We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Santa Special”

Keighley and Worth Valley Railway
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Haworth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Santa Special”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited KWVR in Chirstmas Eve for the Santa Special train's last departure from Oxenhope. The staff were a fabulous and friendly and our two little ones loved the ride.
The ride lasted about an hour with a little stop at Keighley.
Presents that the children got were decent ad not cheap tat.
Cannot recommend this highly enough nd will be returning for the Santa Special in 2013!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Englandlad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    801
    196
    42
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We called at the steam railway with our 2 children one aged 2 the other 9 months, the first time on a train for both of them. Two adult tickets cost £20 the children were free, for this we got to go to Keighley and back which took about an hour in total.
Car parking was easy but pricey (£3 for anything over half an hour) and buying the tickets and getting the correct info with regards to which train to catch was easy. The steam train was great and had plenty of carriages for everyone to get a seat and the staff were very friendly.
The kids loved the day and were very excited, we went to the gift shop on the station and bought a few things, the shop was well stocked and had everything from models to books.
We will definately be going back

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHNHEPPENSTALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Poor Customer Service Experience, Appalling Toilets”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Called in on our way past arriving at Oxenhope at 2.05pm on a Saturday afternoon. We had a quick look at the chalkboard which lists the departures in the ticket office which advised us that the next train would leave at 2.20pm. I asked the surly young man behind the ticket counter for our tickets foe which we paid. The whole time that I was waiting for the tickets he was more interested in talking to his mate than dealing with me, everything really seemed to be too much trouble for him. We stepped onto the platform to wait for the train - at 2.30 pm I went to the ticket office again to ask what time the train was due to be told by a different (older) gentleman (as surly and un-helpful as the younger one) that the train had left at 2.00pm. At this point the younger man reappeared to advise the older man that he had written the wrong times on the board earlier in the morning and that it may be a good idea to change the times for the correct ones. I was advised that the next train would be in approx. one hour. I couldn't believe what I was hearing. No word of apology or remorse for taking our money and keeping us waiting about for what could have been one and a half hours. I asked for my money back which was refunded and left absolutely disgusted at the complete lack of basic customer care values, not least of which is good communication. The other point for visitor to Oxenhope to note is the the Ladies & Gents toilets were appalling on the day of our visit, totally disgusting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mackster40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great day out.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was a great place to visit. We went on a steam train and met some lovely staff who were enthusiastic to chat about the trains.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dionne_bacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Blast (steam whistle) from the past!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Truly enjoyable, even if the steam train thing is not particularly your thing. Passes through glorious countryside and the trains/platforms/etc are accurate to the last detail. Combined it with getting buses from Halifax to Oxenhome on a Sunday.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zchug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keighley and Worth Valley Railway also viewed

 
Haworth, Keighley
Haworth, Keighley
 

Been to Keighley and Worth Valley Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing