We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip back in time.”

Keighley and Worth Valley Railway
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Haworth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
weston
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Trip back in time.”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Decided to take my 2 year old on the steam train to keep her amused. Boarded at keighley and went to oxenhope and back. Only 25 mins each way and that includes a few stops. But my little one thought it was great and when we stopped at oxenhope , the driver let me and child on the actual train which was good. All the stations and staff are presented like it would of been all those years ago and there was a buffet cart for refreshments. Good hour or so, if one grumble £11 return for adult is quite expensive. Little one thought it was great.

Helpful?
Thank hoops84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    209
    45
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Beeching eat your heart out”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Wife and I where visiting the area and so we grabbed the opportunity to travel to Oxenhope and Haworth. Sat in the carriage with a bar and had a couple of pints of Flying Scotsman real ale
Great staff and great attraction

Helpful?
Thank engulfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Back In Time”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Used the train to go to Keighley and then back again later. A real opportunity to travel back in time. Beer carriage and beer was excellent. Main problem is £11.00 return per adult £44.00 where a taxi was about £7.00 for all of us

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevBarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We were Railway Children!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Four friends experiencing the set of the film/book the Railway Children. We particularly enjoyed looking around Oakworth station with its authentic lavatory and gates. Helpful guard who made sure we were in the right carriages to be able to alight at this station. My only complaint was that there was no loo paper in the ladies and I had to ask for some. It was only mid morning on a special steam weekend so felt they should have been more prepared.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Trip to the past and more”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is my second trip to the KWVR from Glasgow, this is a heritage railway steeped in beautiful countryside and stations with history galore.

Our trip coincided with the steam gala weekend, and we took a trip jumping off at Oakworth, the railway children station. After that we went to Haworth, home village of the Bronte Sisters.

The value is great and teh staff we met were friendly

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keighley and Worth Valley Railway also viewed

 
Haworth, Keighley
Haworth, Keighley
 

Been to Keighley and Worth Valley Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing