We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old White Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night break, once again a very happy experience. Good food, friendly staff, spotless room. The food just gets better & better, the breakfast set us up for our walk to Top Withens. Our meal taken in the Gimmerton restaurant was top quality and good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwhitelion, Public Relations Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your review we appreciate our customers feedback. I will pass your kind words on to our Chefs. We look forward to you visiting us again.
Kind regards
The Old White Lion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 497 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed at this very nice hotel for a six night break recently. 10/10 in all departments from check - in to departure. Room no 1 was clean & comfortable and the window had a good view out over the Worth Valley (& paradise - otherwise known as the Keighley & Worth Valley steam railway!). Special mention must go to the Gimmerton Restaurant - ambience perfect & the food & presention & service of it excellent, the three course evening meal - menu changes monthly - being very good value. The a la carte menu took enjoyment of nice food to a new level. Go there & enjoy but take the whole evening to do this & then retire to your room for the night, the following mornings breakfasts are 'traditional Yorkshire' & will set you up for the day.

Room Tip: Room 1 for views out over the Worth Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETER C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwhitelion, Public Relations Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you both back sometime soon.
Kind regards
The Old White Lion team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Sent two nights at the old white lion. I wish we had booked longer. It is situated ideally for Bronte visiting with the Parsonage just around the corner. The hotel is immaculately clean ,the food is excellent and the breakfast is to Hilton standard. Most of all the service is one of the best ,from being greeted on our arrival by Beckie at reception and Clare at the Bar. Both these ladies assisted us with our itinerary with our many questions. Nothing was too much trouble. We even got a discount at the Parsonage. Thanks to you all. John & Maggie.

Room Tip: Look at the web. site where they show the rooms and No.s
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

In Bronte's country, value for money. Good dinner and breakfast. Quiet rooms.
Distance to Bradford 35 minutes. Unfortunately you can't choose the weather ...
Possibilities both for ''pub''-food or restaurant approach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucBGent_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Bed dipped in middle and we would have preffered a duvet but clean and bright room plenty of hot water the food was very good and the restaurant was very clean and tidy with helpful staff would stay again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ainseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We’re just back from a long weekend in Howarth, which was made all the more marvellous because of the wonderful service we received at the Old White Lion. The hotel is extremely comfortable with clean rooms, welcoming bars and a restaurant that had a great ambience and excellent food. It was all you would want from a hotel. It was, however, the staff who made our stay one of the best we’ve had anywhere. The reception staff welcomed us in like old friends, the chamber maids were all smiles and helpfullness and the handsome barman made us feel right at home. Special mention goes to Aggy who, despite working long shifts all weekend to cover holidaying staff, was an absolute treasure and was always cheery. We noticed that the staff all appeared to be a friendly group, happy to be working together. A happy workforce is a productive work force and the Old White Lion team are producing lovely holidays for those staying there. The Old White Lion is the hotel to stay in if you are visiting Howarth and the surrounds. Don’t waste time looking anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tartanDMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stopped here for a meal last week.The meal was great and most striking was the friendly and efficient staff.Would recommend it.In the heart of the village a great place to stop off.Would love to spend the night in future but unfortunately had already booked somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vivienne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haworth
6.1 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
155 reviews
5.2 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#7 of 20 in Haworth
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old White Lion Hotel

Address: 6-10 West Lane, Keighley BD22 8DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haworth
Price Range: $105 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old White Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 300 year old facade of this former coaching inn hides the fact this family run hotel combines charming olde world features with thoroughly modern facilities. Situated at the top of the famous cobbled street, walked by the Revd. Patrick Bronte and his famous family. In more recent times as illustrated on TV in Hovis advertisements. This is very much an establishment where food and drink are taken seriously, and dispensed along with hospitality in good measure. Warmth, comfort and a relaxed atmosphere prevail throughout the 14 en-suite bedrooms, beamed bars, restaurant and oak paneled lounge.Freshly prepared food is provided by the highly qualified chefs. Keeping up with modern trends, without ignoring the popularity of old favourites. Featured in major food guides the Gimmerton restaurant is open every evening. An extensive range of reasonably priced bar meals being available in the cosy bars, where real ales are prominent. Exceptional value breaks available both mid-week as well as weekends throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old White Lion Haworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing