We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality in a stunning place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apothecary Guest House
Ranked #8 of 20 Haworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality in a stunning place”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Nic and David the proprietors are so friendly. This is a no frills kind of place, but it's also very inexpensive and clean. And the location is amazing. My room looked out over Haworth Church on Main Street! Lovely.

I tried to get help with a walking tour but was told to go to the Visitor Center instead, and I wasn't keen on not getting to choose my table for breakfast, but these are minor quips.

If you're looking for a clean place in a stunning location that won't break your budget, Apothecary House is it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    73
    18
    5
    11
See reviews for
51
104
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

As always our visit to Haworth and the Apothecary Guest house and Tea rooms were a joy , the owners David and Nick were warmth personified , welcoming us as they always do with a smile .
We have been here now 3 times and have found everything to be excellent each time , lovely views of the Worth valley from room 7 AND the best view of the valley from any of the tea rooms that are on Main Street .
The location is spot on for the bronte's church , parsonage museum etc ,
Just walk straight ahead and within minutes you are on the trail to the Bronte waterfall and top withins (wuthering heights) . Or , turn left and take a stroll back through history down the cobbled Main Street .
Eateries
Include the fleece pub , old white lion , black bull and the excellent Gascoignes , famous for its steam beer .
All in all The Apothecary is a friendly family run guest house where you arrive as guests and leave as friends ( we certainly look at the Sisley family as good friends ) It is a pleasure to write a little trifle on here in recognition of all they have done for us on each of our visits . So impressed are we that we are booked to return in December when a number of activities are on in the Main Street .
Thanks Dave and Nick
See you again in December
Love and all that
Bob n Judith

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobfollon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Not posh or luxurious but solid good value with excellent breakfast and brilliant location for the Bronte attractions. The owner was really helpful and friendly and overall we had a really good stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducatiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south tyneside england
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in the family room which is on the ground floor near the tea rooms the room was adequate but we were woken at 7am by a loud radio coming from the breakfast area which was a little too early for my liking as breakfast was not until 8.30 maybe if you stayed in a regular room you wouldn't get disturbed.
The breakfast was very nice the host was friendly and the room was basic but cheap as chips

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We visited Haworth for the weekend to celebrate my birthday. Our room at the Apothecary
Guest House was clean and spacious. Nic and David were very welcoming and keen to
ensure our stay was a happy one. Free parking is always a bonus! and the full English breakfast was excellent, with the offer of as much toast, tea and coffee as we required. The location is
great, right at the heart of the historic village. My other half always tries to choose somewhere
with a relaxing atmosphere, quaint tearooms and interesting shops for our weekends away,
and Howarth certainly has all of these. Not forgetting the historical interest and superb Keighley
and Worth Valley Steam Train experience. A lovely romantic weekend away! Jon and Trish

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 191278Grandma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have just returned from having a weekend away without the kids and we loved it! The room was large, clean and airy. The view we had was over looking the main street and was nice to wake up and see the church first thing in the morning. Free parking to the front over night and in a free car park through the day. The breakfast was ample, fresh and delicious with a good selection to choose from. All in all the stay was excellent with friendly staff who were only to happy to help. We look forward to visiting The Apothecary Guest House again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Dont know if these other people stayed at the same place but our stay was awful. Room was dirty, tissues under bed. No tea tray provided. Owner was most rude and our room had a large beam across middle of room which we had to keep stepping over.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haworth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
0.2 mi away
Park Top House
Park Top House
#7 of 20 in Haworth
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#6 of 20 in Haworth
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosebud Cottage Guest House
0.1 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apothecary Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apothecary Guest House

Property: Apothecary Guest House
Address: 86 Main Street, Keighley BD22 8DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apothecary Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1987, we are a friendly family owned guesthouse. Situated at the top of the famous cobbled Haworth main street, opposite the Bronte church, we are two minutes walk from the Bronte Parsonage and Yorkshire moors. The Worth Valley steam railway is less than ten minutes from us. Room to the rear of the building have panoramic views of the surrounding moors, whilst those to the front overlook Haworth's famous main street. Built around 1640 you will delight in its' quaintness. The oak beams, millstone grit exterior and intricate passageways. The Apothecary has had many uses in the past 400 years, including an inn, the Co-op shop (see pulley wheel at the top of the building, a private dwelling and a book shop. One can only wonder at the lives and dramas played out over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Apothecary Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apothecary Guest House Hotel Haworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing