We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food at the kings arms howath”
Review of Kings Arms B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings Arms B&B
Ranked #19 of 20 Haworth B&B and Inns
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food at the kings arms howath”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The food was disgusting the party of four Sat at table next to us saw our meals and ran away really bad food and as for staff don't know what to say but need training and communication skills never again over priced and food really really bad

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Whispering V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
18
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

went here yesterday on a groupon voucher the pub from the outside looks lovey and olde world. Inside didnt disappoint as it was full of charm and olde world again. We were told to sit where we liked so we sat down and looked at the menu and decided what we would like, I had then gone to bar and paid a whopping £9.75 for 3 drinks which one of them was lemonade !!! we were then left ages with no one checking on us or asking us what we wanted to order, ended up having to go to bar to order, which they should have told me on arrival!! food came and was bland and of poor quality just thrown on plates, but we were given very large portions which I could not eat. I would not reccomend this pub to eat at all as very expensive bar and poor quality food. But Howarth is a lovely village and worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halifaxlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a choice of 3 venues almost next to each other and think we made the wrong choice. No coca cola so I had orange juice. Roast beef dinner came with new potatoes AND mash but no roast potatoes (disappointing). Carrots were lovely but parsnips were raw and inedible. Staff did not engage with customers and were indifferent. Will not go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeMJ, Owner at Kings Arms B&B, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I feel a strong need to reply to this review. i am hoping that you have chosen the wrong premises to review as there is certain facts in your review that don't apply to the Kings Arms Haworth. One of which being that YES we did not have any coca cola because we only stock Pepsi products and this is always available. and we do not serve orange juice on its own only as a baby mixer, due to the fact we only stock small 125ml bottles. We do not serve Parsnips only at Xmas. the Veg that is served with a roast dinner is: buttery mash, home roasted potatoes NOT New potatoes, carrots, savoy cabbage and topped with rich homemade red onion gravy. If you look at 90% of our reviews, we are praised for good food and excellent customer service. I can only apologise if you have had a bad experience in one of the other establishments and would like to hope you have made a mistake when writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our second visit to the Kings Arms and our second lovely meal. We went on a Groupon voucher for 4 and certainly got our monies worth again. Some restaurants reduce the portion sizes or restrict the menu, but note here. The portions were huge! The garlic mushroom starter was lovely, and the hubby and kids devoured their enormous plates of nachos. For main two of us had the large fish and chips and I have to say it was the best fish I have ever had in a restaurant -obviously they use thick pieces of fresh haddock and not the thin, watery tasteless stuff you find in many places, and the batter was light and crisp, with nice handmade chips. Other dishes bought were Stroganoff and Steak burger and both were excellent.

The bar prices are quite high but if you are eating on a Groupon it is still excellent value. The staff are friendly and efficient - the young man behind the bar even heard one of my children ask the other if he could dip in his BBQ sauce, and the lad was over in a flash with the full bottle.

Thanks for a great meal, will be back very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheatley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The meal was very poor soup cold, had to be reheated
the main meal was poor also very cold had to be reheated

we do not like microwave meals & one of the party has been ill
all week!!

We have been here on 2 previous occasions & it was very good!!
The staff were miserable & not very helpful everything was an effort for them

We will not be visiting the Kings Arms again
Wot a shame!!!

Room Tip: Have not stayed there & will not be doing so after this experience B M Wood
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just had a lovely 2 course meal in the kings arms. Lovely food, nice atmosphere. Friendly people both staff and customers. It was a groupon deal, very good value. Would definitely go again. Howarth is a lovely pretty village with some nice shops and cafes

Room Tip: Well worth a visit, how arty is a fabulous place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

we tried to eat at the kings arms, and i have to say it was terrible, really terrible,
hardly anything to choose from even though we had booked 3 days in advance,
salt and pepper squid had no salt and pepper to it what so ever, no fish and chips,most of the menu they didn't even have! i ended up with gammon, anemic gammon, pure rubbish, all of our party left the food, we had no choice, i was that bad.
the staff were looking at us as if it was our fault,
go there for an expensive pint at £4.75, leave the food well alone,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haworth
0.1 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
5.8 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Top House
Park Top House
#6 of 20 in Haworth
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashmount Country House
0.2 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms B&B

Property: Kings Arms B&B
Address: Church Street, Keighley BD22 8DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing