming.
We cant comment regarding the restaurant although, it did have a great variety of meals on offer, we didn't eat there,
what we will say is that if, the meals were anything like the breakfast we had before leaving they must have been fantastic,
Shame we missed the opportunity to have an evening meal ! ! !
The breakfast is the best we have ever had `HUGE,` is an understatement, it must have been what the locals describe as a `Yorkshiremans` breakfast.
It was freshly cooked `large`and very tasty. ( not forgetting the cereals, toast, fruit etc on offer as well, ) I`d say its worth the overnight stay just for the breakfast ! ! !
Thank-you to all the hard working staff at `The Old White Lion`
It was a pleasure staying with you and we would thoroughly recommend your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMW1150GS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south tyneside england
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at a near by guest house but wished we had stayed here.
We were given the option to eat in the restaurant where they had a 3 course deal on early evening but we preferred the bar menu so opted for that.
The meal was lovely and the quiz was starting at 9 in the function room that we wanted to join so the waitress brought our desert in there which was kind.
If we visit Haworth again which I'm sure we will as its s lovely place I wouldn't hesitate about coming here again .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Milller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We went last year and it was so good we returned again this year. It's in a perfect location with fantastic staff and rooms. Not sure which hotel 'Roverstate808' was at since all the staff are very polite and you could not fault the hospitality.

A big thank you for making our second stay so enjoyable. Keep Room 9 for next year, I think we may be back again!

Room Tip: I would suggest a room with a view of the moors - its stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_Bz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at The Old White Lion in Haworth . It is in the centre of the village so everything is at hand . The staff were extremely friendly and helpful , the accommodation was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The view from our room over the moors was absolutely stunning ! The food at breakfast was very good as were the bar and restaurant meals .
The only criticism I would have was that our mattress though new, was a little too bouncy for our liking . We old prefer the more firm ones usually used in modern hotels .

Room Tip: Room 6 had stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley16gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

What a treat to stay at the 'Old White Lion' with wonderful staff, wonderful rooms with every amenity you could require. To top it off some supurb food aside from the great breakfast every morning.
Thank you so much for making our weekend away so enjoyable and stress free

Room Tip: Rooms are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralphson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We are staying in Haworth at great guest house and trying out various places to eat. We had a meal on one night in the old white lion hotel the food was a good quality with excellent size portions but the hospitality we received was absolutely terrible the bar manager was ignorant with no manners and seemed to be very hostile.We returned the following evening an he was the same this is the first bad review I have ever had to write. The staff who served our food was polite and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Roverstate808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haworth
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford North (Bingley) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ashmount Country House
0.0 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 21 in Haworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
0.3 mi away
Haworth Old Hall Inn
Haworth Old Hall Inn
#10 of 21 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#6 of 21 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old White Lion Hotel

Property: The Old White Lion Hotel
Address: 6-10 West Lane, Haworth, Keighley BD22 8DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old White Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 300 year old facade of this former coaching inn hides the fact this family run hotel combines charming olde world features with thoroughly modern facilities. Situated at the top of the famous cobbled street, walked by the Revd. Patrick Bronte and his famous family. In more recent times as illustrated on TV in Hovis advertisements. This is very much an establishment where food and drink are taken seriously, and dispensed along with hospitality in good measure. Warmth, comfort and a relaxed atmosphere prevail throughout the 14 en-suite bedrooms, beamed bars, restaurant and oak paneled lounge.Freshly prepared food is provided by the highly qualified chefs. Keeping up with modern trends, without ignoring the popularity of old favourites. Featured in major food guides the Gimmerton restaurant is open every evening. An extensive range of reasonably priced bar meals being available in the cosy bars, where real ales are prominent. Exceptional value breaks available both mid-week as well as weekends throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old White Lion Haworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing