We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apothecary Guest House
Ranked #8 of 20 Haworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely visit”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to snowy Haworth. The guesthouse is in an excellent location and our room was really warm on a very cold February day. We were greeted warmly by the owner and shown to our room, the bed was comfy and there was plenty of hot water in the bathroom. The breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice even for children, with a lovely view. The owner and his brother were very chatty with us during breakfast and made us feel very welcome. Have been very surprised at some of the negative comments-this is a 300 yr old comfortable guesthouse not a newly built hotel. We had no complaints and will return next time we visit Haworth. Thanks again to our hosts.
The Parry Family. North Wales.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milgibach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    73
    18
    5
    11
See reviews for
51
104
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A lovely building with friendly owners in a beautiful location, amidst all the local pubs and restaurants, the room was slightly cold but i discovered the heater in the large bathroom which worked a treat, I would recommend to anyone craving traditional style

Room Tip: rear of the building overlooking the moors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Dave and Nic, the two hosts will make you feel most welcome at this top-of-the-street guest-house and coffee shop which oozes character in this well-known and historic village. A good supply of well-priced food is warmly suppported by the good company of the hosts and their reasonably priced accomodation. Next door is the famous Apothecary shop which is worth a visit and excellent for last minute and unusual present. Right opposite is the church where three of the four Bronte sisters are buried. This guest-house/coffee shop is right in the heart of the best bits of Haworth and is highly recommended on many fronts as explained above.

Room Tip: Perhaps one at the back that is not on the street side. Not a noisy location, but the side that look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabatinitennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2012

would just like to thank david and nick lovely over nite stay shame we wernt able to stay longer but we will defo be back hopefully for the 1940,s weekend great hospitality bar none friendly warm atmosphere great location and gawjus brekki ....
thanks once againn
martin

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackems50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

It was my first visit to the Apothecary ,my partner and I .booked a double room and I must say
it was a very enjoyable stay.
Nick and Dave the owners were very helpful and the room was very clean warm and comfortable
The breakfast was very substantial, and was served in the dining room which has great views of the local countryside.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the building, the room has beautiful views of the local countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAVIN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arranged to meet friends and chose the Apothecary Cafe for our rendezvous.
Sadly it was lacking in many ways. Firstly the cafe back and front doors were wide open which meant a cold draught rushing through, so we closed it ourselves but it was opened again a few moments later by another member of staff. ( Don't forget thisis now a chlliy autumn day at 7degrees). Then we noticed the carpets hadn't been vacuumed and the table cloth had crumbs and had stains from the previous day. Finally our coffee was served Luke warm and no one asked us if all was ok, but if they had - we'd have told them about it.
We think this venue is trading onthe back of the location and doesn't really care about great service or hygiene.
Will NOT be going back any time soon.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank MrNimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went recently into Haworth on a cold day .We started off at Emma's but their door was wide open and we were freezing ,so we left and went to apothecary tea rooms.We went straight to the back of the cafe where it was warm, with great views.We had warm scones and tea ,and it was delicious !! The service was very fast and we'd definitely go back if we returned to Haworth.Reasonably priced too .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainysnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haworth
0.0 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Top House
Park Top House
#7 of 20 in Haworth
153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Old Silent Inn
Old Silent Inn
#2 of 3 in Stanbury
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apothecary Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apothecary Guest House

Property: Apothecary Guest House
Address: 86 Main Street, Keighley BD22 8DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apothecary Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1987, we are a friendly family owned guesthouse. Situated at the top of the famous cobbled Haworth main street, opposite the Bronte church, we are two minutes walk from the Bronte Parsonage and Yorkshire moors. The Worth Valley steam railway is less than ten minutes from us. Room to the rear of the building have panoramic views of the surrounding moors, whilst those to the front overlook Haworth's famous main street. Built around 1640 you will delight in its' quaintness. The oak beams, millstone grit exterior and intricate passageways. The Apothecary has had many uses in the past 400 years, including an inn, the Co-op shop (see pulley wheel at the top of the building, a private dwelling and a book shop. One can only wonder at the lives and dramas played out over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Apothecary Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apothecary Guest House Hotel Haworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing