We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hospitable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apothecary Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apothecary Guest House
Ranked #9 of 21 Haworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“hospitable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

would just like to thank david and nick lovely over nite stay shame we wernt able to stay longer but we will defo be back hopefully for the 1940,s weekend great hospitality bar none friendly warm atmosphere great location and gawjus brekki ....
thanks once againn
martin

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mackems50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    69
    17
    5
    11
See reviews for
49
100
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

It was my first visit to the Apothecary ,my partner and I .booked a double room and I must say
it was a very enjoyable stay.
Nick and Dave the owners were very helpful and the room was very clean warm and comfortable
The breakfast was very substantial, and was served in the dining room which has great views of the local countryside.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the building, the room has beautiful views of the local countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAVIN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arranged to meet friends and chose the Apothecary Cafe for our rendezvous.
Sadly it was lacking in many ways. Firstly the cafe back and front doors were wide open which meant a cold draught rushing through, so we closed it ourselves but it was opened again a few moments later by another member of staff. ( Don't forget thisis now a chlliy autumn day at 7degrees). Then we noticed the carpets hadn't been vacuumed and the table cloth had crumbs and had stains from the previous day. Finally our coffee was served Luke warm and no one asked us if all was ok, but if they had - we'd have told them about it.
We think this venue is trading onthe back of the location and doesn't really care about great service or hygiene.
Will NOT be going back any time soon.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank MrNimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went recently into Haworth on a cold day .We started off at Emma's but their door was wide open and we were freezing ,so we left and went to apothecary tea rooms.We went straight to the back of the cafe where it was warm, with great views.We had warm scones and tea ,and it was delicious !! The service was very fast and we'd definitely go back if we returned to Haworth.Reasonably priced too .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainysnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Convenient, Comfortable, accommodating. What more can you want for a place to sleep and a really good English breakfast to start the day.

Additionally, you have two hosts who seem to know your questions before you ask!!

where to eat...no problem.
Where to visit...no problem...
where to park the car....no problem

Thank you Nick and David for a very pleasant three day stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

after a shaky start( no one there when we arrived) things improved greatly. the manager is friendly and accommodating. the rooms are big, clean and nicely decorated. the food was also very good and served with efficiency and a smile. we were given privacy with a welcoming smile nut no intrusion. be aware that this b&b is very close to a pub. we were and were prepared for the minor inconvenience of closing time. if you value peace and quiet for this half hour then it might be wise to askin for a rear facing Room. all in all a very good B&b in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corcorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This visit was our second in just over a month having visited in July , we stayed in room 7 which is a large room with lovely views across the valley , there is a nice little room to the left with a wardrobe in and then the bathroom is off that with a nice step into shower .
We have read all the reviews on here and l have to say l'm astounded that anyone is disgusted with it , it is a charming family run guest house , the owners are extremely helpful the room we had was clean and had tea making facilities and tv , the bed was comfortable , all in all l would strongly recommend the apothecary guest house and also the tea rooms underneath it , we found nick and David very very courteous .
Remember this is a 3 star guest house ! NOT a 5 star penthouse in some posh upper crust establishment , this is a down to earth friendly Yorkshire guest house where the owners will
Do everything they can to make your stay a happy one , if you're unhappy then TELL THEM ! Don't slink away and put a childish review on here .
We recommend very highly
Bob n Judith follon

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobfollon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haworth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
0.0 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 21 in Haworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#6 of 21 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashmount Country House
0.2 mi away
Haworth Old Hall Inn
Haworth Old Hall Inn
#10 of 21 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apothecary Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apothecary Guest House

Property: Apothecary Guest House
Address: 86 Main Street, Haworth, Keighley BD22 8DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apothecary Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1987, we are a friendly family owned guesthouse. Situated at the top of the famous cobbled Haworth main street, opposite the Bronte church, we are two minutes walk from the Bronte Parsonage and Yorkshire moors. The Worth Valley steam railway is less than ten minutes from us. Room to the rear of the building have panoramic views of the surrounding moors, whilst those to the front overlook Haworth's famous main street. Built around 1640 you will delight in its' quaintness. The oak beams, millstone grit exterior and intricate passageways. The Apothecary has had many uses in the past 400 years, including an inn, the Co-op shop (see pulley wheel at the top of the building, a private dwelling and a book shop. One can only wonder at the lives and dramas played out over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Apothecary Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apothecary Guest House Hotel Haworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing