We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and friendly”
Review of The Stirrup - CLOSED

The Stirrup
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a small restaurant and tea-room serving locally sourced food, freshly prepared to a high standard. We are in a seasonal location and our opening ours are a guide for high season. Please contact us for further information at other times. We are open for Breakfast Lunch Afternoon-tea and Dinner(Friday and Saturday evenings only)
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Good food and a reasonably varied choice. The staff went out of their way to please and nothing was too much trouble. A very pleasant experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hyde66art2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    80
    20
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you're ever in Haworth be sure to try this restaurant it's a gem.”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Went for a meal on Saturday night to celebrate a friends birthday and as always the restaurant did not disappoint. The owners John and Polly were charming as ever and both came out to check that everything was OK. I had the belly pork and black pudding to start with and when I didn't want the wilted greens with it, was immediately offered red cabbage as an alternative and the little star shaped mashed potatoes that also went with it were gorgeous. The steak for main was cooked to perfection and was accompanied by some of the best onion rings I have ever had. The chef even came out to ask me if I would prefer mushrooms than salad with it already realising that having refused the wilted greens I may not be such a fan of all things green! For dessert I sampled for the first time in my life baked Alaska and that too was to die for. All in all a great evening and my friend enjoyed his birthday. If you're ever in Haworth I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GravesendTwiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly and welcoming restaurant”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Went to the stirrup on Saturday evening for a meal with our family to celebrate a 21st birthday. The food was delicious and the staff and owners very friendly going out of their way to make our evening special. The steaks are delicious and highly recommended. I would definitely eat here again. Haworth is a beautiful place to visit and this restaurant is a jewel in the crown!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Chocolate fudge cake and carrot cake were both excellent. A clean and attractive cafe with a lovely selection of food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PricklesYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

In the world of appalling pub lunches, bad sandwiches, boring jacket potatoes and stodgy sweets, someone has opened an actual restaurant! I find visiting Britain's heritage a martyr-like progression through a barren world of over-priced nosh and it is such a pleasant surprise to find a place that cares, and uses local ingredients to do it. Would recommend if you are in Haworth.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CF y Flia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stirrup also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing