We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old England”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apothecary Guest House
Ranked #9 of 20 Haworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Old England”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

It isn't the Ritz.....but it is Howarth. The boys try hard. And The Apothecary is right in the middle of town..close to the Bronte's, pub, church, shopping, walking. I have visited The Apothecary ten times. And it is my plan to return next time I visit Yorkshire.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck1980_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    72
    18
    5
    11
See reviews for
50
103
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Took a chance on booking due to mixed reviews but totally enjoyed the one night stay. Friendly welcome on arrival and shown to room, which was clean and at the front of the building overlooking the pub and the church. Did not really spend much time indoors so was perfectly adequate for the stay. Advised on free parking, best places to eat/see. Provided with key to main door to building so no problem with a late return either. Breakfast next morning in the conservatory overlooking the lovely hills was relaxed and ample. Staff took care to ensure we had everything we wanted. For the price we paid it was good value and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a twin overlooking the main street, pub and church. Guest house is a minute away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vantagepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed here for one night Fri 15th June and found it to be excellent value for money. I shared a room and although very basic, it was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The room although on the ground floor (making it right opposite the Black Bull Pub) was quiet and I had no problems sleeping.
Breakfast was wonderful. Plenty of choice and the cooked breakfast was one of the best I have ever sampled. The mushrooms and fried bread to die for!!
I paid £20 for the night and for that in a bustling tourist spot like Haworth I found to be very good value.
The hosts were very friendly. I cannot fault the place and would gladly recommend it to anyone else staying. I can think of only 2 things wrong with it just to show that I am not over egging it...
The sink in the family room was far too small (it had a shelf right above it) and there was a little hair on the floor that could have been vacuumed up better but I am being picky! Value wise it is really good. If you want real luxury go elsewhere but if you want value for money, friendly hosts and a good nights sleep followed by a good brekkie then choose The Apothecary! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I always stay here whenever we visit Haworth. Nick and David couldn't be more helpful and we always enjoy having a chat with them. The rooms are clean and tidy with plenty of space. Yes, they have slightly odd layouts as it's old building with an extension on the back and they're not luxurious, but then you're not playing luxury prices. The ultimate selling point for us is the location right on the cobbled Main street with a stone's throw from the Bronte Parsonage. Of course, that means on a Saturday night you get the odd bit of noise from the pubs near by, but you can't have everything!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tyrwhittali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in room 8 where just by the dining area. The cooking smells pervaded the room, and of course it got worse in the morning when they prepared for breakfast. The room was not clean, and they didn't empty the bin. there was a shaver's cap in the toilet and the package shampoo were all sticky. disgusting!!!

the room arrangement was like hostel, actually hostel should better than it. there were a double bed and a bunker bed - but the bunker bed was almost block the way to one side of the double bed. How can the people get out form that side?

The breakfast was oily. and we've inhaled too much cooking smell.

in short - worst B&B in my experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, nc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stay here every time we come to England. The room is lovely, clean, comfortable, and with great views. Their breakfast is my secret sin - more than I should eat, but everything is too good to pass up. David and Nick - and their mother - are wonderful hosts. I can't imagine flying to England without staying here!

Room Tip: We enjoyed #1 on our first visit because we could watch Main Street, the church, and all. But we now...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nansic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cranfield
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We often stay at the Apothecary Guest House and always enjoy ourselves the over night parking outside the guest house is very handy and the welcome by David and Nic is always friendly. The rooms are large and comfortable always warm with plenty of hot water. The cooked breakfast is very tasty and the service in the dinning room is excellent the view of the valley is fantastic. David and Nic are the perfect hosts and we would recommend this guest house to all.

Room Tip: Try room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aileen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haworth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
0.1 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Top House
Park Top House
#7 of 20 in Haworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashmount Country House
0.1 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#6 of 20 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apothecary Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apothecary Guest House

Property: Apothecary Guest House
Address: 86 Main Street, Haworth, Keighley BD22 8DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apothecary Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1987, we are a friendly family owned guesthouse. Situated at the top of the famous cobbled Haworth main street, opposite the Bronte church, we are two minutes walk from the Bronte Parsonage and Yorkshire moors. The Worth Valley steam railway is less than ten minutes from us. Room to the rear of the building have panoramic views of the surrounding moors, whilst those to the front overlook Haworth's famous main street. Built around 1640 you will delight in its' quaintness. The oak beams, millstone grit exterior and intricate passageways. The Apothecary has had many uses in the past 400 years, including an inn, the Co-op shop (see pulley wheel at the top of the building, a private dwelling and a book shop. One can only wonder at the lives and dramas played out over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Apothecary Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apothecary Guest House Hotel Haworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing