We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and friendly”
Review of The Stirrup

The Stirrup
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Haworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a small restaurant and tea-room serving locally sourced food, freshly prepared to a high standard. We are in a seasonal location and our opening ours are a guide for high season. Please contact us for further information at other times. We are open for Breakfast Lunch Afternoon-tea and Dinner(Friday and Saturday evenings only)
Bradford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxed and friendly”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This no fuss restaurant is a favourite with our whole family. Dress up or down it doesn't matter. It's all about the quality of the ingredients and the food as a whole. Average price and decor but the food speaks for itself. As locals we are happy to recommend this to anyone in the area. Lunch and dinner are served both to a high class.
Restaurant -small but comfy
Food- local produce where possible and well put together
Drink-hot, cold and wine all well priced for this top tourist spot
Service- local young staff but well mannered and attentive without being in your face.
Price - average for the area

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thebradfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    79
    20
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Markfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We wanted to take The Stirrup home with us...”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had heard good things about the Stirrup from both locals and other tourists during a recent short stay in Haworth and decided to go and find out for ourselves what it was like.

At about 7.30PM on a Saturday night we turned up at The Stirrup without a reservation with the hope of being fed some tasty grub. As Haworth had experienced some serious snowfall whilst we were there we hoped this increased our chances of getting a table without booking, and fortunately the gamble paid off as there were a couple of tables spare. It was still however extremely busy and the waiter said they were surprised at such a turnout given the weather, and that more people than usual had turned up without making a booking. It seemed to be made-up of a mix of tourists speaking in varying languages as well as who I can only assume to be regular locals with a 'proper yorkshire accent'.

After confirming with the Kitchen they could cater for us (eight people turned up immediately before we walked through the door) he informed us we were welcome to dine with them but dinner may take a little longer to serve due to the influx of other diners. He took our jackets with a smile and seated us by the window.

There was a decent selection of wine to suit both shallow and deeper pockets; we plumped for a bottle of Pinot Grigio which was priced at about thirteen quid. We're by no means wine connoisseurs but found the wine to be a really pleasant easy drink.

Onto the main reason we were there, the food, we found The Stirrup had a really diverse menu which for us shone above many, if not all, menus we've ordered from over the past few years in terms of choice. It was also a set price, charged at £17.95 for two courses or £22.50 for three courses. Being a Saturday night, we thought it only right and proper to order three.

In addition to the diverse menu there was also a good selection of specials on offer subject to availability.

My husband ordered a starter of Yorkshire Pudding filled with prime strips of roast beef, a tasty onion gravy and a horseradish side. Quite novel for a starter and elevated to fine dining standards, my husband awarded this 5/5 - and he's normally quite stingy with giving out top marks. I had Pan-fried Scallops on prawn and sun-blushed tomato Risotto with a basil pesto. One word. Delicious. In fact, one of the best starters I've ever eaten at a restaurant and we've been fortunate enough to eat at some well revered places.

For our mains, I ordered 12 hour slow cooked shoulder of lamb, with a creamy mash, spiced red cabbage and lamb juices. My husband ordered a special of rack of lamb, a creamy mash, a green cabbage and a rosemary Jus. Without going into too much detail, both of these were really generous, perfectly cooked dishes, again scoring top marks with my husband. It was evident that it was really good quality produce treated with care by people who obviously love food themselves. The food was also served very promptly, so the earlier warnings from the waiter that the food may take a long time did not apply.

Onto our final course, dessert, My husband went for sticky toffee pudding and custard and enjoyed it. His only small personal criticism was that the sponge was very light and airy, and that because it wasn't very big he preferred places that make the sponge a bit denser. He did however say the taste was all there and a joy, and realised that the Chef may purposefully choose to do this after two very generous previous courses. I had a Chocolate brioche and butter pudding with custard, a nice twist on traditional bread and butter pudding. The perfect end to a perfect meal.

Sometimes in life you do something on the spur of the moment without too great an expectation and it turns out to be much more enjoyable than something you have planned and looked forward to for months in advance. Our unplanned visit to The Stirrup was pleasingly one of those very occasions.

But make no mistake, when we visit Haworth again we will certainly be planning in advance to visit The Stirrup for more tongue-tickling tasty goodness.

Great food, great service, great value.

Oh, by the way, you could dress up or go dressed more casually here, and it had lots of atmosphere from diners having a good time and was not one of those overly formal places.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tracyabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice for breakfast, lunch or dinner (or even afternoon tea)!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Been here lots, a typical quaint Haworth cafe that does tasty lunches from jackets and sandwiches to bigger meals, all big portions, and service is pretty quick.

I've also enjoyed big breakfasts here before as well as a nice risotto for an evening meal, the menu has a lot of variety to suit everyone.

They also do lovely tea and scones - a must for any tourists visiting Haworth!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fyoung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashover
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A culinary experience.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very obliging and friendly. The starters were delicate and tasty, the mains were cooked to perfection,the puddings we declined even though sorely tempted. A bottle of tempranillo from rioja went down well with the duck. I personally congratulated the chef, he had earned it !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2logon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The stirrup restaurant is a small relaxed affair with un-fussy but efficient service and most importantly amazing food. There are set meal choices for 3 or 3 courses, shown on the web site and also a small selection of seasonal specials. We went for a Friday night meal (they only open Friday & Saturday evenings) & it was surprisingly quiet but I would recommend booking. Recommended

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWeezle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stirrup also viewed

 

Been to The Stirrup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing